We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful...April 2 till 9th” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Santa Cruz 303 | Bahia de Santa Cuz, Huatulco 70989, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Huatulco
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful...April 2 till 9th”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ok...here it goes

- Sunwing....great... Good food and on time.

- check in...from the plane we were the only ones, check in with drink in hand, shall we say anymore. My four and two couples from Toronto were the only out of country guests I do believe

- rooms...bed was Mexican hard. We ended up in 226 with veranda...a bit noisy but at 11 pm they town goes to sleep.. Our second room overlooked pool, my daughters were also comfortable

- hotel bar...they kept me happy

- beach club...five minute shuttle, great service. The ocean was also red flagged but the beach was great to walk on and get your feet wet. Pool was excellent as was the service and The food was above average.The beach at Santa Cruz was a 5-10 minute walk and very easy to swim in, just avoid the waiters from the restaurants. Hotel pool was also nice to cool down in

- food at hotel had choices each night, again my daughters only had one day where it was an issue. Make sure you have Fanny make you omelette or cheese quesadilla...fantastic

Check out day, were fed and they let us keep room an extra 60 minutes, no charge

Ricardo is great, staff always helpful and the place was spotless

This was def. a Mexican experience during the spring break there...but on the Sunday and Monday it emptied out. Transportation via taxi, 25 pesos to Super Che or into La Creciatia ( sorry spelling is terrible) , you could walk but it is very hot. Main town square is great to walk around

Very safe...any worry the cops with AK 47 make you feel safe

I will go back to Huatulco, maybe try a condo but wouldn't hesitate to stay at Castillo

Room Tip: no spa or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    140
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
77
141
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Over all we loved our stay at the Castillo. The hotel staff was very friendly We moved after two days to a room with a veranda. Loved the location. We walked everywhere. I really want to see this hotel survive. I have some minor issues. In our first room I thought the pillows smelled.But in our second room they were fine.The towels are all ragged. But they were clean and the rooms were very clean,and the air worked well. My main problem with the food is with the temperature. The hot foods were not usually very hot . They had spaghetti one night which was really good but put the sauce in a unheated serving bowl. We relied on the bar for water. They ran out for about two days,and during that time had a shortage of cold beer. But most of the time the beer was ice cold in bottles and really good. A suggestion for supper also would be to have some lettuce salads.Also coffee could be hard to get early in the morning. Great Coffee though.They need to get a little more organized. But I forget we are in Mexico. I would go back and miss it already. One little guy mopped the floors from morning to night . In a few areas they could use some paint. We never saw a bug.The waitresses were all very sweet. We tip often and hope all visitors comply. They make so very little. Oh a little more entertainment would be good but for what we paid I say again I would go back. I just missed being on the ocean.

Room Tip: We enjoyed 6 am on the veranda watching the sun come up and the town wake up .the rooms are on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I won't repeat what others have stated very well; i just want to say that we usually only stay in 4 + stars and we found the Castillo (although it has a few faults) has some major advantages over more expensive hotels. You get to know your fellow vacationers because you see the same people everyday, in the bar, at the beach, etc. The Beach Club is fantastic and there are none of those irritating towels on the chairs at 6AM! The food is adequate, generally for supper there was chicken, fish and either beef or pork. Try the scrambled eggs and ham for breakfast - best ever.
I will warn you that if your not into spicy food plan to go out on Friday & Saturday nights as these meals cater to the Mexicans that come for the weekend - talk to these wonderful Mexicans, a lot of them speak English; broaden your horizons your in THEIR COUNTRY.
We found the Cafe Huatulco in the centre of the park (about 2 blocks from hotel) is open till 11:30PM and has fantastic homemade desserts - plan to share a piece of cake as they are super large. Either take a collapsible cooler or buy one at the Superche ($6.00) and then ask the bar guy for ice - you can now have cold water in your room as there is no frig. Everything is very close - it's not like some hotels were you have to walk for 20 mins. to get another beer so take a drink with you to your balcony and go back and get another when needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just back from Hotel Castillo Huatulo. Very nice hotel facing the Port of Santa Cruz. Rooms very clean , Air conditioning silent and efficient . Staff very friendly.
Food ok: breakfast fresh fruits, Mexican food and eggs any style you want. Lunch at the beach club is great, dinner at hotel buffet style OK. Choice of food not as big as 5 stars hotels but you can order a la carte.
Beach club of the hotel is amazing, beautiful and clean . It is 5 minutes with the hotel shuttle bus which leaves every half hour or 15 minutes walk, swimming in the ocean not easy because of strong currents and undertoe.
We would definitely return to this hotel for its friendliness and quaintness of the staff.
Went to frente el mar restaurant on Santa Cruz beach for dinner. Food was cold , lobster and shrimps were not fresh and owner rude after we complained. Do not recommend this restaurant.
Weather always very hot and sunny

