We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great people, mediocore restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Conejos, Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great people, mediocore restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We spent seven days at the Huatulco Secrets for our honeymoon. Our room was the preferred king suite in building four. The rooms were comfortable and spotless. Maid service was fantastic.

The pool was great. I did notice some slight mildew spot (very small), as described in other reviews, but nothing to be gross out by, a couple of barely visible spots that I most likely would not have noticed but for the other reviews. We must have been there on a slow week because we did not have to play the towel game at all even though we typically went to the pool around ten. The entertainment crew was awesome and did a great job of getting everyone involved with volleyball, etc. Service at the pool bar was fast with good quality beer and liquor. The pool waitstaff was excellent. We spent the majority of our time at the busier pool which was still quiet. If you wanted near silence two additional pools were available and very peaceful.

Room service was quick and very tasty with a limited menu.

The concierge and front desk were very helpful. They made calls for us on more than one occasion to confirm reservations and airport transfers. They went above and beyond in that respect spending about fifteen minutes to correct an issue with our transfer company (seperate company).

My one complaint, and the only reason I rate the hotel four stars, was the service at the restaurants. It seemed like they took a team approach to waiting the tables and at times you could not tell whom your waiter was. This team waiter approach lent itself to confusion and a lack of follow through. The food in the restaurants was good and high quality, but not what i would expect or have had before in a high end resort. To be clear, we did not have a bad meal, but ended up eating room service a few times because the food was just as good and the ambiance of the restaurants was nothing great.

Secrets appeared to be the best AI in Huatulco so I will most likely return unless something better is built in the area. Overall, you will not be disapointed in the hotel or the service, just don't expect it to be a great culinary experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    424
    147
    52
    15
See reviews for
108
1,136
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Battleford, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Secrets came over to our Dreams resort and took us on a tour of Secrets. It is nice and secluded adults only resort. Huge beach to walk on as well as several pools to go for a dip in. Some of the bottom floor rooms have a swim out pool for those who want privacy. All of the restaurants are al la cart so men need to wear nice pants and shirts. Women have to dress up too, but we have a little more wiggle room when it comes to dressing up lol.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Secrets for two weeks at the end of April. The resort was very nice, we were pleased with our room, the view, the ocean and the service. We were in building 4 floor 3. Our view was excellent although was a bit loud in the morning due to the music at the pool. A song played every morning at 9am (loudly) so if you want to sleep in request a room on the other side of the resort. The food was good, the spa was amazing - we booked two massages and enjoyed each one. Overall we loved the resort and the weather was hot and everything we wanted in a vacation. We liked the daily report of what was going on in the resort such as; restaurants that were open for dinner and spa deals. - Spa deals, they give you coupons upon check in - you are better off requesting a discount at the spa as the coupons are less than some/most of the daily discounts. We did not use our coupons at all and received better daily discounts such as 25, 30 and 35 percent off. As the second week came around we started to see the flaws. It seemed the staff had seen us there for a week already and decide to wait on the newer guests coming in instead of us. The Asian restaurant has tables on the floor, with a hole for your feet, I did not notice there was a hole and fell into it, twisting my ankle. Be aware of that!! We were disappointed with the Amstar group that books the tours in the lobby. We asked to book into the coffee plantation tour and he said since we are going so far up to the mountains he recommends we couple it and see the waterfalls up there as well. Thinking we booked a coffee tour + waterfall tour we were extremely disappointed when we never got a coffee tour at all. Disappointed that we asked for one thing and he sent us on something completely different. Had we have known this we probably would not have gone on the tour at all - very annoyed with Amstar - would recommend booking your own tours. The first week was busy and the resort had lots going on and many restaurants open, the second week was very slow, not many people at the resort. The second week was slim pickings for restaurants as they only had a couple open. We did not upgrade to the preferred club and are glad we did not as we had contemplated doing so. The preferred club were all on the bottom floors which meant there was no view of the ocean from there room. Their balconies were very close to the pool and not private at all. I believe we saw maybe 5 people in the "preferred club lounge" and no one using their Jacuzzi outside. Would recommend not upgrading at this resort. Last negative that I would want to raise awareness of is the room keys - it is not a short walk to the lobby and we had talked to the front desk about late checkout the day we were leaving. They said yes no problem for an extra hour and if we wanted more than that we would have to pay for it. We took the extra hour, we had to be out of the room by 1pm. We packed up and went for a quick lunch before grabbing our bags and checking out. As we got back to the room our key had been deactivated, we walked all the way up the lobby - a little annoyed - and they said "yes all the keys are deactivated at noon unless you request a new key the night before" we were annoyed because we had been up there the night before and when we requested late checkout no one had mentioned this. The front desk staff knew we were annoyed and seemed to care less, the longer the trip went on the less the staff seemed to accommodate. Overall Huatulco was amazing, very warm and less touristy than other destinations in Mexico, really enjoyed the trip and the resort, although would recommend one week or ten days next time as there was not a lot to do and the service seemed to be less impressive as the staff saw us there for longer than most of the guest. Will try another Secrets Resort as the rooms and resort were gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message. We are pleased to know that you liked our service and installations, and we appreciate that you are sharing it through our Trip Advisor account.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again to our resort.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Most of the reviews here are spot on and can be trusted. We stayed April 12th to 19th. It was very hot! The pools are nice but the activity pool with the swim up bar does have a lot of black growth on the tiles, didn't stop us from enjoying. The service was the best, all the employees were friendly and hard working. We had a swim out room in building 1 and loved it, we could go to the beach or pools if we wanted but still had the option of our semi private pool. The privilege club was nice but not great. All the bars were stocked with top shelf booze, just ask. The food was very good but not great, the biggest turn off was the air conditioning in the restaurants, I don't mind the dress code but if I have to wear long pants and a dress shirt the air should be cooler then 80 degrees. Because of this we ate outside or ordered room service more then we wanted to. The shade at the pool issue was not an issue for us, we always found a spot where we wanted to be. We saw many people who needed an umbrella and they just asked and one was brought out right away. All in all, the resort is very nice, the people are great and the food is good. Entertainment is blah and there is nothing to do after 11:00. We booked the 3 levels tour and loved it, you get to see real Mexico and learn a lot and bought some great coffee. We also went into both Santa Cruze and La Crucieta and bought some very nice table clothes. Ask the taxi driver to take you to the textile factory, not the stores. We also chartered a boat with Gilberto on the beach and we saw sea turtles dolphins, sting rays and even though everyone said it was too late in the year we saw Hump Back Whales! The highlight of the trip! We love Huatulco, this was our second trip and we may return one day, would we stay at Secrets again? Not sure, hopefully they make a few changes.

