We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ave Vista Hermosa s/n | Peninsula de Santiago, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Manzanillo
Vancouver BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Magical Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We visited Las Hadas Resort, near Manzanillo March 9-23 2014 and were a little apprehensive as the management had changed.

As frequent visitors over the last 15 years we have come to expect excellence and familiarity.
Before leaving Vancouver, I always call ahead to request a particular room and other requirements to facilitate and expedite our arrival. On this occasion we learned that Rudolfo, the front desk manager, had left and so reception put me through to Noah, the new concierge and despite him not knowing who we were, or our history with the hotel he quickly allayed our initial concerns by promptly promising to fulfil all of our requests.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by a number of familiar faces and quickly given our room.
Small deficiencies (the absence of a safety deposit box lock and some luxury bathroom supplies) were remedied by the next day.

Breakfast at El Palmar is essentially a buffet, but Gaspar, Pedro and Nicolas ensure that it is more than that. First we were greeted like long lost family and shown to a preferred table.
Then I noted other changes which I initially viewed as deficiencies yet these too were miraculously addressed. For example, I always insist on FRESH SQUEEZED orange juice and not the standard OJ often found on buffets.
It was made for me EVERY day of our stay and presented by one of the guys as soon as we sat down, together with FRESHLY MADE HOT coffee, rather than the standard Thermos with tired, warm coffee.
My wife’s favourite fruit is mango but the local mangoes were not yet ripe, so Gaspar on his own initiative went into the town and purchased fresh ripe mangoes from the South which he expertly cut up and served her whenever she wanted them.
Another “disappointment” was the absence of bacon and fresh made pancakes on what seemed to be a pared back buffet. However Nicolas quickly produced all the missing items as we brought them to his attention. So by the end of our stay the offerings included EVERYTHING we had come to expect at Las Hadas
In addition, the guys often would prepare boiled or poached eggs, indeed anything we wanted, other than the buffet.

Our next let down was at lunch at Los Delphines, the lunch and sometimes-dinner restaurant, situated in a beautiful ocean-side palapa. There, we noted a reduced menu. My favourite lunch, smoked salmon (Carpaccio) was now absent from the food list! I expressed disappointment but the staff genuinely believed it was “gone forever” as were a number of other previously available offerings.

Collectively, these changes lead me to believe that the new management was implementing an austerity program. I decided to meet with the new General Manager, Jorge.

Jorge turned out to be a very personable and attentive person who impressed me immediately with his knowledge of the business and genuine concern for the client. He has excellent credentials and a great deal of experience. As a former hotelier myself I am well aware of the difficulties controlling costs while at the same time developing a great team who are passionately interested in creating a truly unique client experience. This he is in the process of doing.
Following our meeting:
Smoked salmon was offered daily as a lunch option, the breakfast buffet continued to improve; latte glasses suddenly appeared where before there were none.
Hector, the chef recognising the limitations of the lunch/dinner menu for guests staying more than one week, offered to cook for us “anything you want”. He created a dish of giant prawns sliced and stuffed with spinach and cheese, wrapped in bacon, grilled and served with rice and steamed vegetables, that was absolutely delicious. He subsequently produced numerous delightful options.
Guadaloupe, knowing our passion for Margaritas, conspired with the bar tender to produce the best drinks available nightly.
At the golf course we expected to pay $80 green fee including cart but were told it was $90. This was due to an out dated spec sheet in our room. Jorge honoured the rate throughout our stay.
As avid golfers I can highly recommend the resort. The course is challenging and quite beautiful in a rugged sort of way. The 18th is spectacular being a 175 yd par 3 from an elevated tee across the pounding surf onto a small island. Magnificent.
Estevan is an amazing caddy who we always use, not just because he is a very nice man but he is a great golfer and proves himself invaluable for instruction and ball-finding.
Jaime the pro is equally nice and very accommodating.

Dinner at the hotel can be had at a number of restaurants depending on how busy they are.
The best is Legazpi an elegant French style restaurant. Again, here we are spoiled: Federico the Maitre d’ and Ramon are superb at their jobs and help create a classical ambiance.
We dined several times but a few days before we were due to leave we experienced a disastrous meal. I quietly advised Federico as we left and he was clearly mortified.
Next day, at lunch Walter, the food and beverage manager sought us out and apologised profusely offering to prepare a full 4 course meal for us HIMSELF!
I declined as we had decided not to return but instead to attend the Mexican Fiesta.
He pleaded with us, so we agreed to return on the Saturday night. Well! I have to say EVERYONE outdid themselves. The food not only was spectacular but he opened 2 bottles of very acceptable wines to accompany it.

Throughout our stay Noah, the concierge made certain that everything met our expectations. He even took our bags to the shipping department to weigh them for us, to allay our fears concerning
baggage limitations imposed by the airlines.

I was hesitant to write this report, feeling that we were maybe treated rather specially and that regular guests might not experience the same considerations. So before submitting this I called Jorge and asked if I should publish our particular experiences, fearing that this might place an onerous burden on the hotel and its staff.
Ha absolutely insisted I tell it like it is as he aspires to provide this level of care for EVERYONE.
With that I can unequivocally recommend Las Hadas to anyone wishing to enjoy a fabulous vacation in a magical place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director Comercial at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay at Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina Manzanillo, we appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service, we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We also appreciate the valuable information in regards to your stay, we will take this information to make sure it does not happen again, and as you mentioned, that the magical experience you received, also feel all our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor’s community

Jorge Garibay / General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    184
    92
    45
    35
See reviews for
141
210
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We went here for our honeymoon. Had some difficulties with the rooms but it was the fault of Delta Vacations who we booked through. We got a suite with a private pool, which was amazing. Definitely opt for the all-inclusive option. The staff was wonderful and the grounds gorgeous. Very quite resort. If you are looking for lots of action, this is not the place for you. Make sure you understand what is included with the all-inclusive as we had some surprises at check out. But overall great place. Never left the grounds.

