We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocana del Rio Copalita Archaeological Zone

Bocana del Rio Copalita Archaeological Zone
Blvd. Benito Juarez, near Playa La Bocana and the Copalita River, Huatulco, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$65*
and up
Ranked #12 of 27 Attractions in Huatulco
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had a wonderful time walking through this site. The museum is small but very well done. The interesting part for me was the walk through the whole site. The view is unbelievable of the Rio Copalita as it runs into the ocean. I was by myself and one of the employees who lives in the area walked me around and explained the archeological sites to me. He was so sweet. He even came looking for me when I took a little longer than I should have on the walk. I think this is an excellent choice to visit for anyone who likes archeology or just likes to walk and soak up nature. Again--the views are awesome.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This site has been very well built. Not everything has been excavated but I can see that they will be done well when it does happen. Don't miss the lookout, it is a tough slog, but well worth the effort!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eco site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We did this one day on the way back from Copalita. It was 8 dollars each to visit...honestly, it was just ok. It's a bit of a hike and up hill. You do get to see the beach and cool off at the top. Take water!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobourg,on.ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a last minute decision , and enjoyed it thoroughly , i would suggest getting a tour guide(Marco) as we would have been lost without one, there is so much history that he explained to us , that it made the trip that more interesting . Make sure you take the trail up the hill to view the ocea, and have your camera, very beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladner
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs more time to develop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent a morning here. A few interesting ruins have been uncovered. The trail to the ocean front is worth it. Spectacular view. Going the other way though is about a 15 minute hike with nothing at the end of it. Would suggest using a guide as the museum has no english at all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocana del Rio Copalita Archaeological Zone also viewed

 
Huatulco, Oaxaca
Huatulco, Oaxaca
 

Been to Bocana del Rio Copalita Archaeological Zone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocana del Rio Copalita Archaeological Zone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.