Room Tip: Building one on the first floor has swim out suites with easy access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message. We are pleased to know that you liked our service and installations, and we appreciate that you are sharing it through our Trip Advisor account.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back again to our resort.

Best regards,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

At first my husband and I booked at the sister hotel Dreams.
Two weeks before the trip we received a call from the agency offering to change to Secrets.
As Secrets is an Adults only resort, we decided to accept the offer.
The initial offer was actually a downgrade in room since we had bought the "preferred club services" and the one they were going to give us was a normal one.
After some negotiation, we managed to get the same room class and the preferred services (if you want to avoid queuing at the front desk, we recommend you get it)

The positive surprises:
- This is actually a very nice resort, well planned and every room has a see view.
- We loved the rain effect shower, my husband says it was a water fair!!
- The pools are magnificent with space for everyone and some of them have infinity style borders looking into the ocean, which is amazing.
- Prices are reasonable.
- This is an all inclusive, so we did not expect a lot of the food and drinks quality, but they were perfectly decent (you should try the mole chilaquiles at breakfast in the market place restaurant).
- Staff is friendly and attentive. Be sure to tip them, though.
- The resort has its own bay, so you don't get the quantity of peddlers on the beach as other places.

The negative sides:
- They give you a username and password for the wi-fi but don't tell you there is only signal at the sky bar and front desk, and carrier signal is not existent elsewhere, so unless you have a satellite phone, you will be cut off from the world.
- The WC at the room has glass doors, so if you want some privacy, you have to send your roommate to the balcony.
- For a hotel this size, you would expect them to have a car rental in-place, but they don't, so if you want to rent a car, you should do it at the airport.
- At the convenience store American Express is not accepted.
- Temperature in Huatulco is extremely high, and you feel like dying every time you get into the non air conditioned lift, and you have to take the lift at least 10 times a day. Also the restaurants air conditioned is not enough to keep you cool.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Secrets Resort has certainly evolved since our first stay in January 2012, soon after it opened. The landscaping has filled in beautifully – palm trees that were shrub-size back then look like mature trees now and tropical flowers abound. There are more options for eating outside, including Mexican and Italian-themed buffets in the courtyard outside the Market Café as well as tropical-themed buffets next to the pool. We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed these dining options several times. We found the grounds, rooms, beaches and pools to be clean and thoroughly appreciated the outstanding ocean views.

