We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Navidad

Save Saved
You added Isla Navidad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Navidad
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Isla Navidad, Manzanillo 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 hotels in Manzanillo
montreal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good but issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are a couple in our late 40’s and we aren’t party people. We have done more than a dozen resorts in 7 years ... 4 stars and 5 stars only ! This is the first time that i will write a review usually i am only a reader on trip advisor but this is very important for me to reveal that this hotel is really for older folks (60’s and +) if you want to party beware you will miss your grand-mother !!! If you prefer bigger resorts you might think twice before going there. You will be very disappointed . If you have teens and younger children they will be very bored . This hotel is a golfers paradise and for people who want to be alone with a good book . The food is overate fairly average at the buffet and the variety isn’t there . You will find out very soon that the repetitiveness is quick( what to except there is only 200 rooms) . The à la carte restaurant San Antonio however is one of the best supper’s that i had in the south , service exceptional and food above average ( compare to the buffet).The house wine (red)is one of the best that we had so far . We arrived 31st January and left 3 days later.(Originally a 7 days stay).
The room was nice but make sure that you reserve prior you’re departure a room with a King Size bed because otherwise you will be unable to change it . (The Hotel was full they told me ).I ask for a upgrade but the desk clerk had to talk to his manager (Jorges) this was onThursday our arrival . We never had a reply !
We were in room 508 we had a view of the marina and hundreds of small bugs coming out from our sink .... Not so bad ...we were in the south they didn’t bother us at first the sink isn’t my bed so let’s pass on the complaining we told ourselves we might change rooms tomorrow .... Nope the next day nada no change of room . But the Saturday afternoon after a relaxing day of soaking sun ... we came to our room and Surprise the little `bugger’s`we’re in my husband suitcase and all in his clothes . We called the front desk and the service was quick . They came and spraid Raid ....Yé! They were dead alright and you had to be there to smell the odour of raid in the room ...The following morning they were coming out of the sink again ....without hesitation we demand a transfer with our Air-Transat representative ( he was very efficient ...Olivier ... we were transfer to Barcelo Karmina Palace)
We check out : the desk clerk ask us how was our stay ... we answered: awful stay !He look at us surprised ask why? ... answer : Bugs... very disappointed we told him that for a 5 stars hotel with the Wyndham family( by the way ...my husband revealed to the desk clerk many times that we were with the wyndham rewards card it is a points system when you go often in the wyndham family hotels) and they even didn’t acknowledge once the card as it didn’t matter .... So the clerk went to get the manager his name is Julio .He ask us what his wrong ... we were so upset that the clerk didn’t even mention why we were leaving to his boss why we wanted to transfer .We didn’t had the energy or patience to repeat the story all over again... so we told Julio we want to book out .... he replied that there was no problem have a nice day and he gave us our receipt.....bye bueno dias ... The transfer to the Barcelo cost us more than $300 for the 4 days remaining .Best investment ever .
The Wyndham family will hear from us very disappointed !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
We will review objectively your comments to improve the areas of opportunity you mentioned, especially the ones about the front desk services and knowledge and constant implementation of the Wyndham Rewards program. I would also like to let your know that the hotel has a constant fumigation program throughout the year to avoid any kind of bugs and we will concentrate on the specific areas you were accommodated to prevent this from happening again, as you may have experienced one of our distinctive characteristics is that we are in a tropical Island.
We understand that every destination has something different to offer and our hotel may not be the perfect place for everyone, but we do have a Kid’s club and a Kid’s Program with various activities for families and younger guests throughout the day. You can enjoy Morning and Sunset Yoga at the Beach, Ping Pong, Beach Football or Volleyball, all sorts of Water activities, Golf, Fishing, ATV, ecological Walks and Bike Rides, local Tours, etc or just spend a very relaxing vacation under a warm welcoming Mexican sun with a personalized service.
We also like to thank you for your comments about the Antonio’s Restaurant, which motivates us to continue focusing on the small details to make our guest’s stay with us a memorable one.
We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to regain your trust, it would be my pleasure to personally welcome you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
35
93
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our first day here, we thought we made a huge mistake....

