We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4-star living on a 2-star budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Blanca Huatulco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Blanca Huatulco to your Saves list
Villa Blanca Huatulco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Benito Juarez Esq Zapoteco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“4-star living on a 2-star budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Let's be clear, I do not recommend Huatulco as a destination. However, if you do find yourself there, you cannot do much better than this place for the price. The breakfast is plentiful albeit uneven (pancakes leave a lot to be desired), but there is something for everyone. The beach that is closest (5-min walk away), Chahue, is not the best of the Huatulco beaches, but it is the one that is not only closest but also the one where Villa Blanca has an agreement with one of the beach clubs. The club is not the nicest of the three that are there--little rough around the edges and poor when juxtaposed with the two more polished places adjacent to it--but it gives you what you need (deck chair and umbrella). Club is run by a gregarious man named John Graham: a born storyteller. The water at Chahue can be rough; it is calmer next door at Santa Cruz, but it's also a little dirtier there. Unless you can afford to stay at the mega resorts in Tangolunda (Dreams, Secrets, etc.), then pass Huatulco by and head to Puerto Angel and Mazunte. This is where I was recommended to go by three separate people during my trip (both in Oaxaca and Huatulco).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    86
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
72
152
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The food, the staff, the location, it couldn't be better. 10 minute walk to La crucecita, 5 minute walk to the beach club. The rooms were nice, and had everything we needed, and i didn't think the beds were that bad. Cabs are cheep, but we walked most of the time. We went with another couple and hooked up some of the staff one night for pizza at La Crema bar and could not had a better time, we will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We arrived several days after Dia de los Reyes and almost had the place to ourselves! Clean room, quiet location and convenient to the surrounding towns and beaches. Free wi-fi too! Beds were clean but hard as a rock -just be warned! Now this is no 5 Star resort but you get quite a bit for your money! Staff was very friendly, except for two girls at night "talking back" a little after our third time requesting an additional towel for the room in four hours. The female on during the day was fantastic though and made up for it !! Wish I had gotten her name!
The smells from the kitchen were fantastic. Short walk to the beach but a basic beach club unless you want to pay 30 pesos for the one next door. Clean beach but quite rough for swimming.
One thing I want to say -DO NOT PAY AHEAD OF TIME FOR A CAB RIDE BACK TO THE AIRPORT. They were late and ripped us off by the price. I will never make that mistake again. Except for that one miserable experience with cabs, most cab drivers were fair.
Again if you are looking for a 5 Star resort with everything within the grounds, this is not your place. But I would rate this place 5 stars anyways!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Spacious rooms with a great view made the visit very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was the best we had, complete with coffee, fresh fruit and juice, eggs cooked in different styles, and pancakes. The location is within walking distance of Santa Cruz and Chahue Bay. This place exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Situation of the hotel :
This hotel is well situated at the crossroad ( low traffic) of two main avenues leading to the two towns of Santa Cruz and Crucecita. Both towns are a 5/10 minutes walk. A three minutes walk across the street wil bring you to 2 beachclubs - one is free and the other charges 30 pesos entrance ($ 2.20 CDN). Taxis are numerous and will drive you everywhere for a modet set fee for each destination printed in each vehicle so you don't have to hagle with the driver each time.
The Huatulco area is one of the nicest of all in Mexico and comprises beaches with tourists amenities and a national park with many virgin beaches.

the hotel itself :.
We have been coming here, at the Villablanca, since 1999 and find that this hotel has been consistantly improving.
It consists of a main front wing and two others around a well maintained courtyard. Some rooms on the first floor of the courtyard have their own little patio. (those are our favorites).
The food is equal to any good restaurant in the region and the waiters are attentive and friendly. During our stay, during holidays, the management and personnal went out of their way to organize "fiestas" for Xmas and the New Year. After this high-season period, the hotel resumes its tranquil sedate pace. Restfull, agreable and low key.
If you try the little spanish you know with the staff you will be rewarded with a large beaming smile and couteous service. And yes, a large breakfast is included in the price of the room.
Top notch and the prices are surprisingly low.

Room Tip: the patio rooms as mentioned but there are also suites, some with private whirlpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We've visited Huatulco twice in the last 2 years and have stayed at Villa Blanca both times, and highly recommend it. We had a large, comfortable California king-size bed, air conditioning, wi-fi and a nice bathroom. A very good breakfast buffet comes with the room as well as a very nice pool and sitting area around the pool. This is not your Cancun fancy type place, but rather a comfortable place with some foreigners and many Mexican families. We were there at Christmas time so there were lots of people there, but it wasn't a problem at all. They even had live music around the pool a few of the nights. We stayed on the street side of the hotel, not the pool side, and I would recommend the street side as I don't know how loud the live music would be on the pool side. The room also came with a hair dryer and a basket with lots of toiletries like shampoo, conditioner, lotion, razor, kleenex, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is located out of the city center so we took a taxi to town most nights. We walked back which is safe and took about 15 minutes from the center of town. The hotel is also associated with a 5-10 minute walk from a beach club that has 2 pools and is by the ocean at Chahue Bay. The ocean water is too rough for swimming but the pools are nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is a very nice hotel used mostly by vacationing Mexicans. We stayed poolside after changing rooms which is a must. The place was quiet the first week but changed when the kids got out of school for Christmas. There were about 20 of them in the pool on the weekend and quite noisy in the evenings. Not a big deal though as you get that most places. The rooms were clean,the staff very helpful,the breakfast good with good service. I would stay here again as it is in a great location also with reasonable prices at the beginning of December. It is a great place to learn spanish also as a lot of the staff don't speak very good English. That was a minor inconvenience since it was kind of fun trying to communicate at times.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Blanca Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Huatulco

Address: Blvd Benito Juarez Esq Zapoteco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Blanca Huatulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villablanca Huatulco has an atmosphere of rest with careful details of Mexican architecture and style that stand out in the Bay of Chahue. During your visit you will be provided with warm comfort to experience perfect relaxation during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Blanca Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Blanca Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Hotel Blanca Huatulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Blanca Huatulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.