We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina

Save Saved
You added Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ave Vista Hermosa s/n | Peninsula de Santiago, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 52 hotels in Manzanillo
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Manzanillo with another couple and stayed at the Las Hadas from January 29 to February 5, 2013. The hotel is spectacular. The words character, old world charm, and picturesque come to mind when you see the Las Hadas for the first time. It is built on the side of a hill over looking the bay. The Las Hadas side of the bay is very sheltered so swimming is not a problem. The rooms are spacious and clean. We were given a free upgrade upon our arrival and our room was just a stones throw away from the pool and the lobby. It had a balcony where we spent each morning watching the beautiful sunrise. The El Palmar restaurant was a great place to have breakfast. It is a la carte and the food is fresh and the selection is plentiful. The Los Delfines restaurant is an open air, palapa style restaurant that serves fantastic food and provides great service. When we went deep sea fishing we took a portion of the four Dorados we caught back to the Los Delfines and the chef prepared the most fantastic dinner for us! I can not say enough about the preparation and presentation...it was spectacular! The harbour restaurants are excellent and I would recommend the egg plant pizza and ice cold Dos Equis!

The pool is clean and provides cooling relief during the heat of the day. During the week the hotel is at a quarter of capacity so you don't have to get up before sunrise to secure a place by the pool. However, during the weekends, the hotel is full and this causes some problems. The relaxed, laid back atmosphere during the week is lost to screaming kids and slow service on the weekends. It became hard to find places to lay beside the pool. We became spoilt during the week with great service and having the place pretty much all to ourselves so it was disappointing when the crowds arrived. I would suggest that you participate in day excursions on the weekend to get away from the crowds.

I can not give a review of the Legazpi restaurant because my husband will not wear long pants on a tropical vacation and they would not seat us when we went there...so we went back to Los Delfines which didn't disappoint!

Although we were there on an all inclusive we still had to sign our bills at all the restaurants including the swim up bar. We had known this before we went so were expecting it and it only became a problem on the weekend when it was crowded and service was slow. We had to hunt down our waiter to sign the bill. Make sure that "all included" is stamped on the top of the bill before you sign it or else you could be charged. This only happened to us once and they fixed it right away when we pointed it out. When you are used to going to all inclusives this can be a pain in the butt but when you know about it going in it isn't that big of a deal.

You only get 4 beer ( little Coronitas) a day in your room. If you are like us when we are on vacation...this was not nearly enough...lol we ended up going to the nearest "OXXO" store, which is like a Seven-11, and getting beer to have in the room.

We went on the Sunset Cruise that picked us up right at the marina. It was very nice to see everything from the ocean side and we even had a pirate as captain of the boat. We didn't go snorkelling because we ran out of time but others who did said that it was great.

We went to the flea market on the Saturday by taxi. There is nothing special at the flea market besides the little cheesy souvenirs that you can pick up anywhere in Mexico. However, if you walk around and go in some of the shops two or three blocks from the flea market you will be pleasantly surprised. There is a store on the same side of the street as the flea market (sorry, can't remember the name but it is right beside the Coffee Bean store) that has some beautiful artwork, sculptures and furniture. Well worth the walk. On the other side of the street from the flea market and a little north is a side walk cafe with live entertainment that serves the coldest beer.

Room Tip: Upgrade as soon as you get there so your room isn't too long of a walk. Ask for a room with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director of Sales at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay at Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina Manzanillo, we appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service, we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We also appreciate the valuable information in regards to your stay, we will take this information to make sure it does not happen again.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor’s community
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    145
    71
    39
    29
See reviews for
110
157
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Food is awfully overprice, old and tasteless. I would be very careful to eat it. I saw that the food the people didn't eat on dinner was served for lunch the next day. To get away from this hotel to explore the city would cost you about $10 USD taxi ride each way. And if you pay for "all included" be prepared to drink cheap liquor and horrible service. I believe this place used to be good but now it's just trying to survive and overcharged out of their old good reputation. I have some pictures of their swimming pool, where you could see something that looks like either tanning oil or vomit. It's so disgusting that I designed not to posted.

