We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Navidad

Save Saved
You added Isla Navidad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isla Navidad
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Isla Navidad, Manzanillo 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 hotels in Manzanillo
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Golfing and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent golfing, good chop-chop, good crew taking care of you! Golfing was great, excellent caddies and it is a beautiful course green fees very reasonable
Make sure you leave attitudes at door. I had a great time and was treated very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your comments; it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful vacation at our property.
The whole team of the Grand Isla Navidad Resort look forward to receive you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    57
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
33
92
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel, but took the water taxi over to go diving. It turned out alright but in large part because we are experienced divers (20 years, 100s of dives). The divemaster did not check our c-cards, didn't even ask. We got to the site and there was no briefing of any kind. On the first dive, after no communication with the DM, I let him know when I had reached 1000 psi, a normal thing to do, especially if you have not gone diving with the DM before - he had no knowledge of my air consumption. The DM looked puzzled at my hand signals, so I showed him my gauge. He then showed me his...so we called the dive and a safety stop about 5 minutes later. He did not, he in fact followed us.

Second dive, same basic thing, though this time we just ran the timing thing on our own. When we surfaced from the second dive, the boat was about 200 yards away. We signaled (whistle, waving a bright pink fin). It took about 10 minutes for the boat to come get us. Not terrible but it turned out the anchor got stuck, the captain had to tie it off with a marker to come get us.

I tried to contact Wyndham and learned (as is indicated in TripAdvisor) that it is no longer a Wyndham property.

Too bad, it is a beautiful property and location and we had lunch there, it was good. Just don't trust them with your lives on a dive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I believe a good bed and food are essential for any hotel, especially the one who think they are in the 5 star range. In general the hotel could use a fix up. The location is great. If the quality of food is not your priority and you prefer quantity then definitely this is your thing. Lunch and dinner taste the same, poor service and the room service food not even worth the title food. We made a complaint and even spoke with the manager (Ricardo Mondragon) he used a lot of sweet words but nothing changed at the end. The rooms are clean and we had a great view over the harbour. Due to the fact that the hotel is far from any decent restaurant I most likely would not go back. The fact that problems were not attended is why I rated the overall experience as low. Problems should always be attended no matter what line of business you are in.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your visit at Grand Isla Navidad Resort.

We would also like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding the areas where our operation can improve as these kinds of comments reflect the experience you had during your stay and your feedback will help us offer a more qualified and excellent service.
It was very unsettling for me to read your comments about the food quality was far away from the 5 star range, as we are usually getting positive feedback about the food quality and service. I would like to let you know that together with our Executive Chef we will work on the variety and taste our food as well on the presentation.
It would be nice if you could contact us on fbmanager@islaresort.com.mx and may be give us some more specific details o suggestions.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to regain your trust.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Fanastic property, however we were disturbed by a wedding party and noisy music several times during the night of Sat May 3, 2014. Why have it outside if there are party-meeting rooms? Why not respect other paying customers?

Room Tip: High floors, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
First off all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to identify areas of opportunity for improvement. We're sharing your comments with our Groups and Conventions department to take care of these special details to avoid that our guests leave with a negative experience. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay.
Thanks again for sharing your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to regain your trust.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
Gerencia General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Enjoyed the location and activities at the resort. Water taxi's were awesome and the Hotel tour by water of Barra was is well worth arranging. All restaurants were different and great to explore! Loved the casual lunch after golf . Pools were nice to have and again the location is amazing. The placement of the resort does not have the waves crashing the beach...But you can visit Barra for those moments. The Marina is a plus and very nice addition to the beauty of the resort. Visit the beach near the ocean course - hotel shuttle will take you and pick you up...Worth it Just to hang out and do the step to private beach - bring your towels and water !

Room Tip: When playing the Laguna course - take balls and bug spray... Having the opportunity to play all thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, Gerente at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially the location and the activities at the resort.
Isla Navidad with it Grand Isla Navidad Resort, Marina and Golf course indeed offer unique vistas and Experiences.

We hope to see you soon at Isla Navidad

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you want to relax in an upscale resort in Mexico but do NOT want to sit by a pool with all inclusive employees blowing on whistles, with music blaring and a college spring break drinking contest ongoing, Then this is the place. It is clearly geared to a more professional adult clientele. If you want a secluded pool to read and swim then go to the 10th floor pool where there may be two or three other couples at a smaller pool away from the crowd. The resort is built on the side of cliffs going down to the water, so the 10th floor still opens to the sidewalk. (The resort just works its way up the cliff with a new floor) We stayed on the 9th floor (which is very quiet), and, as is true with anything above the 7th floor, you have to learn how to take one elevator to the sixth floor, cross an elevated walkway, then get on another elevator to the bottom floor where you will find the main pool, access to the beach and pool side restaurants. Drinks were marginal at best, Stick with beer, wine or gin and tonic. Hard to believe they could not make a good margarita in Mexico. Buffets were very good. Antonio's (small restaurant, wear nicer clothes) food and service is outstanding, We tried the Thai restaurant also and while good, did not come close to Antonio's. We were on an all inclusive golf trip so we simply had to give our room number to eat or drink, however, I did hear more than one guest react to what they thought were outrageous charges for the breakfast. I did not like the $50.00 per couple charge for a Golf cart (required) and the required caddie per foursome (although the cost of the caddie is very reasonable and you really should tip him $20.00 per cart minimum) The best time to play golf is just after 12 noon. There always was a slight breeze after noon and the heat was much less a factor. Also the course will thin out as most of those on a golf package with their club will be finishing. Take many balls, the "Lagoon" course (there are 3 nines) lives up to its billing. YOU WILL lose balls. There will be locals who will sell you a bag of about 20 balls (mostly very new and were only in the water a few hours) for about $15.00. For a week of golf I took two dozen balls, and still bought one bag. I also "lost" six balls in one day when I decided to play "Tin Cup" until I cleared the water on the second hole of the Lagoon course. Good thing, my Garmin golf GPS had all the courses there preloaded. The water taxi (read small outboard boat with a canvas top) is fine, the trip to town takes about 5 minutes and costs about $2.00 round trip. Not much in town but if you want to stroll and look in typical Mexican shops you are free to do so.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs or walking any distance do not go above the 6th floor, on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and specially the attention to detail of your description regarding your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort. We would also like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding the areas where we can improve, be sure that your feedback will help us to offer a better experience to our guests. Though we are happy to hear that despite some details you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just spent 7 days at the beautiful Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad with 12 family members from 3 generations, aged 4-64. It was a great location for all of us, we could all do different things if we wanted to. My husband and I walked the beach to Melaque, spent time in Barre and La Manzanilla. Kayaking the lagoon is spectacular, the golf course is very good, the food was very good and the service was excellent, especially from our caddie Hector at the golf course, Luis the bartender and Carlos at the pool deck area.
Our only issue was with the green fee rates we were charged, we were in a hurry checking out and didn't notice that we were charged more than double what we were quoted on the day we
played. I sent an email later and was very disappointed to not even get a reply, a lesson to us to get it in writing when you get a quote. The green fee rates in Mexico seem to be quite fluid.
Be careful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
On behalf of the Team at our beautiful 1,200 acre resort, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
We very happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay, the activities and the surroundings of this beautiful bay. We also appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service and with the pleasure we will share your comments with Hector, Luis and Carlos.
We apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced with your bill, we already credited the difference to your credit card.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isla Navidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Navidad

Address: Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Isla Navidad, Manzanillo 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isla Navidad 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Isla Navidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Manzanillo
Manzanillo Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Navidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.