We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Manzanillo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ave Vista Hermosa 13 | Fracc. Peninsula de Santiago, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First trip to Manzanillo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is our first stay at a Barceló and our first trip to Manzanillo. Before I start, I have a little rant. This trip was set up through Transat, which usually means we fly on a comfortable Airbus 300 series airplane. For this trip, however, Transat sublet the flying to EconoJet (or was it EnerJet??) We flew Vancouver to Calgary to Manzanillo in a cramped 737 with no entertainment system, no running water in the washroom and the most uncomfortable seats I've ever sat in. To say I wasn't a happy camper after this long trip is an understatement.

Once we arrived at the hotel, things certainly picked up. This is a beautiful facility - the lobby, rooms and landscaping is fabulous. We stayed in a Junior Suite Ocean View Room on the 7th floor. If possible, try to book a 6th or 7th floor room - the view is fabulous. The rooms are spacious and clean. The furniture is starting to show some wear, and the beds are hard, but mattress toppers are available. The bathroom is a piece of art - no less than 7 large mirrors. The floors are all serviced by elevators - smooth and fast.

Throughout the facility the staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem we ran into was in regards to a food allergy. The staff didn't seem to be well trained in what ingredients are in their meals. The concierge provided us with an "allergy" letter written in Spanish - this helped somewhat. In regards to food and beverages, we found the selection and preparation to be fair to good. As it turned out, the best food was in the Buffet, not the al-a-carte restaurants. We didn't go to the Japanese restaurant, but the Mexican and Italian were just OK. The Mexican restaurant, however, has a setting that's second to none. Set out on a small peninsula, you sit just above waves crashing into the rocks - a fabulous sensory experience - don't miss it. Also, the booking system for the al-a-carts has changed - you can book all your seatings at one time - Hurray! Other resorts take note - this is how it should be done.

The rest of the ground are fabulous - walking paths around numerous pools and through mature meticulously maintained landscaping. The beach area is quite small, but mostly sandy. Once you get into the water there are more rocks to watch out for, but if you bring your snorkeling equipment there's a large variety of fish that hang around the rocks. The water is quite clear early in the day but gets murky later. Beach lounge chairs are easy to find, but pool chairs are coveted. If you want one, get down there early.

Manzanillo is an working city - the largest container port on the west coast. This creates an entirely different atmosphere than a tourist city like Puerto Vallarta. On the positive side, we didn't see a single time share salesperson, or a beach vendor. On the negative side though, we also didn't get much shopping done - only the Saturday Market a 10 minute taxi ride north had the type of mementos we were looking for (maybe this should also be a positive - we came back with half the spending money we went down with!)

Would we go back? Short answer - yes. There's more of the city and area we would like to see, and overall we were pleased with the resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear LoveBucerias,
We thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Barcelo Karmina Palace it is an honor to read that you had an extraordinary experience and that you truly enjoyed all of the services and grounds.

It is great to read that from the beginning you began to enjoy and that you were happy with the suite that was assigned. We appreciate your feedback regarding the food allergy, and we are always working with the staff regarding this as we know the importance of this matter, however we will reinforce this. We are happy that you liked our a la carte, not as much as the buffet, but in general enjoyed them and that you appreciated the change in the reservation system for the a la carte.

We are truly happy that you had an overall great experience, and it will be a pleasure to be able to welcome you back. Hope you had a nice trip back hope.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    604
    212
    100
    68
See reviews for
631
509
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wainwright, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week stay at Barcelo Karmina Palace, and our first time to Manzanillo. We can't say enough GOOD about the Barcelo -- simply awesome !!

FOOD: hands-down, the best we've ever had at an all-inclusive. Lots of selection on the buffet and every night was a different theme (tex-mex, Mediterranean, Asian, etc). We only made it to two of the a la carte's -- the Mexican and Japanese and they were both excellent.

Rooms: Nice junior suite rooms with 2 TV's, a massive bathroom and a large balcony. The sofa and chair were a bit worn, but one day all the chairs on our floor were being taken away. Not sure if it was being cleaned or repaired. We left for home before it was returned. The only little problem we had with our room was a little drip caused by condensation on an air conditioning line above the entrance - but that's bound to happen in a hot, humid climate. We just kept a towel on the floor in that spot -- not a biggie. The beds were firm, but good to sleep in and the air conditioning kept the room comfortable for sleeping. Also nice, was having a coffee maker in the room.

Activities: My husband and brother go to Mexico for the fishing. They booked a couple of trips from Discover Manzanillo located where you get the pool towels near the beach bar. They had great success - 19 Mahi Mahi's for a morning's fishing. Prices are reasonable and Jeremy generously arranged to have the fish cleaned and frozen so we could bring it back to Canada. My brother packed along his own fishing tackle and every morning he found a spot along the rocks (beneath the Mexican a la carte / disco) where he fished from shore as well.

