We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My heart has found it's home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Navidad

Save Saved
You added Isla Navidad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Navidad
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Isla Navidad, Manzanillo 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 hotels in Manzanillo
Madsen, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My heart has found it's home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first trip to somewhere tropical March 6 - 13, 2012 and also our honeymoon. We were nervous about travelling to a foreign country, we were unsure of what to expect. We searched and searched and finally decided to book the Grand Bay and we were not disappointed!! This place is MAGICAL! When you dream of paradise, this is it! The staff at this resort are EXCEPTIONAL! Friendly, happy, always right there to help whenever you need them. Everyone, from the cleaning people to the bar tenders to the concierge, all of them were so helpful and pleasant, going out of their way to make our vacation perfect!
The hotel and grounds are breath taking! We took a couple tours, went whale watching, fishing, snorkeling and had lunch and dinner on the beach. Juan was fabulous, helping us book tours and arranging for us to have a true Mexican dinner at a small place on the beach.
A few small little villages are only a short water taxi ride away and are true to everyday life in Mexico. The residents in these towns are just awe inspiring, working hard everyday in scorching heat, always willing to stop and say hello or answer questions. At no time did we feel pressured to buy anything.
Grand Bay is a place to go to relax. It is not a party place which was perfect for us. We lead a busy life and we wanted to go somewhere to unwind and revive, this was the place. They have a wonderful spa and a beautiful golf course.
I could go on and on and on about how this place was our dream come true!!
We are booking right now for another vacation in two weeks. Although there are many places that look nice at a great price, my heart is calling me to go back to Manzanillo. I have already stated to my husband that I wish to retire there. We will be returning Jan 29, 2013 and staying at the Grand Bay, there is no other choice for us!

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the pool and it was beautiful. We moved rooms half way through up to a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisor's members your comments regarding your stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable Honeymoon in such beautiful property.
It is with pleasure that we will be sharing your kind comments with our staff and let them know, that their efforts are noticed & appreciated by our distinguished guests.
I look forward to welcome and meet you in person again in your proximate visit.
As our appreciation for choosing our beautiful property for your Honeymoon, we will have an Anniversary surprise for you up on arrival.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
35
93
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The sprawling grounds, warm ACCOMODATING staff, professionalism. and understanding and a true mexican spirt of welcome and readiness to accomodate my needs above their own. Truly selfless. The Hotel itself is a castle of old mexico and the restaurants, and ALL staff is friendly and eager.

Room Tip: GO BIG get a 'named suite'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisor's community your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable vacation.
Isla Navidad Resort, our Team and Myself Personally look forward to receiving you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I will start with the positives. The property and the rooms are amazing. We loved playing by the pool. There was a low occupancy rate while we where there which made the pool very quiet which was great. The food is amazing, the staff at Antonios are the best. We loved the massages the spa staff is also fantastic.

Myself and several other guests that I chatted which all had an allergic reaction to something. I suspecct it was something in the beach towels laundry soap.

There are two activity centers the one beside the towls is the one that provides the free activities. There was never anyone there. The second activity center charged for everything including stuff that was supposed to be part of the all inclusive package. All of the tours were very expensive.

What promted me to write the review was our treatment by the hotel on the final day. My husband and I have been to many different all inclusive resorts all over Mexico. Never has the all inclusive ended on the final day at noon. Our pick up wasn't until 3pm. They discontinued the all inclusive part at noon, they unbanded some guests and some got to keep them. However even if you still had the band after noon you had to pay for your food and drink which was not cheap. After each meal during the all inclusive week you got a bill, now the bill was usually just for a few cents but still a bit stupid if you ask me.

I love the quality of the staff but I will never go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your last visit at Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
I would also like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding the areas where we can improve, be sure that your feedback will help us to offer a better experience to our guests.
It would be great if I could have more information about the charges that you mentioned in your letter, so that I could personally look into this issue.
We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to regain your trust and looking forward to personally welcome you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRASER
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It is truly spectacular landscape, the beaches, bays, lagoons, mountains and fauna. It is a destination resort with something for everyone, incredible golf, tennis, snorkeling, boating, fishing and surfing. The three restaurants offer excellent dining. The architecture blends beautifully with the setting. The service was friendly and excellent. There are extraordinary views from every direction. You can walk the near by village of Colimila and eat fresh fish or take a boat across to the quaint fishing village of Barra de Navidad with a variety of restaurants and shops. It is perfect for a couple's weekend or a family vacation. Located on the Mexican Pacific with prefect weather, surrounded by ocean and mountains.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with a view of the lagoon are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments,
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation, which only gives us more reasons to continue providing personalized and friendly service in such beautiful property.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Wyndham Grand Bay Isla Navidad Resort.