We were dropped off our bus and basically left to fend for ourselves. We had no tour of the place, no information, no guidance. It was every man for himself. Management really needs to step up here and have someone meet the guests and explain what is going on. (There was an orientation, about 3 days into our trip, which we didn't bother going to because after 3 days, you start to figure the place out.)

We ordered a room with a king size bed on the 3rd floor, but were give a room with 2 singles, on the first floor. When I mentioned it, they said they had no more rooms with king beds and tried to up-sell us to a suite. Such a dirty and cheap trick to try and up-sell. I knew they had rooms with king beds available as an older couple got theirs switched shortly after us.

It seems like this hotel is meant for an older crowd. They don't cater very well to 20-30s, but 50+, you will be well looked after.

We were hungry and we managed to find the buffet by the pool, which was completely swarming with flies. This was a scene right out of a horror movies, flies were literally on every piece of food.

We had no idea where to go, what to do, scared to eat the food, wrong room and just wanted to go home.

So, why am I giving this place a 4 star review instead of 1? It deserves it.

The food was the best I have ever tasted. The A-la-cartes are a true 5 star dining experience. You had an army of waiters helping you and they were very good. The "Grand Buffet" (main buffet) was outstanding.

Breakfast was so good. You can get custom made omelets with your choice of fresh ingredients, fluffy eggs, omelet made to perfection.

Once we figured out you can order from the menu instead of the fly infested pool side buffet, our lunches were amazing. Try the guacamole!

For dinner, you can do the Grand Buffet again, which always changes, always impresses or the amazing A-la-cartes.

There was only a couple times were the waiters/bartenders failed the impress. The other times, I would put my fork down and they would come take my plate away. So impressive.

Our rooms were immaculate. They were cleaned multiple times a day.

What else made this place 4 star? The staff:

A big thanks to the tennis pro Gabriel. He was the nicest and most fun person on the resort.
Francisco at reception was incredible. Always willing to help, a great guy.
Emerson, the guitarist was so much fun. His music set the mood and made the dinners extra special.

Again, these people helped move a 1 star rating to 4 star.

Like others have said, you have to sign a bill after each meal, but you don't get charged anything. You can decline to give your credit card at reception.

They do open the resort to locals on weekends, so be prepared for some yelling and kids screaming. However, the seclusion during the week more than made up for it. This looks like a golf resort, so most people are golfing during the week leaving you to enjoy the pool to yourself most of the time.

The drinks were great. Make sure you try Banana Mammas and Mexican Baileys.

The elevator system takes a little getting used it. The lobby is on the 6th floor and there are some elevators that only go on certain floors, but you will get the hang of it after a couple days. There is a very private pool on the first floor. (Don't tell anyone. ;)

Warning about the elevators, they close very very quickly. We almost got knocked down a couple times as there is only a censor one of the sliding doors. Again, they close very fast, they will shut on you at least a couple times during the trip.

There aren't many activities going on. The hotel does have programs, like Bingo, Spanish lessons, dancing lessons, etc, but nobody really goes to them, so it's a little awkward when you are the only person who shows up. There are no nightly shows like at other resorts either.

This place is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a private place, great food, fine dining, rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Bring your tennis racquets! The tennis courts are free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and specially the attention to detail of your description regarding your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations upon arrival what affected your first impression about the hotel and our service. We always strive to provide a personal service to our guests from the very beginning throughout the whole stay. On this isolated occasion we did not comply with our standard due to the arrival of a big group and I wanted also to mention that we always try to assign the rooms based on the request of our guests, however there are times when we run out of a certain type of rooms especially in the high season.
I am very happy to hear that despite your first impression you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, specially the warmth and friendliness of our staff. It is with pleasure that I will be sharing your kind comments with our staff and let them know how significant their contribution was to turn around your impression of our property and also create a memorable vacation for you at the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort.

On Behalf of the entire team at the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort, we thank you for your visit and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Got back from this resort Feb 6th, what a great time.
If you go to the terrace at night for your entertainment the guitarist singer is "Amazing" buy that CD this guy is good, great music,great times, I would love to see him on the show The Voice he's a contentered. Thank you to all the staff and all the musical entertainers we had a great time.
And thank you to the manager of this resort he always has time for everyone. no matter how small your request is.
Good Job Grand Bay I;ll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful vacation at the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort.
The personal attention to every and each guest is our most recognized hallmark.
I look forward to welcome you personally on your next visit.