Do NOT stay here. You will regret.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel. You will regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director of Sales at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Google Translation
Lamentamos mucho su mala experiencia en nuestra Propiedad. Estamos trabajando para la mejora contínua en los aspectos que usted amablemente nos señala.
Gracias por sus comentarios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived Jan. 23 and departed Feb.5. The resort is just like in the photos, although dated, it was clean and well kept. The architecture is amazing. It's a painting contractor's dream come true; paint everything white. Our room was spacious and clean, had a bit of an odour from the bathroom, but kept the exhaust fan on and no problems. The his and her sinks were a nice touch. We upgraded to the Brisas Beach Club, which i think was worth it as we had a fare cut from Transat so it only cost us $10.00 more.We had 4 geckos in our room, 3 babies and a honker about 6 inches long, the wife was squemish at first but kinda got over it. Los Delphines, excellent food, except for the buffet night. A friend and i had the homemade mushroom soup, which would have been excellent except for too much salt in the broth. Delphines is beside the ocean and It was very entertaining watching the small sharks thrashing about chasing their meals.We never had a bad meal there. Their pasta and soups are very good. Legazpi was hit and miss. One night it was awesome, the next time was not good. The Linguine was way overcooked as was the shrimp. You could pull the whole thing out of your bowl with a fork. Other than that, the ambience was very good. The Mexican theme night and supper in the plaza was very good The beach restaurant had smaller food items, but was never bad. We had breakfast served to us in our room one morning out on our patio and that was a very nice touch. Marten was quite the character as was Efrain at the pool bar. Can't imagine working at a resort for 30 years, but hey, you're in Mexico and they have bills to pay and family to support. Some of the younger staff were a little miffed if you didn't tip them, but once they saw how Efrain worked, they would quickly change their attitude. The snorkeling was good at the resort as well on the tour. Got to investigate a ship sunk in 1959. Pretty cool. Went on the catamaran tour, interesting and relaxing.We have friends that live in Barra and were going to take 2 taxis but Jesus at the front hooked us up with Rolando who took us to Barra in his Suburban. Turned out to be the best thing we did instead of the 2 taxi thingy. Rolando speaks very good English and we learned a lot from him about the culture and ways of life there. We stopped at a jalapeno plantation, got to pull them right off the plants and try them out. Also showed us the banana plantation right across the road. He explained everything in detail about the cycles of the plants. Very interesting. Then he took us up to La Manzanilla checked out the crocs, some pretty big boys there, then down to the beach for a couple of cerveza. Rolando also hooked us up for fishing and that was pretty darn good, caught 19 Bonitos and our first mate made us Cerviche and Chechime right on the boat while we were fishing. Both are a raw fish salad but you could not tell it was raw. We met some people from Harris,SK. who wanted to go fishing so i hooked them up with Jesus and Rolando and they had a blast, caught 4 Mahi Mahi and cooked one up at the resort. And poor us, the day in between us fishing and the Harris boys and girls fishing, the guys on the same boat caught a huge Marlin and sailfish. If anyone has an interest in doing different things than what the resort tours offer, PM me and i'll give you more info. This resort is not for the party animal types but is a nice relaxing resort. Many thanks to Guillermo, head of activities for playing a CD i burnt and playing it at the pool. Had lots of compliments from the people around the pool. He is quite the character. And many thanks to Abierto for busting his butt at the Piano lounge as we sat outside every evening. Not used to glass windows at a Mexican resort, everything is usually wide open. One word of caution for anyone with toddlers staying in the Brisas beach Club rooms; there is no fencing around your patio and some of the edging around it is only 6 inches high so be careful. There is a lot of walking and climbing stairs at this resort but we knew that before we went and there is a shuttle to pick you up or drop you off if needed. I think we needed it 12 out of the 14 nights we were there! Some of the staff don't speak very good English, but then i don't speak very good Spanish either, so i find this entertaining, not a handicap. Special thanks to Santana at the front, you made mi esposa's night!