Jorge Garibay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We love this place great service, clean place, good food and a Bar with over 220 different tequila to choose from. The beach and Water are good for snorkeling, diving,surfing and the fishing is great for large fish like Marlin, Sailfish, Dorado, Tuna and many more. Near by is Barra de Navidad a small relaxed Mexican Town with lost of restaurant and activity to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the surroundings, this area offers unique vistas and experiences, this hidden Mexican Paradise will always be happy to receive you.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this resort the last week of February into thr beginning of March.We booked the trip last minute so we did'nt know what to expect.It's a quick trip from the airport to the resort . The hotel is situated atop a hill over looking the small town of Barra. The hotel staff is really pleasant and most spoke english so it wasn't a problem communicating with the staff.The hotel itself is very elegant with plenty of marble and fantastic views of the marina and the towns of Brra and Maleque.The rooms are cleaned daily and the mini bar was stocked daily.The restaurants served terrific food and I was expecially impressed with the pool side lunch buffet they served.The hotel do not let any vendors onto the property so it was very relaxed on the hotel grounds.The water taxis are always availiable and free,which takes about two minutes and you are in the quaint little town of Barra. They have plenty of shops, bars and Restaurants.Try out Ramones,excellent food at reasonable prices or take the cab or a bus to Maleque and enjoy the hospitallity of the beach bars along the water front. We had great times at Senor Froys.The happy hour had great drink specials and the owner was a great host.If you happen to be a golfer make sure you spend the extra bucks on your vacatiopn package and golf at the resort golf coarse. It is one heck of a course close by and the only extra money you pay is for the cart. I think it was $15.00 and caddy was $5.00 each per golfer per foursome.Take plenty of balls as the course is challenging with lots of water.The prices in the club house is very expensive so bring your own golf gear.The resort is not for teenagers as there is not a big night life at the resort .This made for an excellent vacation as it was mostly adults who wanted to golf or relax without alot of kids and young people running around and being abnoxious.If you can get this holiday at a reasonable price I suggest you get the golf, spa package and enjoy a holiday you will want to come back to.If the price is right we will definatly be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out Maleque we had a blst at the beach bars.The staff were all frienly and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to go into so much detail and share your experience with the online community. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
I will share your comments with all the Associates to let them know they contributed to create unforgettable memories for you at the Grand Bay Hotel Isla Navidad Resort.
Thank you for your preference.
I hope you come back soon to Isla Navidad and have the opportunity to welcome you personally.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton,on
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this resort last March so I apoligize for the lateness of the review but I also see that there are not a lot of reviews on this resort .
We have travelled to many parts of the Caribbean including Cancun, Dominican, Cuba etc.
I have to say we found this area of Mexico to be very beautiful.
Arrival: It was very quich thru customs and about a 40 minute bus ride thru some beautiful country and a very great tour guide informing us on the way.
Check-in -We were greeted with a glass of champagne and quickly checked it.
Room:Loved it. The rooms are suites and ours overlooked the marina and allowed us a most gorgeous view of the sun rising over the mountains every morning. Nothing like sitting on you deck with a cup of coffee first thing in the morning watching the sun come up. The room was spotless, and well stocked every day with beer, water, etc.
Food-We enjoyed all the restaurants although you could tell the hotel was going thru the transition from non all inclusive to all inclusive. We enjoyed the buffet for breakfasts and if you can sit on the outside once again you have incredible views.
La Terra-WE ate there twice and it was wonderful. The food was great and of course once again the view is beautiful. In the background they have a musician playing which added to the ambiance of the restaurant. The service was great.
Antonios-A five star dining experience where you are never rushed. The food was excellent and service first class.
The Poolside- This area could get very busy and sometimes it was difficult to find a seat at certain times. They offered an a-la carte menu or they did have a buffet.
You could also order poolside if you chose and we did do that a few times also.
The Pool is one of the most beautiful we have every seen. It careens down about 4 sections and no sections are very big so you need to pi ck your spot. There was never a problem getting a chair which I should mention are very comfy as they provide you with a terry cloth cover each morning. There is a swim up bar at the bottom pool but it was shaded so we didn't sit there too much.
Pool side drinks are served to your seats and there are tables with umbrellas spaced around the different pools. There is also pools for children further up and we found that nice so there were not a lot of children in the area we chose.
The music playing around the pool each day was not blaring and you didn't have someone bugging you to play games etc each day. ( there was ping pong, volleyball etc if you did want to play)
We also discovered a smaller pool right down from our room the final day that we did not know was there.
Golf/Spa-We did not buy the packages but this hotel was full of people who had come just for that reason. The feedback we got was that they thought the golfing was excellent. Next time we would book this. There was no problem finding a partner to golf with either.
Beach-The beach here is manmade so we didn't use it at all. There was yoga every morning on the beach which looked so relaxing.
Gym-My husband used the gym and said it wasn't bad but he has been in much better.
Bars-Each night we would go to the lobby bar which was a a great place to meet people ( again you can sit outside). There was usually a pioano player or duet playing each night. By no means is this place a party place so if that is what you are looking for it would be better to go elsewhere.
Staff-We found the staff to be pleasant,extremely helpful and a smile on their faces.
Grounds-This resor thas the most beautiful grounds that we have ever been on. Each morning I would take a walk and the scenery was wonderful. The resort is immaculate as well as the hotel itself.
The Marina is great to walk around also. The Gran Bay looks much bigger than 199 rooms but that is how it is laid out.
To sum it up we really liked this hotel and one of the best things about it is the location it is to Barra Navidad.
We loved the fact that you could go over there and enjoy so many things that this area has to offer. One day was a craft show and another day a bull fight, and a parade. So many great places to eat.
In five minutes you are there and if you want to come back it is a short trip back.
To us this is one of the bonus of this hotel. No need to take expensive trips.
To sum up the vacation we really hope to return, The weather is wonderful, the location is beautiful, mountains and lots of lush gardens.
The food, entertainment and drinks wer great.
The staff were pleasant.
This resort isn't a party place but we met lots of people who like to have fun.
It is a great spot to relax and unwind.
Don't hesitate to book.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the marina are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments concerning your visit to the Grand Bay Hotel Isla Navidad – a Wyndham Luxury Resort.

I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable vacation, which only gives us more reasons to continue providing personalized and friendly service in our beautiful property.
It is with pleasure that I will be sharing your kind comments with our staff and let them know, that their efforts are noticed & appreciated by our distinguished guest.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

This beautiful paradise will always receive you as your home in Mexico.


Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Navidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Navidad

Address: Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Isla Navidad, Manzanillo 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Spa Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isla Navidad 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Isla Navidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Manzanillo
Manzanillo Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Navidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.