We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 stars: Hotel La Posada Brisas: No idea why others have rated high: peace and quiet, isolation, surly staff, and conta” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Posada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Posada to your Saves list
Hotel La Posada
Av. Lazaro Cardenas #201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Manzanillo
Coastal California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“2 stars: Hotel La Posada Brisas: No idea why others have rated high: peace and quiet, isolation, surly staff, and conta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Not quite sure what all the trip advisor fuss is about this property, where we stayed 3 nights in Nov 2013. The Las Brisas area has, to quote Alexander McCall Smith, a sense of reduced circumstances about it. The property is located at the end of Las Brisas near the sea entrance of the port. I loved watching the container ships being towed into the port of Manzanillo and seeing the fishing vessels; others may want a more idyllic beachfront setting, so should not choose this location. The hotel serves a decent breakfast (included with our rate) and has a few lunch offerings, but after 2:30 you are on your own food-wise. The closest restaurants are a 15-20 minute walk away, which we were glad to make down a well-lit boulevard. However individuals who don’t wish to walk that far will need to take a taxi for food service. There is not much to do at the property which has basic rooms, decent beach and smallish pool. Internet service erratic. I get the vibe of a small independent hotel in Pacific Beach (California) in part because the clientele were mostly Americans, some ex-patriates from inland Mexico wanting a break at the seashore, of a certain quirkiness. Check in didn’t happen until hotel day 2, due to the inexperience of a new front desk employee. However a day before planned departure, surly innkeeper was wondering why we were still there. We had paid cash for three nights and had many confirmatory e-mails with hotel management about our length of stay. It wasn’t our obligation to present him with all those emails and our receipts, but that’s what he petulantly required. Eventually I received a weak “I’m sorry for the misunderstanding” from him. Logistics and hospitality do not appear to be the hotel’s strong suits, so be forewarned. We do appreciate that the hotel linked us up with DaniTours with whom we enjoyed a great ATV trip. Despite that benefit, we do not plan to return to Hotel La Posada in Las Brisas

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    64
    12
    13
    9
See reviews for
47
83
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I can’t ‘begin to express my appreciation and fortune finding this little gem of a place. Right from the moment I arrived everything suddenly became calm. Juan Carlos greeted me and not only fit me in but made my stay one of relaxation and renewal. As a woman traveling alone I was very impressed with this city as I never felt tense or in any sign of danger. Darkness doesn’t stop people from going for their morning and evening daily walks, and I fit right in. It is very peaceful and serine. Unlike most of Manzanillo this side of town has a level terrain so you are right on the beach and don’t have to hike up a million stairs to get back to your resort! The staff at La Posada are friendly, warm and helpful. This small hotel has a unique charm to it. As I watched guests come and go I could see the close bonds forming and old friendships renewed. If you are looking for a 5 star gilts and glamour resort where you are just a number, keep looking. But if you want to kick back, relax and enjoy the gentle breezes by the pool or on the beach then this is the best spot in town! I can’t wait to go back, relax, and see all the smiling faces :)

Room Tip: All rooms are very unique so if you get a chance have a peek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel La Posada in September this year. The rooms were very clean, the service outstanding. My daughter forgot her purse with money in it and we could pick it up the next day. So very honest and personal attendance. It is located at one of the mayor highways driving into Manzanillo but as it is at the end of the highway in a cul-de-sac there is no noise whatsoever except for the gentle noise of the waves!

We really can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Weekend get away for some sun, surf and sand. Juan and his staff provided a relaxing time in Manzanillo, all was quiet on the beaches and town, just what was needed to relax and soak up the sun. The rooms where clean, the staff efficient, and breakfast fresh and filling.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I live about 5 hours away and have heard great reviews about this hotel, and about the great service provided by the staff and the owner, Juan. Mr. Garmin directed me right to the front door and the vacation began immediately. The rooms are functional and have all the comforts one normally needs. The view of the ocean from the room was nothing but spectacular. The water is deep blue and the sound of the waves at night are so relaxing. The breakfasts are included and are a great way to begin the day, after a walk on the beach of course. The pool is well maintained and a wonderful place to relax at and spend the day. The city is a short drive (or bus/taxi ride) away. Several good restaurants are available to choose from so there is never a shortage of fine dining. There is a large super market (Soriana's) in town that has everything you could possible need (or replace if you forget to bring). Hotel has all the comforts and conveniences without the hustle and bustle found in large hotels. The staff is outstanding and the owner, Juan, is a wealth of knowledge about the area. Oh, English is spoken by most employees so communicating is not issue. This is a 'will return soon' for me.

Room Tip: If you want daily maid service, be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This charming, small hotel is situated right on the sandy Pacific beach. All rooms have a terrific view, some with balconies. There is a very nice pool, a dining room that serves a fantastic breakfast and sandwiches at lunch, The breakfast, which comes with the price of your room, consists of pancakes, eggs, bacon, toast, juice, cereal, fruit, coffee---any of it or all of it. Although dinner is not served, and there are no restaurants nearby, there are a couple of hotels next door that serve all meals, one has a rather lavish buffet. A local bus stops across the street from the hotel and can get you to the town of Manzanillo for about fifty cents in about 15 minutes. The taxi costs about $7. I am sure that we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My favorite place by the sea. Always clean comfortable rooms with fantastic views in a friendly vibrant city. They serve a very good (included) breakfast. There is a handy and tasty taco about 2 blocks away which opens at 7 pm. Lots of other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada

Address: Av. Lazaro Cardenas #201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Family Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique seaside inn located directly on the best swimming and snorkeling beach in Manzanillo. American owners since 1960. Great fresh-water pool, cocktail & snack bar, rustic atmosphere. Complete breakfasts included in rates. 23 rooms and all with a view of the ocean. Diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding and tours to other attractions in the area arranged at the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Manzanillo
La Posada Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Posada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.