Room Tip: Get the 600 series of the Brisas Beach Club, good view, watch the ocean and container ships move aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director of Sales at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. It is gratifying to know that you spent a nice holiday. We hope to welcome here again very soon. We will be working on the details you let ​​us know.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Las Hadas was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. It is a little old in places but makes up for in character. Some staff have worked there for 30 years. The view is spectacular from your room. The weather is almost guarenteed sunny. The food was good and the service was friendly. We loved the calm pretty beach, we could snorkel anytime or fish anytime. If your looking for night life this is not your place. Very quiet and relaxing. I loved that it wasn't your run of the mill resort. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had the plunge pool room. definately worth the $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director of Sales at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Woow, that sweet comments. We look forward to welcoming you back here in Las Hadas.
In fact we are a place to rest, relax and forget some of the race our daily lives.
We are glad to know that your stay was enjoyable. Please feel free to contact us back as we will be happy to greet you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived on the 30th of Jan and stayed until the 6th of Feb 2013. We knew what we were booking, old resort, no night life on site, quiet but satisfying and that is just what we received.
I recommend checking this and other recent reviews for updates about the resort. The resort seems to read and listen to what were write and make changes when necessary.
Great things, the beach, the beach food, (surprised us), the service staff, the constant cleaning and repairs to keep the resort perfect. The quick response to problems, the peacefulness of the stay. The theme night dinners. The abundance of western Canadians staying there. They‘re fantastic people. Serge, find him, well worth it.
Good Things, the small gym is always empty but clean, it seemed safe at night to walk through the resort, the food in the most part at the only two restaurants and the buffett. The front desk workers and room service.
Bad Things, The resort goes to sleep by 10pm, about 20% occupancy, the trip to see the volcano.
Terrible Thing, the signing of the bill after eating or drinking. Being chased of hunted to sign the bill at an all inclusive club is annoying. Item will be on your bill that you did not order and I was tired of catching it and then being told, why do you care, it’s all inclusive for you anyway. A bill is a bill someone pays in the long run. There were no surprises when we checked out but I wonder who was given 3 free buffet dinners and all that booze on my tab when I paid 1400 a person to stay there in the first place.
We will go again, sooner if the signing ends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director of Sales at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your great comments, we consider it useful to continue improving.
Regarding the signature of the bill for each bar or restaurant, is because we have other hosting packages that include food, or include only breakfast, so our control is important to know what are the actual consumption of each package.
Either way, we are looking for ways to implement a different control to save them inconvenience to our guests who visit us in "all inclusive".
We look like your next visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What an amazing hotel! beautiful rooms. great views and amazing grounds. I have no complaints about this hotel except for thir a la carte restaurant which was not so great. But all the other restaurants were amazing. the beach is wonderful. You can feed the puffer fish right off the beach. Also from the delphines restaurant at night. just toss some bread in the water and you can watch many different kinds of bright, colorful fish. I beach bar is wonderful. burgers and ceasar salad were delicious. Lots of drink selections. Loved never having to move to get a drink. Very relaxing resort. Will be back again!! Oh, and the golf course is incredible!!

Room Tip: Room 1516 was awesome, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director of Sales at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback ... is a pleasure to strive every day to make our guests as you stay satisfied with their visit to the wonderful world of fairies. We will take in mind the comments of our Restaurant Legazpi, I'm sure your next visit will enhance your impression about it. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our second year to Las Hadas and cannot wait to make it 3 years. The people are friendly, food is delicious especially at beach front restuarant Le Delfins. We had a room in the Brisas section with a plunge pool and beach view. What else could one ask for.The room was clean and comfortable. If you are looking for night time entertainment and party life this is not the place for you. Atomosphere is very quiet and laid back. We enjoyed the golf and our caddie Steve, he was knowledgable, professional and a real pleasure to spend 4 hours with. Remember you are in Mexico, life is laid back and different from Canada's rat race. Sit back and enjoy the hotels beautiful architecture it is absolutley breath taking.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs ask for room on lower levels. The staff are happy to drive you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandrina N, Director of Sales at Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Effectively our architecture is amazing!! Thank you for your feedback.
For us at Las Hadas are very important customers like you, who appreciate the rest and relax of our Hotel.
We'll be happy to welcome you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina

Address: Ave Vista Hermosa s/n | Peninsula de Santiago, Manzanillo 28867, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manzanillo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manzanillo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manzanillo resort and marina with accommodations and a variety of amenities. This hotel features wedding venues, a golf course, romantic dining and event space in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Hadas Golf Resort And Marina Hotel Manzanillo
Las Hadas Manzanillo
Las Hadas Mexico
Las Hadas Hotel And Marina
Las Hadas Golf Resort & Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Hadas Golf Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.