Beach and Pools: we spent most of our time down by the beach. There was never a problem finding beach chairs. More Mexican tourists come to stay on the weekends, so it is busier on the beach, but during the week, you can grab a chair anywhere. The lagoon is great for swimming and snorkelling. You might get your toes tickled by some of the fish swimming around, and there is a small risk of sea urchins, but they are more problematic in the other 2 public beaches on either side of the Barcelo. The waiters on the beach take great care of you and come by often to see if you need anything. The beach is private, so absolutely no beach vendors.

Manzanillo: it's a nice town, but we found not much to do off the resort. We went to the harbour one day to see the Marlin Sculpture. There is a little bit of touristy shopping down there and a few blocks back you get into a traditional Mexican neighbourhood. We got to see the harbour and the shipping port. Another evening we did the sunset cruise on the Explorer Catamaran and that was a fun evening -- got to see some very nice scenery. We recommend that you spend an extra $20 and include dinner with the cruise. You will get a very nice dinner at the end of the cruise at a restaurant on the Marina. We were very impressed with both the meal and the ambiance.

We had a really relaxing, enjoyable time, and I'm sure if we decide again that Manzanillo is our destination, we will be again staying at the Barcelo.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear TravelBug984032,
We thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Barcelo Karmina Palace it is an honor to read that you had an extraordinary experience and that you had an “awesome” time.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the variety of our food, on your next visit you must definitely try Capri, the third specialty restaurant I am sure you will also delighted with it.

Like you mention, we are currently working in updating our suites it is taking its time, but working very hard on it. One of the updating is for the A/C, to prevent the condensation that happens.
It is great to read that your husband and brother were lucky on their fishing trips! And that you were able to take them back home! During your next visit, we highly recommend you to take so of the other tours that are quite exciting too!

Once again, we thank you for your kind comments, hoping that we will be able to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this resort. Spent 2 wonderful weeks here and there isn't one thing bad I can say. The rooms are very spacious with 2 televisions, coffee maker, mini bar, huge bathroom with 2 sinks and a large balcony. The food was always yummy with lots of variety and every day was a different "theme" at the main buffet. They have 3 al a carte restaurants and they are actually quite easy to reserve if you're not picky about time. Our favourite was the Mexican with its amazing views and delicious food. Lots of pools with different atmospheres for everyone to enjoy from a family pool, activity pool, adult pool and everything in between. The beach had plenty of space and because it is a cove the water was calm so you could snorkel and relax without fighting the waves. My hubby saw several species of fish along with rays and a turtle. Excellent drink service on the beach as well as at the pools which we haven't had at most of the resorts we've gone to. I would advise you wear sunscreen and try to do some shade from time to time as it was smoking hot there....30 to 32 degrees every day. We only saw one evening show while we were there and we never hit the disco so I can't really comment on either.

Manzanillo itself is very quiet, laid back and safe area. There is hardly any traffic and the locals are very friendly.

The only issue we had and it has nothing to do with the resort was the golfing. We didn't bring our clubs with us because we didn't know how close the course was or how good the rates where. The Las Hadas Golf Course is literally down the stairs from the entrance of the resort and every Monday/Wednesday/Friday they have 2 for 1 green fees of $90 usd for 18 holes with cart. That being said my husband golfs left handed and they only have 1 set of left handed clubs and they borrow a set to rent out from one of their members. We booked Monday and when we got there they didn't have clubs for him so we rebooked for Wednesday. When we checked in they again didn't have clubs for him. They scrounged together 3 clubs....a Persimmon driver, 3 iron (basically the same use as a driver), and a putter. Needless to say he didn't have a good game so my advice to anyone thinking of golfing that may be a lefty......bring your own clubs.

We will definitely be coming back to the Barcelo (with our clubs in tow) as this is a great place to relax and get away from the cold Canadian winters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear iheartmexico52,

We greatly appreciate all of your praising comments and the time you took to share your opinion of your recent stay. We are really happy to read that you had a delightful stay and that you truly enjoyed all of our services, your spacious suite, the grounds, pools, food (especially Agave and its views) and friendliness of our staff.

Once more, thank you for your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Just to name a few folks who made our holiday delightful! The staff were all outstanding. The property is older but painstakingly maintained by pool,grounds, trade and housekeeping staff. Our housekeeper Ramona made me the most remarkable towel art I've ever seen, while meticulously cleaning our room!
The buffet staff was remarkable. We appreciated the efforts of Carlos and his team of servers. The food was delicious and fresh.
My greatest adventure started with meeting Mariano at the scuba center. I took my first scuba dive with Geronimo, after Andrew worked with me in the pool. I cannot say enough about that experience, Geronimo is the best!!! Took excellent care of myself and another diver. Thanks Mariano, Andrew, Captain Alfredo for introducing me to the waters of the Mexican Pacific! Alfredo brought me every type of sea creature on another snorkle trip I tried prior to scuba.
Lovely resort, smaller, family friendly, quieter than most which was enjoyable for us.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Marileeb,
We are thankful for the time you took to share your experience. We greatly appreciate all of your comments and glad to read had a delightful stay and that you enjoyed our facilities and the services we offered you. And will be more than happy to pass on your comments to Ramona, Carlos & Team and the guys from de diving center.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again in Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

For our first Mexican experience, Barcelo Karmina in Manzanillo was perfect! The room was spacious and comfortable. The resort was relaxing and tranquil. A trip to the spa for a massage was a wonderful beginning. The food and service was excellent no matter the time of day or location. The people we met made us feel like family. We hope to bring our family in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Nadine P,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Barcelo Karmina Palace for your first vacations in Mexico also for taking the time to post a detailed review about your experience among us. It is always rewarding to read that you enjoyed our service, suites & that our friendly staffs made you feel like home.