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our second time to Huatulco and we will definitely go back for a third time. We had stayed on Tongalunda Bay the first visit and so thought we'd try the Marina area and be closer to town this time. This Hotel was very clean and most of the staff was friendly, some more than others. The food was acceptable, but buffet style is pretty boring after a day or two, so we went to town every night for dinner, which we would highly recommend! The beach club was really great and the servers were very attentive and friendly - you can order off a menu there as well, which no one told us, but we eventually that figured out on our own. You can walk every where and if you don't feel like it the Hotel has a shuttle to the beach and cab rides to La Crucecita are $2.50. Our only complaints about the Hotel are that there was no fridge in our room, the Hotel bar is crazy small and old, and the pillows on the beds were absolutely horrible - we almost went to town and bought some! They actually hurt your ears! These are all small things and they certainly wouldn't stop us from going back! For the price we paid to stay at this Hotel, it was just fine.

Room Tip: The patios on the street side are really large, but its noisy because they are building a new condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobourg,on.ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Well, first time to Huatulco, and loved it. We found the Costello very nice,located in Santa Cruz and centrally located. A short cut to La Crucecita is located just on the north side of the resort, there is a dirt road where there planing a new shopping area that go's over the hill to La Crucecita, a nice walk early in the morning. A taxi to the same place is 25 pesos. The food was very good , water was hot, and the A/C worked very good. I stayed in rm.509, which is the out building away from the main building, nice and quiet and large room w/jacuzzi . I will be staying at the Costello next time also, only next time will be for 2 weeks not 1 . A short trip by shuttle bus put's you at Chahue beach and club house which is beautiful. I wish i was still there. LOL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

In the morning you wake up, have a rinse to wash off the warmth of the night and head down to the dining area for breakfast. A mix of fresh canteloupe, papaya, and pineapple, followed by chips and salsa, black beans, some scrambled eggs and french toast would usually do the trick for me before packing our stuff to head to the beach.

It's a five minute ride on the shuttle bus from the Hotel Castillo Huatulco to Bahia de Chahue. Once there you make your way through the entrance and past the volleyball court and swimming pool in search of a palapa near the ocean where you can set up shop and drink marguerita's to your heart's content. Reading, napping, sun tanning and playing in the water all usually take place before lunch which is set out in a large buffet around 1pm. I grew fond of the fish, with rice, carrots and broccoli on the side. If you ask for it you can get some chips and guacamole. The servers are all very nice and amiable and know a little english. We also knew a little spanish. "Cerveza", and "banos" are very important.

The beach wraps up around 5pm so you either walk or take the shuttle bus back to the hotel depending on how you feel. Usually we'd grab a shower from there and head over to Cafe Huatulco just past the market for a cafe con leche, a nice little spot out of doors among the palm trees on a cobblestone patio. When the sun set you knew it was dinner time. The same set up at the hotel only reverse from breakfast. Most nights a fine mix of Mexican cuisine, but other nights you'd have the option of a roast beef and potatoes kind of dinner.

Usually we'd saddle up at the hotel bar drinking mezcal with a beer chaser while a solo singer strummed flamenco style singing our lives with words we couldn't understand without a translator. Thankfully it didn't matter. All in all we had a great time in the company of a great crowd of Mexican and Canadian travellers. Wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Blvd Santa Cruz 303 | Bahia de Santa Cuz, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castillo Huatulco hotel & beach club, located in the main Bay of Santa Cruz, just a few steps from the handicraft market, area of banks and the main dock of cruises and tours, car rental and travel agency and only 5 minutes from the Centre of the Crucesita. 112 rooms, including: standard rooms with two double beds, rooms Junior with two double beds and a King Size, rooms Juniors and room Master Suites; Beach Club, two Restaurants, two Bars, two Swimming Pools, Children's area featuring all inclusive plans and plan E.P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Huatulco
Hotel Castillo Huatulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.