We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset from the terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sol y Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huatulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Sol y Mar
Save
You added Villa Sol y Mar to your Saves list
Lote 16, Mza 7, Resicencial Conejos, Huatulco 70989, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Huatulco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunset from the terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Shared a beautiful sunset last night with Wayne and Marci at Sol y Mar. The sunset view was spectacular. The company was delightful. The hospitality amazing as always. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the bay. Suite #1 is particularly spacious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
116
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a great holiday in Huatulco staying at the Villa Sol y Mar. The owners, Marcy and Wayne, along with the staff, Elsa and Pedro were delightful. And I might add, Ace, their friendly little dog, who would accompany us when we went on short walks. The accommodations were lovely; clean and comfortable. The view and the pool were fantastic. The location was perfect and we would take taxi's to the various bays or you could walk to a nearby beach just behind the Villa. All in all a most enjoyable stay. We highly recommend the Villa Sol y Mar. You can't go wrong!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4. It was very pleasant with a lovely big shower, view and a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We decided to step outside of our comfort zone and book a bed and breakfast Villa for two weeks. It was the best decision we have ever made. Wayne, Marcy (owners), Ace (their dog) and staff were a delight to be with. We enjoyed the onsite amenities, especially the view. We met wonderful people during our stay and had many laughs. Staying there allowed us to explore the surrounding area by taking many walks (although taxis were readily available) and experiencing the culture. We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Villa Sol y Mar for a week of our two week holiday in the Huatulco area. The minute you set foot on the grounds you feel like you are family. The accommodations are neat and tidy. The pool and views were amazing. Also, and not to be overlooked, Wayne and Marcy (and Ace) were there to help and guide with anything that was needed.

Thanks Wayne and Marcy - D and I are grateful for letting us share your home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellbrook, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Great holiday from start to finish. Wayne and Marcy were the perfect hosts. The view was stunning and the Villa was spotless. Huatulco is a safe place with friendly people and constant sun. The guests' daily conversations around the beautiful round table were very enjoyable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before so we weren't sure of what to expect. The moment we arrived Wayne made us feel at "home". It was Christmas Eve and he took time to show us around Tangolunda as well as the other little villages so that we could get our bearings.
Villa Sol Y Mar is the absolute best place to stay if you're looking for a quiet and relaxed holiday. Elsa and Pedro provided the best breakfast each morning. Elsa your waffles are too good to pass up. The infinity pool was very welcoming at all times of the day and night.The rooms all face the ocean (TV's are not required as the view is stunning day and night)and the ocean breezes provided the best sleep that I've had in years without having to turn on the air conditioning. The beaches in Huatulco are magnificent, with so many to choose from and only 50 pesos away. We snorkelled at all of them just by walking off the beach into the water.
The beach by the villa which is 180 stairs(i didn't count them) up the mountain and then down again to the beach is really very manageable, and well worth the hike.
Thank you so such Wayne and Marcy for making our first time to Huatulco a memorable one, we are hoping to come back next winter with our family.
Nancy and Jerry
Edmonton

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The beautiful pictures are accurate. The villa is lovely and peaceful, and the views are wonderful Wayne and Marcy made us feel welcome in their home. Our spacious room (unit 1) had front and back balconies, giving us options for sun and shade. Breakfast is simple but good, with delicious fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, and waffles. There's a large central refrigerator for guests, as well as a smaller one in each room. We also took advantage of the shared kitchen to make simple meals.
Huatulco is spread out, but taxis are readily available to go to further towns or beaches. There are closer options as well. We hiked up and down the steps to the nearest beach, which was beautiful and deserted. We also took the longish but pleasant walk into Tangolunda, the nearest town, for restaurants and more beaches.
We had a wonderful week at Vila Sol y Mar and recommend it as a base for exploring Huatulco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sol y Mar

Address: Lote 16, Mza 7, Resicencial Conejos, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful ambiance of the Villa Sol y Mar is the ultimate in a relaxing vacation. Every room is designed to capture the tropical breezes and beautiful ocean views. With only five suites, there are no crowds or fighting for space at the private 40'infinity pool. Each of the 5 spacious suites features queen size beds, private bath, mini-fridge, air conditioner, ceiling fan and large private veranda overlooking the ocean. The poolside gathering area is a great spot to visit with other guests while watching the setting sun. You receive a complimentary breakfast and have the opportunity to share the use of the kitchen. The beach access is a couple blocks away from the villa. Your hosts live on site and are available to make sure your holiday is one of the best ever! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Sol y Mar Hotel Huatulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sol y Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.