We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Posada

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Posada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Posada
Av. Lazaro Cardenas #201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 52 hotels in Manzanillo
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pure Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This charming, small hotel is situated right on the sandy Pacific beach. All rooms have a terrific view, some with balconies. There is a very nice pool, a dining room that serves a fantastic breakfast and sandwiches at lunch, The breakfast, which comes with the price of your room, consists of pancakes, eggs, bacon, toast, juice, cereal, fruit, coffee---any of it or all of it. Although dinner is not served, and there are no restaurants nearby, there are a couple of hotels next door that serve all meals, one has a rather lavish buffet. A local bus stops across the street from the hotel and can get you to the town of Manzanillo for about fifty cents in about 15 minutes. The taxi costs about $7. I am sure that we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    63
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
39
81
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My favorite place by the sea. Always clean comfortable rooms with fantastic views in a friendly vibrant city. They serve a very good (included) breakfast. There is a handy and tasty taco about 2 blocks away which opens at 7 pm. Lots of other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Greetings Fellow Travellors
Glad to see you are thinking about travelling to Mexico and particularly to Manzanillo. An excellent hotel choice is definitely the Hotel Posada. I/we stay here every time we come to Manzanillo. The atmosphere is very welcoming. Management and staff are friendly and helpful, after a few days, it feels like family. Staff turnover is very low, and it is always nice to be greeted by the same friendly smiles on arrival, each year.
A stay at the Hotel Posada is truly a unique adventure. As you enjoy your multi-choice breakfast in the quaint Mexican style leisure room/dininging room, you will have an opportunity to meet people from all over the world, and exchange experiences(in larger hotels, small talk is usually a turn-off)
Following breakfast you might choose one of the Palapa covered tables to finish your coffee, continue conversations, or just sit back and enjoy the ocean fron view of large ships coming and going from the nearby harbor. The beach front umbrella and chairs provide ocean front enjoyment, and an excellent spot to enjoy whale watching.
The location of the Posada is close to dancing and late nite walking. Manzanillo, is totally safe(now think about your own home town location...do you go walking at nite??).
A stay at the Posada is good value for an excellent holiday. Hope to meet you sometime.
Al Goodmundson

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We live near the city of Manzanillo and decided to make a mini holiday out of a shopping trip. We choose Hotel La Posada because of it's TA reviews. The reviews are correct. This is a really neat place to stay. It's in an interesting location, near the port. It's on a good beach with lovely views of Centro Historico and the bay. We were even entertained by whales while eating a very good breakfast (included in the price). It is a little out of the way with no nearby restaurants but if you don't have a car you can use taxis or the bus. We would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: I think that they all seemed well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We absolutel love the "Pink Posada". Yes it is a basic hotel with no tv or radio in the rooms, but the accommodations are spotless, the owners Juan and Clara very friendly and always go out of their way to be helpful. This hotel is pet friendly and we always take our two furry children with us. There are tables set up outside so our poodles can join us the wonderful breakfast which is included in the price. The location couldn't be better; right on the beach with a great view of the ships entering the harbour, the whales frolicking in the bay, and the navy men excercising on the beach. The crashing waves will lull you to sleep each night.
Manzanillo has been given a bad rap lately with the US government warning about drug activity in the area, but our experience is that the only drug war we encounter is between Viagra and Cialis! The mexican people are warm and friendly and eager to share the beauty of their country with tourists.

Room Tip: My favourite is room 12 because it is a little more shaded in the late afternoon, but rooms 10 and 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Usually it is just my wife and I that visit this wonderful "oasis", but this time, we arrived at La Posada with 12 additional guests from Canada, plus four from our Mexican side of the family. All of our family were very impressed by this small resort. Between the old folks, the young families, the children, and the grandchildren, we had an excellent and very enjoyable week. To Luce, Crystal, Rosa, Claudia, Guille, Josue, Angel(yes, our guardian night watchman), and Clara, thank you all for everything as you went out of your way so many times for my family. You have definitely left an excellent impression of the warmth and kindness of the Mexican people, especially on our children and grand-children. To Juan, again, thank-you, for arranging side trips, tours, suggesting restaurants, making last minute changes as needed. Sorry to say Juan, but some of us will be back again. The area has been totally redone, the streets are excellent, the side walks are new, it is an very nice and safe area. The local bus stops across the street and for 6 pesos, will take you into the heart of Manzanillo, or to the main tourist area to the north. Just make sure that you read the destinations that are indicated on the front of the bus. For example: "El Centro" and "Central", one will take you to the major bus station, and the other to down town Manzanillo, "Soriana", will take you to a major shopping mall as will "Commercial". Many of these buses do not go in a straight line, but are great to ride. Just take a few extra pesos for a taxi in case you end up where you did not plan to go. Colima city, Comala, Tecoman, Suichitlan, Barra, Melaque, are all fantastic side tours, and they are very safe. As far as food goes: some nights we ate out at very good restaurants, and some nights, Clara just ordered mexican pizza for us at the Posada. An Excellent breakfast is included with the room, plus a very good lunch can be had at the hotel. A couple of blocks to the north, is an excellent family run restaurant called "Cualita's". Outside it does not look like much, but the family service and the food is wonderful. The first time the "entire herd from Canada" went there, our youngest grand child ended up playing "football" with their youngest grand child, and we have pictures of him "awarding" the ball to her. My family is not the type for 4 or 5 star all-inclusives, but we travel to various countries to enjoy the people, history, and scenery. Just remember! safe, secure, friendly, variety, speak a little Spanish, and enjoy. My wife and I are definitely going back again and again to enjoy the area, the staff, and the other people that love "La Posada"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NELSON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in room 19 at this awesome place.The owner, Juan and his staff are the best ever! Juan was always there and available for any questions or help. His staff was very hard working and kind. The staff keep the place spotless. We went for xmas and New Years, and there was lots of fun and noise but room 19 is away from the pool area so once inside it was totally quiet. We totally recommend you try it out! You will not be disappointed. The quietest time to go would be January 6th on. That way the kids are back in school and you really could have it all to yourself!!! Right on the beach too, and near a ship port so lots of interesting ships to watch come and go. We cannot wait to get back! Thanks Pink Posada!!! Say hi to Crystal from Kris and Pete. She is the cutest Mexican waitress you would ever want to meet!!

Room Tip: Room 19 has air conditioner, fridge, stove, microwave, and its own private balcony. Best room there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada

Address: Av. Lazaro Cardenas #201, Manzanillo 28200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manzanillo
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique seaside inn located directly on the best swimming and snorkeling beach in Manzanillo. American owners since 1960. Great fresh-water pool, cocktail & snack bar, rustic atmosphere. Complete breakfasts included in rates. 23 rooms and all with a view of the ocean. Diving, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding and tours to other attractions in the area arranged at the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Manzanillo
La Posada Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Posada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.