We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tennis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brisas Huatulco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Las Brisas Huatulco to your Saves list
Las Brisas Huatulco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Tennis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2006

14 of us travelled from London Ontario January 9th-16th. We all had a great time. Very un-developed part of Mexico - the nicest I've seen. Rooms were spectacular, nicest room we've ever had in our travels. Getting around the resort was not a problem, if you like to walk. If you are lazy - not the resort for you. The tennis Pro Marco was amazing. Great lesson each morning for free! He wouldn't even take a tip - but on the last day we gave him $20 U.S. which he took happily. The food could be improved on - but I have had worse. Did the 7 bays tour - lots of motion on the ocean - it was just ok. I would recommend this area and this hotel no problem.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    488
    199
    75
    55
See reviews for
365
488
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

My Family and I stayed at the las Brisas on the 12-19. I am 15 an loved it. I was reading some other peoples reviews ans they said teenagers will be bored! Well maybe at night time but i sure enjoyed every minute of my stay! The entertainment crew was soo fun! We played ebach volley ball everyday! We laughed and had fun! They also had other activities goin on as well. ping pong tournements water areobics in the pool football or soccer at night. There is casino night when they give you fake money and you play games and such.. if you win more money then you can tade it in for prizes and if you don't win then you might have to jump in the pool haha! There was a kareoke night and that was very fun! Lets Just say Me and Marco are amazing singers!(not) haha. Anyways the enertainment crew was awsomee! Now don't get me wrong I feel that there needs to be more night life but they are trying. The resort has only been open for 2 years. The beach boys down at the far beach were awsome to. Always ready to help you with anything. There is kayaks availible, windsurfs and catermarans. The beach boys are always there early and are always wiling to talk to you and tell you a little bit about Hautulco. The hotel is very clean. Eerytime I was in the buffet I saw someone washing the floors and such. The food is not that bad. Many people complain but if you are expecting what you eat at home then don't go. You are in Mexico expect mexican food!!! It bothers me when people complain about little things like that! Deal! Its not BAD! The beaches are fonominal but the water color isn't like the carribean! Oh well the beaches rock! The rooms are very nice. Clean always and very large. Oh Man I just loved the bathroom,very big, the shower is soo cool! My family and I were so busy that we never got to try the alacarte restaurants but we heard form friends that the mexicana was the only good one. Now for the town. La Crucecita. I felt very safe there and it was quite clean. Some people speak english and alot don't. If that bothers you then stay home! If a Mexican person came to Canada and saay went to Calgary do you think that the majority of people will be able to speak spanish to them? NO! Give it a rest you are in a spanish speaking country! I felt that the shops and stores were quite cheap didn't have to barter much. Much cheaper than cancun. People were always freindly and in my mind not to pushy. My family and i rented a funny car from in front of the Barcello. It was sure funny alright! But quite fun we got to see a few of the bays around and they are beautiful! We stopped at Magauey and ate a lobster and shrimp lunch at the El costeno. Very Very good! The salsa was fabulous! well in not so many words I had A AMAZING time hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

Room had an oceanview, and we watched the sunrise from our bed every morning. Stayed in Estrellas- 3rd floor-big bathrooms with 2 sinks, shower with hot water, comfortable beds, and clean.
Didn't do any tours with hotel- did one with Hurricane Divers- amazing-$50 US for 1/2 day of snorkeling(included gear, drinks, and canadian guide). Went into town to eat 3 times-Val el mar in Santa Cruz, and another one across from the Gala- one in Santa Cruz was better. Very Hot there! I pre-tanned, and put 30 SPF on each day, lots of people looked burnt, and had heat stroke.
Check out massages there- got good reports from people that used them- hut off the beach(main beach).
3 pools -lap pool 50 meters, kids pool, and adult pool. Lots of stairs and walking, but you can always take a shuttle- there is lots of them. Staff always willing to help you out even though they don't speak a lot of english. Good for families, couples looking for relaxing times. Not a lot of night life, and the activity staff try to get things going(however give up when no one wants to join in)Golf is close by-$2.50Us by taxi, cost is under $60US for a round of golf- tough course-water hazards and trees in the middle of the greens.
Had a great time and will return to the area, as it is honest, friendly, and throughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2006

6 of us just returned from a week at Las Brisas. The hotel property is probably one of the prettiest ones we have ever stayed at. The water and beach is very clean. The snorkelling right off the beach was just as good as the place we went on a boat tour one day. Another added perk is the wildlife. There were a ton of birds, iguanas, and some furry critters about 2 feet tall crossed our path one night.

