We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, horrible food service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Navidad

Save Saved
You added Isla Navidad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Navidad
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Isla Navidad, Manzanillo 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, horrible food service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is gorgeous, we'll maintained, architecturally stunning. The views are spectacular and the rooms are ample and extremely comfortable. I highly recommend the hotel itself. What I don't recommend is eating here. It is the worst all inclusive hell you could imagine. Way too many people and children eating disgusting buffet food. And they look at you like you're crazy if you ask for a menu. I'm not sure if they're just understaffed or unorganized but it is not worth 4500 pesos a day. The bright side is that you are just a short water taxi ride from Barra Navidad and Colimilla. Both of which have delicious, underpriced restaurants on the lagoon. So my recommendation is to book with a 3rd party (we used booking.com) and not paying the all inclusive rate. Go to Mary's in Colimilla for lunch or dinner (or both!) and to Vanilla is Barra for breakfast. Trust me on this. The resort dinner is awful and you can't even get away from the crowds by ordering room service cause it's not included!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
36
93
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GDL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel is very nice, but its very obiuos that the hotels lacks personnel.

I will try and be as objective as possible and will firs mention the things I liked.

* The grounds are very nice and well maintained.
* The rooms are very nice a spacious.
* Nice and comfortable mattress and pillows.
* The beach its nice and calm.

What should be improved:
* We arrived pass 4 pm and our room was not available it took them an additional hour to get it ready.
* we paid for the all inclusive and had a gourmet dinner which was awful food was cold and it too the waiters over 45 min to bring the food, even thoughnthey knew we would come in at 8:00 pm.
* pool bartenders and waiters not friendly at all.
* food options at buffets very limited and they ran out of food very early.

I wish they would improve these thing cause I liked the hotel and I'd like to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of March and enjoyed our trip. This is a very quiet resort, we didn't notice any organized activities and no entertainment or shows at night besides a wonderful piano player. We loved how easy it was to go over the Barra de Navidad. This little town has wonderful restaurants on the bay and ocean and was a lot of fun just sitting there eating amazing food. We also took the local bus over to Melaque twice. The bus is really cheap and easy to take and Melaque has an amazing beach with wonderful food delivered to you right on the beach. The rooms at the resort were large and had a beautiful view of the bay. The food was good, although not a lot of selection. We did try the specialty restuarant once and it was amazing! The one downside is that there wasn't a nice beach right at this resort but Melaque is so close that it wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent golfing, good chop-chop, good crew taking care of you! Golfing was great, excellent caddies and it is a beautiful course green fees very reasonable
Make sure you leave attitudes at door. I had a great time and was treated very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments; it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful vacation at our property.
The whole team of the Grand Isla Navidad Resort look forward to receive you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel, but took the water taxi over to go diving. It turned out alright but in large part because we are experienced divers (20 years, 100s of dives). The divemaster did not check our c-cards, didn't even ask. We got to the site and there was no briefing of any kind. On the first dive, after no communication with the DM, I let him know when I had reached 1000 psi, a normal thing to do, especially if you have not gone diving with the DM before - he had no knowledge of my air consumption. The DM looked puzzled at my hand signals, so I showed him my gauge. He then showed me his...so we called the dive and a safety stop about 5 minutes later. He did not, he in fact followed us.

Second dive, same basic thing, though this time we just ran the timing thing on our own. When we surfaced from the second dive, the boat was about 200 yards away. We signaled (whistle, waving a bright pink fin). It took about 10 minutes for the boat to come get us. Not terrible but it turned out the anchor got stuck, the captain had to tie it off with a marker to come get us.

I tried to contact Wyndham and learned (as is indicated in TripAdvisor) that it is no longer a Wyndham property.

Too bad, it is a beautiful property and location and we had lunch there, it was good. Just don't trust them with your lives on a dive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us and Tripadvisor community.
It is through feed back such as yours that we are better able to identify areas of opportunity for improvement.
I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the property its self and the restaurant service. It was nice to read that despite the inconvenience you have experienced, you also could share positive aspects with us.
With a big concern I read your comments about your Diving trip and I am really sorry to hear that you have had such an experience. I verified with our provider about the situation occurred and we sincerely regret that that day our Dive Master was not available. Unfortunately our provider did not inform us about it, otherwise we would have informed you and cancel the trip.
I would like to let you know that we are taking corrective measures with our provider to prevent this could happen again to any guest.

We can only hope that you will afford us another opportunity in the future in order to attempt to regain your trust and confidence.

Sincerely,

Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I believe a good bed and food are essential for any hotel, especially the one who think they are in the 5 star range. In general the hotel could use a fix up. The location is great. If the quality of food is not your priority and you prefer quantity then definitely this is your thing. Lunch and dinner taste the same, poor service and the room service food not even worth the title food. We made a complaint and even spoke with the manager (Ricardo Mondragon) he used a lot of sweet words but nothing changed at the end. The rooms are clean and we had a great view over the harbour. Due to the fact that the hotel is far from any decent restaurant I most likely would not go back. The fact that problems were not attended is why I rated the overall experience as low. Problems should always be attended no matter what line of business you are in.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your visit at Grand Isla Navidad Resort.

We would also like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding the areas where our operation can improve as these kinds of comments reflect the experience you had during your stay and your feedback will help us offer a more qualified and excellent service.
It was very unsettling for me to read your comments about the food quality was far away from the 5 star range, as we are usually getting positive feedback about the food quality and service. I would like to let you know that together with our Executive Chef we will work on the variety and taste our food as well on the presentation.
It would be nice if you could contact us on fbmanager@islaresort.com.mx and may be give us some more specific details o suggestions.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to regain your trust.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Fanastic property, however we were disturbed by a wedding party and noisy music several times during the night of Sat May 3, 2014. Why have it outside if there are party-meeting rooms? Why not respect other paying customers?

Room Tip: High floors, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
First off all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to identify areas of opportunity for improvement. We're sharing your comments with our Groups and Conventions department to take care of these special details to avoid that our guests leave with a negative experience. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay.
Thanks again for sharing your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to regain your trust.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
Gerencia General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Navidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Navidad

Address: Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Isla Navidad, Manzanillo 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isla Navidad 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Isla Navidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Manzanillo
Manzanillo Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Navidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.