Room Tip: Get a pool suite if possible. There are only a few but the private pool was nice and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director Comercial at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and specially the attention to detail of your description regarding your recent stay at Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina Manzanillo. We thank you for your visit and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Jorge Garibay / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I always wanted to visit and stay at this resort after watching the movie "10" several years ago.
When my wife and I arrived they parked our car unloaded our luggage onto a golf cart and after we checked in we were driven to our suite. It was like a little feeling of the Mediterranean. Our suite was excellent and very clean. Only a short stroll to the restaurants, pool and beach. There are also some great restaurants in the marina as well. The only suggestion is for the men to bring a pair of causal long pants if you want to dine in The elegant restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director Comercial at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments in regards to your stay at Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina Manzanillo, we appreciate the recognition of quality and friendly service, we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Jorge Garibay / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I have been to all parts of Mexico. Manzanillo is only the second place we have gone to twice. Last year it was the Karmina Palace. It was very nice. This year we picked the Las Hadas because of price and the reviews. This is not the best resort in Manzanllio, But it was truly a great trip for the very laid back type. We had the adults package, we do reccommend that package. My cousin stayed there at the same time as us and did not get the food or service that we got with the added package.. We could order off the menu for lunch and dinner. We had unlimited reservations, and the food was as good as i have had anywhere. All of the resort was not crowded. The beach was nice. There were sea urchins in the water. Our concierge was Serge from Quebec. I don't hold that against him coming from the west. He was very helpful in any way that he could. I would return too this resort for a very quiet holiday. Not the place for kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director Comercial at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay at Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina Manzanillo, we appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service, we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

On Behalf of the entire team at Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina Manzanillo, once again thank you for your visit and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Jorge Garibay / Gerencia General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this resort 25 years ago. It is still quite beautiful, the pool is wonderful and you can always get a lounge chair. Staff are amicable and hard working. The breakfast buffet is not great unless you are happy with an omlette and fruit everything else is mexican. The lunch and dinner buffets are not great either. A la carte restaurant is wonderful however only open 3 nights a week and the service is terribly slow, expect to spend at least 2 hours.If you are looking for decent food I wouldn't stay here. It is irratating being chased to sign a bill at an all inclusive resort.
Beer in the room fridge minus an opener.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director Comercial at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and specially the attention to detail of your description regarding your recent stay at Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina Manzanillo.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations mainly in our food and beverage department. We are already taking action on this issue, We hope you will give us the opportunity to witness this in your next visit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor’s community

Jorge Garibay / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I am a boater who has been visiting Las Hadas by boat for the last eight years. Last year they started enforcing a $200 peso (approx $16 U.S.) dinghy landing fee to land a dinghy in their marina. This fee is at least 5 times the norm for similar locations in Mexico. Even though the boaters spend money in the shoreside restaurants and shops, Las Hadas has chose to gauge the boaters with this exhorbitant fee. Many boaters have written off Las Hadas as a potential cruising destinationn for this reason. I have spoken directly to the harbor master regarding the fee and resultant loss of potential customers and was met with deaf ears. We will not be back. either by land or boat.

Room Tip: Very expensive. Try another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director Comercial at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We Appreciate you comments in regards to our Marina and we understand your position on this matter, however I would like you to understand our perspective as this charge is only for boats that are anchored outside of our Marina in the Bay which are not paying our daily fee which would include this and other services. We have made an investment to build this Marina and we have high costs to maintain it, therefore as a Business we justify the use of our facilities from Boats that are not paying a daily anchored fee with us, by offering a landing fee.

Jorge Garibay / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We recently returned from our third trip to Las Hadas. I would like to say our third trip was better than the last, I can't, however, in good conscience say that it was. Yes, some of the people there were wonderful (a shout out to lobby bartender Efraim, 'egg guy' Alejandro, front desk guy Rudolpho, and porter German), the breakfast buffet were always great and Legazpi a-la-carte restaurant was superb, there were some definite downers. Los Delphine's restaurant always seemed in a state of disorganization, and the buffets there were fair to middling. Some of the menu items were wonderful, though. We went on the Brisas Club plan and have always liked hanging out at the exclusive pool. This time we were met with boorish people, who talked very loudly and we're bent on disrupting everyone's quiet enjoyment of this area. We weren't impressed and were forced to go elsewhere. There were other irritations that were still there from previous visits, mostly being chased around to sign the bill. All in all, good but not great. Not sure if we'll be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director Comercial at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay at Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina Manzanillo, We appreciate the recognition of our staff who provided quality and friendly service.

We also appreciate the valuable information in regards to your stay, we will take this information to make sure to make the necessary changes to ensure positive experiences for our guests, please accept our apologies and hope that on your next visit, we will find a way to show our appreciation

Jorge Garibay / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina

Address: Ave Vista Hermosa s/n | Peninsula de Santiago, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manzanillo resort and marina with accommodations and a variety of amenities. This hotel features wedding venues, a golf course, romantic dining and event space in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Hadas Golf Resort And Marina Hotel Manzanillo
Las Hadas Manzanillo
Las Hadas Mexico
Las Hadas Hotel And Marina
Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.