We will be waiting for you to come back with your family and enjoy another memorable holiday with us.

Best regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hi folks,

I'll try not and repeat what most others have said...all the good things and some of the not so good things (not many) that others have said...all true...but it's hard not to duplicate some stuff. The rooms, bathroom and balcony are big and really good. Mini bar re-stocked daily and if you want some extra stuff...just go and ask...and give her a tip. The food is mostly really good at all the a la cart's and the main buffet...its standard AI fare so don't expect a Bardi's steak. The property and pools are extremely well kept and clean...the slide is great.

It's the staff here that really make a BIG difference...they are all fantastic. From the front desk lobby to the guys on the beach...all very polite and helpful. A big shout out to our main bar tender Hugo...always happy and poured us some really good drinks all week long. Karen the Concierge was great...thanks for all your help.

The golf course is really good also...greens are a little suspect and could use some extra attention. The ball does not roll true and if you're a golfer you'll know what I mean. Parred the 18th all three rounds...but lost a few balls on some other holes...bring a few extra...you'll probably need them as there is water on 14 of 18 holes.

Would go back in a heartbeat...and we probably will. The price here is much more affordable than a lot of other 4.5 star resorts and most are pretty much the same. We have been to about 20 AI's all over Mexico and the Caribbean over the past 14 or 15 years and all are pretty good.

There were a few small items that weren't great...water pressure not great in the shower and toilet did not flush properly...wait time at a la cart's pretty long...but who cares really...have a beer...have a drink...you're in Mexico...enjoy the moment and don't let the little things bug you.

Salud Karmina...we'll be back.


Chris

Room Tip: Don't pay for Club Premium...our friends travelling with us got a Club Premium room...they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Chris,
We thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Barcelo Karmina Palace it is an honor to read that you had an extraordinary experience and that you truly enjoyed all of the services and activities.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests. We are glad to read you had an overall great experience and you enjoyed our grounds, food and services.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel's main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your satisfaction.
Please be assured that it will be a pleasure to welcome you once again.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this trip last minute and online so we weren't too sure what we were going to get nor were we really too picky as long as we were somewhere far from cold Canadian weather and snow and on a beach. Well we were blown away by this resort, the view, the staff, the food, the other guests...everything was amazing! Weather was wonderful and 30C everyday! Coffee or mimosa on our ocean view suite every morning was like heaven. Housekeeping was awesome and the room itself made us feel like we were celebrities. Caesar is the best waiter at the lobby bar and young Gustavo at the breakfast restaurant (where the Italian Ala carte is) is awesome, along with the lady who makes the omelettes there, yum! We have zero complaints about this place but if you want the best mojito of your life go offsite to Hotel Hawaii, better yet take public transit bus #1 for 7 pesos and get the city tour to see downtown, the harbour, the iguana trees, the markets, have real coconut water and Brenda's tacos are the best too. Then go see Playa Miramar, plant your butt in the sand and have some beers that you bought at the gas station on your way there. We love this place! Ps tip the staff!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo Karmina P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear SuzAndTrist,
We greatly appreciate all of your comments and the time you took to share your opinion. We are really happy to read that you had a delightful stay and that you truly enjoyed all of our services, grounds, food and friendliness of our staff.

Our main goal being is to make our guests feel at home away from home, we are glad to hear that we were successful on this occasion and are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday and that we were able to accomplish your expectations.

Once more, thank you for your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sunny regards,
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe

Address: Ave Vista Hermosa 13 | Fracc. Peninsula de Santiago, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Family Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe***** hotel has been recognised with the prestigious AAA 4-Diamonds award. It is a spectacular feat of architecture inspired by the Mayan temples. Its tropical gardens with palm trees, along with 6 interconnecting swimming pools with waterfalls, create a romantic and relaxing paradise in a place brimming with fun for all the family. This 5-star hotel offers 324 luxury suites fully fitted with everything you need for a comfortable stay. In addition, all suites have balconies and excellent views of either the tropical gardens or the sea. The Barcelo All Inclusive programme at Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe hotel has been designed to ensure your complete satisfaction, enabling you to enjoy our 4 restaurants and their varied cuisine from different countries: Japanese, Mexican, Italian and international. And to complete your holiday in this spectacular luxurious resort, relax in the U-Spa, enjoy the gym, the beauty centre and attend the nightly shows and lively nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe Hotel Manzanillo
Karmina Palace Manzanillo
Barcelo Hotel Karmina Palace
Barcelo Hotel Manzanillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.