The rooms are very clean, and the beds are not as hard as the usual Mexican hotel beds. We were in the Mar villa, and had a spectacular ocean view. The shower was huge and there were coffee makers in the room. The mini bar is stocked daily with one soda, two waters and two beers. We thought if we tipped the mini bar guy we might get a few more cervesas. Well, it did't work for us, but one of the other couples was getting up to a 6 pack a day.

The food wasn't too bad by buffet standards, but as usual it gets pretty repetitive after a week. The service staff was very friendly, and really attentive, especially if there was tipping involved.

The only reason I would not reccommend this hotel is the lack of night life. If you are young at heart and like to go all night, this would not be the place for you. We went to the disco one evening, and had some pretty good laughs watching people walk in, see how empty is was, and walk right out. Mind you, we also went into La Crucicita a couple of nights, and really couldn't find any night life there either.

So, in recap, if you want a relaxing vacation, in a beautiful location, with very friendly people, I would definitely reccommend Las Brisas.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

My boyfriend and I were there 29th Dec - 5th January. We had a great holiday and came home nice and relaxed, but wished we could have stayed longer! Spent most of the time on the beach near the Mexican restaurant, where we could go snorkelling right off the beach. There is a reasonable reef with many fish, worth bringing your own snorkelling gear if you have it and like to go into the sea often to cool off! Pools were fine, although we prefered the beach to get away from the music.

We only did one tour which was the Bay Tour. Fairly good, you go on a large boat and stop in a couple of bays to snorkel (you can hire the equipment) and another bay for lunch (which you have to pay for separately). Nice to get out the hotel for a day.

New Years Eve they put on an excellent evening with a live band, good buffet and excellent service. Food in general was reasonably good. The Asian and Morrocon A la Carte restaurants were excellent, Mexican was OK. It is worth taking US$1 bills with you for tips, not a lot to us, but greatly appreciated by the staff. Tip the drink boy on the beach a couple of times during your trip and you wont have to move!

We went into La Crucecita twice for food for a change. We would highly recommend Sabor de Oaxaca (Mexican food!) and Il Giardino del Papa (Italian). The food and atmosphere at both were excellent. Also did a bit of shopping in the town. The town is worth a visit just to wander around and soak up the atmosphere, and is perfectly safe, taxis were $3 each way.

We were in the Estrelles Village, rooms were nice, comfortable and large. Yes there are a lot of steps, but it didnt bother us, the higher you go the better view you get! If you do have problems with mobility though this might be a problem, but I believe they have some disabled rooms and they have golf carts to ferry people around in so you dont have to walk everywhere if you dont want to!

Yes we would go again, but we rarely go to the same place twice as we like to experience different places! But we would recommend this place to anyone.....

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2006

Just back from a week at Las Brisas. What was good? The grounds are lovely, the staff are friendly and eager to please, the food at the buffet very good. Kim, the Sunwing rep was very helpful. Weather was gorgeous every day and the setting is beautiful. Not so good.... got tired of taking a shuttle to my room all the time (although the kids loved it and the shuttles were always available) I, and one of my children got travellers tummy despite being very careful about not drinking the water. The rooms were a bit 'tired' although very clean and the bedding and towels are very new looking. All in all, we had a good time but I think I would have been happier with a smaller resort that was less spread out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

We were in Huatulco in November, which is off-season. The weather was perfect, the beaches beautiful, great snorkeling, no noise and good restaurants. We kept wondering how the whole area stayed afloat (it IS subsidized by the state), as there were so few tourists and most of them from Mexico, absolutely no one on the golf course, very little traffic, etc.--which made it heavenly, for us! We also found Las Brisas, almost virtually, heavenly. Our room in the Estrellas section was all white--floor, ceiling, furniture--and the huge window brought the beautiful blue sea and sky inside. It took some getting used to--you felt like you were floating on the bed--and then it was sublime. We found the help to be mostly wonderful--charming, almost shy in some ways, non-English-speaking for the most part--but more than willing to do whatever you needed with great good humor (a smile and small tip help!). The food we had there wasn't good--so we went into La Crucecita and elsewhere to eat (best: Ve el Mar, Terracotta, Il Giardino de Papa, Oasis for breakfast). We also stayed in Crucecita 3 nights for the feeling of the town. The people of Huatulco are fantastic--friendly, open, but not constant sales pitchers or tourist hostile. I love this place and will go back--back to Las Brisas as well, to float in that white cloud and breathe in the sea. I'd like to keep Huatulco a secret for another decade.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Brisas Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Huatulco

Address: Bahia Tangolunda Lote 1, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#9 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Brisas Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Brisas Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Las Brisas Hotel Huatulco
Brisas Huatulco Los
Las Brisas Huatulco Mexico
Huatulco Las Brisas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Brisas Huatulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.