Sincerely
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful vacation at this beautiful property. First of all I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff at this place. In particular, Gonzalos the head of tours was amazing. Our party left both a passport and a wallet full of cash on the bus to the resort...both returned quickly! The hotel grounds are beautiful, the food was excellent, the water taxies to the small town across the lagoon was fun and the golf was outstanding. We have done lots of all inclusive resorts and this was one of the best! Great golf courses and fun caddies! Don't miss the opportunity to go to Tamarindo Golf Course if you have a chance! It was Pebble Beach on the Mexican Coast! Really very pleasantly surprised by all amenities of this great value vacation. Only small comment was for ladies to bring your own hairdryer...theirs was tough to work and very hot. Other than that.....AWESOME time.

Room Tip: floors 8, 9 10 looking out to the marina had beautiful sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
On behalf of all the Team at our beautiful 1,200 acre resort, thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort.
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable Golf vacation, your comments about our personalized and friendly service will be shared with the team and specially with Gonzalo.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Please, VT from Vancouver be fair with your review. I can't imagine that you went to the same place that we did. We have been going to Mexico for 12 years now (five star resorts too) and this one ranked in the top. I would have given this resort a wide berth if this poor review had come out before we left. Please people look at the grammar in that review, I think this lady is afraid of seniors and maybe a little PMS at the time.!!!!. Yes, there were a lot of golfers that come to this resort from Califormia but the groups that we met were absolutely charming. Should you expect the hotel to entertain your children after 7pm? If you take children you could kayak on the lagoons, take a bike, hike 15 minutes to the beautiful little bay to the left of the property. Take a 2 dollar ride to Barra. Heck - put them in a free lifejacket and snorkel in 35feet of water. They'll never forget that one!!!!
1/ The pools and gardens alone should be enough to please anyone.
2/ We also paid a very, very reasonable price to travel from Vancouver but the room we had on the forth floor was immaculately kept and I am super fussy - believe me.
3/ The food was fine. Breakfast was fruit, yogurt, meat and cheese plates, a station to cook eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal, juices and 4 mexican dishes. - You get the picture.
4/ If you go with a group, the all inclusive is actually 4 a la carte meals per week. The other evenings the buffet was varied and we enjoyed pasta one evening and chinese food another evening. At the buffet there was always a fish or meat and vegetable station.
5/ We enjoyed the circular area outside the main bar. It was a lovely place to sit and have a special coffee.
6/ Hi to our special friends from Calgary. What a fun pair!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
On behalf of all the Team at our beautiful 1,200 acre resort, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort, confirming that we offer quality personalized and friendly service to our guests.
Comments like this encourages us to continue providing the personal touch that distinguishes our property, which is the People’s friendliness and will to go the extra mile, making our team one of the best in the industry, and therefore deserve our recognition and gratitude, it is with pleasure that we will be sharing your kind comments with all of them, confirming that their efforts are noticed & appreciated by our distinguished guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your future stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you to the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I just want to start by saying some people obviously don't know paradise when they see it. I was travelling with a group of 5 woman and when we arrived we did notice it was very quiet and alot of people older than us and weren't sure we had picked the right resort for us. However within minutes of that thought we had a welcome beverage, quick check in and very friendly staff. The hotel is very anitique looking which was so beautiful and the lobby and halls were all well kept up and flowers rearranged often with gorgeous birds of paradise. There was open spaces all over where you could see the gorgeous ocean view or the beautiful huge yachts in their marina. Also if you looked across the way you seen Barre Navidad which is just a 2 minute boat ride for 20 pesos return. It ran 24 hours and there was shops and friendly people there. I felt extremely safe in this area and we had even been there in the evening. Everyone was quick to say hello and how are you? Was I in paradise? If you wanted to venture a little further you could take a one peso bus ride or 50 peso taxi ride to Melaque which was full of shopping, cheap alcohol if you wanted some to take back with you and Senor Froys right by the ocean where we enjoyed wine and huge cesars. The staff spoke very clear english and we ordered some chicken wings and shrimp to die for. Back to the resort...after our easy check-in we were famished and needed something to eat. We decided to throw on our swim suits and hit the pool as it was very hot and assumed there would be a buffet. When we arrived at the pool the beautiful Nadia was there to serve us. She asked if we would like a menu. A menu at the pool?? She brought us the menu and we were excited by the amazing choices we had, turkey wraps, quesidillas, burgers, hot dogs, fresh veggies and salads. All the food was great for all the buffets, breakfast was amazing with fresh fruit galore, bacon, eggs and all the fixings. The A la cartes were great as well. Antonios was to die for, we ate there twice and the steak, salmon, lobster, mahi mahi were all great as we all tried different things. Nice wines, great service and even a great guitarist playing softly as we ate. It was amazing. We also ate at the Thai restaurant La Terezzo and it was outdoors overlooking the ocean with all its beauty and wonderful staff and again...amazing food. We spent our time after dinners at the piano bar and loved the music and the signers that were there. It was quiet and relaxing but very entertaining. Make sure you say hi to Lidia and Sergio at the piano bar as they are so friendly and amazing. This vacation is by far one of the best memories of anywhere I have been and I have travelled alot. It is a place for relaxation and tranquility. If you are looking to party hard, it may not be the place for you but I do not lie when I say heaven on earth. Hope you enjoy your visit as much as we did. I will go back to Grand Bay Isla Navidad and actually I am looking to go back in March 2013 already. Hope my review helps. Go and relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
First and foremost, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort.
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable vacation, comments like this confirm that we are providing quality personalized and friendly service to our guests.
It is with pleasure that we will be sharing your kind comments with our staff and let them know, that their efforts are noticed & appreciated by our distinguished guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your future stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you to the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort in the near future.


Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were here for a week - January 16-23 and booked through transat holidays. It was exactly what I was looking for a relaxing quiet vacation along with great food and drinks. We are in our early thirties, so we were definitely a minority, most people are over 65 and lots of golfers. The hotel itself it starting to show its age, but this didn’t bother us, it was a gorgeous hotel nonetheless. It was fun exploring the hotel, there’s a pool on the 10th floor and another one of the first floor away from the main pool. There is also the 19th Hole bar, located outside by Antonios and La Terraza. The mini-golf is a joke, it’s just a regular sized practice green with 9 holes in a circle around it. We had room 417, we would have liked to be on a higher floor so we had an unobstructed view of the marina, but after several complaints to the front desk nothing was resolved, neither was the issue of the King bed we had specifically requested, our room had two double sized beds. Be forewarned, because of the climate and terrain the hotel is located in you are bound to find cockroaches and centipedes in your room – luckily my husband wasn’t too squeamish and dealt with them. Take 4 AA batteries with you if you plan to use the safe. With the exception of the front desk staff and the older bell boy (he tries to tell you no luggage is allowed in the lobby, he is rude and unrelenting!)The service we received on this trip was impeccable. The chamber maids came every morning and every evening, filing the ice bucket for us and the fridge was stocked daily. We only ate at the dinner buffet once, which was small but fine for us. Antonio’s was very good. La Terraza was the outdoor Tai Restaurant, my husband very much enjoyed it, I thought it was just okay. If we hadn’t found so many other great dining options in Barra, we would have eaten more at the hotel, but we like to explore and try new things. We usually ate breakfast at the buffet which again was small but okay. Most lunches we ate either by the pool or over in Barra. At the pool, they serve you drinks right to your chair and will bring you a lunch menu by request. Finding a chair while the hotel was near capacity was not an issue. The food on the menu is soo good, especially the turkey wrap and the burger. Any sized tip was always appreciated. This hotel doesn’t have the typical all-inclusive nightly entertainment, which was fine by me. Almost every night there was some sort of music in the lobby bar which we enjoyed. We either sat on the couches there or sat on the terrace overlooking the marina and Barra, very nice view. Vidal was probably our favorite bartender at this hotel; he would see us coming and have our drinks ready for when we sat down! While here there was an international fishing derby going on and the weigh station was on the hotel grounds so we got to see some pretty large trophy catches, very cool, along with all the different types of fishing boats coming from around the world. On Monday night we attended the Mexican themed buffet dinner by the garden – tonnes of great food to be had. Also another note – bring bug spray, they are happy to supply it to you if you forget. As usual we brought our insulated mugs, but didn’t use them once. The cups here are normal ‘red solo cup’ size and we very adequate.
Barra is a must visit, the water taxi is 20 pesos per person return. The town is very save to walk around and nearly impossible to get lost in. There are two OXXO Convenient stores were you could buy bottles/can of beer or coolers and walk around town with… for this I would recommend bringing a kooze as all drinks sweat a lot in this climate. You can buy chips and pop at a much more reasonable prices then the store in the marina. We ate at el Manglito, right off the water taxi dock to the right. Ask for Maurier – speaks perfect English and knows a lot about the area. Melana’s is on the ocean side of Barra, just past the first OXXO on the main street, it’s behind Casa Chips. There are chairs and tables set up on the beach and patio. The owners adopted dog loves to swim and play and will try to engage you. She is very friendly (see my pictures). We ate at Ambra, just next door to el Manglito, its bright yellow and has Lobster House in red on the front of it. ) It’s said to be the most expensive place to eat in Barra, but also the best. The chef is from France; here you will find the best wine selection in Barra. For 1180 pesos ($94 CAN) we had escargot, Caesar salad, two entrees (lasagna & a crepe, crème Brule for dessert, along with 6 spirits.
