We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Falls

Magic Falls
Hotel Flanboyant Huatulco | Santa Cruz Huatulco, Huatulco, Mexico
0445527607226
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Attractions in Huatulco
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Make sure your bring bug spray we all got tons of bites. It's a long haul 1.5 hour ride on a bumpy dirt road up to the falls but worth it once you get there. Lunch was very good. It's a bit of a hike with walking sticks to the falls

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The bus ride was horribly bumpy for about 90 minutes. However, the scenery was gorgeous. The coffee plantation stop was amazing and delicious. The falls are breathtaking, crystal clear, clean(read drinkable) and refreshingly cool. Kids can definitely hike there, but I'd refrain from bringing small children.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Swimming alone in emerald pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We jumped in the crystal clear pools, climbed the rocks and swung from ropes like Tarzan. There were butterflies and we saw many birds including tropical tanagers, orioles and trogons. Our group of six drove to the falls in a private car. The tour groups were just leaving as we arrived so we had the pools to ourselves all afternoon.The trail is somewhat challenging but not daunting. Since we took our own vehicle (2 of the group live in Mexico) and packed a picnic lunch our trip was inexpensive. We are used to driving in rural Mexico so the roads did not bother us. There were many interesting native plants along the road to the falls.
If you go on your own drive across the bridge and take a left, someone from the village will take your entry fee. Continue to the parking lot at the top of the hiking trail. There are walking sticks at the trailhead - take one it will make the walk easier.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Not sure if this is the same as emerald falls but if so, it is a very strenuous excursion. Saint is well worth the effort to get there and the meal is phenomenol but elderly and out of shape people should not attempt

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the bumpy ride!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Personally, we enjoyed our adventurous journey up and down the mountains to the falls. Although the road was narrow, bumpy and long, being able to see more of how the locals live and the forest was well worth the trip. Our first stop was to visit a 'medicine man' and although we do not speak Spanish, others on our tour we bilingual and helped to interpret what was going on. It was entertaining; however Canadian customs would have frowned had we tried to bring back some of the medicinal elixirs being sold. We also visited a coffee plantation for a quick cup of coffee and cookies. Others in our group did not want to visit the butterflies so we headed to the falls which were awesome. We came away with some great photos. Later, we went back to the plantation for an authentic meal of mole chicken, tamarind pork, black beans, rice and cucumber. It was delicious. Although this trip might not be for everyone we had a great time and our tour guide 'Luis' was very entertaining and made sure we felt included as we were the only ones in our van who did not speak Spanish.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Falls also viewed

 
Huatulco, Oaxaca
 

Been to Magic Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.