We ate at Popeye’s, it was okay, but I wouldn’t go back and would hesitate to recommend them, they are very pricy compared to other places in Barra and so many other places offer better food.
We took a cab (50 pesos) to Melaque and ate at Senor Froy’s on the beach, the food and drinks were great. Watched the Pelicans, there were so many we were reluctant to go into the water but they are a sight to see. The water is much nicer at the beach at Barra. We walked along the beach back to Barra, an hour walk with not much between, and the beach is quite slanted. The best beach in the area is at La Manzanilla, north of Barra about 20 minutes by cab or bus.
We took the water taxi from the marina to go over to Colima to eat at Fortino’s one night, just to the right of the hotel. You could walk but it’s much easier to take the water taxi, again its 20 pesos per person round trop. Lidia’s and Mary’s are the two other restaurant here. Extremely good sea food here; we had 3 lobster tails, two shrimp skewers, and avocado stuffed with shrimp and a few drinks all for under 600 pesos.
There is no beach per say at the resort, just an open lagoon beach which we didn’t see anyone swimming in. We did rent a jet ski from the hotel for 30 minutes for 600 pesos, the one guy took us for a quick tour of the area and also showed us the shallow areas to avoid. Definitely worth the money and bring a waterproof camera, lots of great views. We wanted to do the deep sea fishing advertised on the hotel’s activity brochure for $150/per couple, we went to book it, the price was suddenly $400/per couple. In hindsight we would have asked Maurier to hook us up with an English speaking local to take us out. As I mentioned earlier, we traveled with Transat holidays and our rep Jocelyn was not much help, all the Transat tours needed 6-8 people to run and she does little to sell or help gather more people. If you want to do a tour I suggest talking the hotel staff that speak fluent English and asking them to help you hire an English speaking driver for the day.
All in all we had a wonderful vacation and fell in love with Barra, would we go back to the Grand Bay hotel??… not sure, maybe if the price was right, but we will definitely return to this area. For the most part the service we impeccable, also the wifi mostly worked in the lobby and by the pool and some rooms and was free for all-inclusive guests or Wyndham members.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing with Trip Advisor's community your experience in detail about your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the surroundings, this area indeed offers unique vistas and Experiences.
We also appreciate your valuable comments regarding our front desk and bell boy staff we will take your feedback to heart and will work with our staff to improve this areas of opportunity.

We are looking forward to welcome you again this unique Mexican Destination.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Navidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Navidad

Address: Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Isla Navidad, Manzanillo 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isla Navidad 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Isla Navidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Manzanillo
Manzanillo Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Navidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.