Highlights of dining at the resort include the Spanish coffee at Cin Cin’s, the Chateaubriand at Bordeaux and the coffee and French toast at the Market Café. With its fabulous ocean view, Castaways was a favorite for lunch, but a disappointment at dinner. The first night I was served a tough, somewhat fatty sirloin steak instead of the New York steak I ordered. The waiter insisted that what I received was a New York steak, according to Mexican standards, so I let it go. A few nights later, I ordered a T-bone and once again received a sirloin. This time I sent it back as there is no arguing the difference between those two cuts. I heard other patrons had similar mix-ups during the dinner hour. As well, moments after I informed the Maître d’ of my allergy to fish and seafood, I received a complimentary shrimp cocktail. The waiter was very embarrassed and I was not very impressed. No harm done, however, and I chalked it up to a language-related misunderstanding.

The dress code for the restaurants is published in the resort’s daily newsletter. Be forewarned that men will not be admitted to eat dinner inside the restaurants if they are not wearing long pants. (Sadly, I saw jeans a couple of times.) For the first week, men could wear shorts when dining at an outside table, but this changed to a requirement for long pants during our second week. I suggest being prepared for both, with dress, Bermuda-length shorts being a good option most of the time for outside dining. The ladies always looked fashionable in bright sundresses or cocktail dresses, pretty sandals, long skirts and gowns or smart-casual capris.

The resort has added a lot more umbrellas to the pool and beach areas since 2012, but not all are fixed properly into concrete stands. One afternoon the wind picked up and blew several umbrellas out of their stands, injuring two people that I know of. The pool boys tried to close various umbrellas, but sometimes guests opened them again, failing to understand the hazard. I trust that the managers are working to remedy this problem. At the very least, signs in English and Spanish could warn people of the hazard, just as they are warned when ocean conditions are unsafe for swimming.

During our April visit the roof over the Barefoot Grill near the pool became unstable and the grill was closed. Then the newly framed roof and protective screen collapsed one windy afternoon. No one was hurt, but work halted and a temporary bar and grill was set up in another area near the pools. One afternoon workers harvested mature coconuts from the trees, sliced them in half and served coconut milk beverages to anyone who wanted them. It was fun and interesting to watch the work.

The Sky bar was indeed a great place to meet new friends and get to know them better. The live entertainment was excellent – everything from golden oldies to folk to Elvis to Latino. Many couples, including us, enjoyed the opportunity to dance together under the stars or watch the moon rise over the ocean.

I used the business centre several times (no extra cost) and appreciated the availability of several up-to-date PCs in a cool, air-conditioned environment. My husband used the gym a few times until it got too busy. The little gym is equipped with a couple of treadmills and stationary bikes, as well as a variety of weights. I must say that I was impressed by the number of guests who worked out regularly and stayed in shape despite the heat and plentiful temptations to indulge one way or another.

We signed up for the catamaran cruise to nearby bays and were treated to an awe-inspiring display of dolphins leaping from the water and swimming near the boat. Some people snorkelled during one of our stops but said they didn’t see much sea life; in fact, they mentioned that the snorkelling was more interesting along the reef opposite the resort.

We intended to re-visit the nearby town of La Crucecita but changed our plans when another guest reported public demonstrations and the presence of armed officers. This occurred during Easter week and things apparently returned to normal within a few days.

Would we return to Secrets in Huatulco? Absolutely. Our preference would be to go in January or February when the temperature is in the low rather than the high 30s. Yes, we encountered a few glitches, but that can happen anywhere, at home or abroad. On the whole, the friendly staff worked diligently and energetically to make our visit fun and memorable. The location is spectacular, and the resort is beautifully designed to accommodate spending time with other guests or friends. We met some fascinating people during our vacation and that remains a major highlight of our 2014 return to Secrets.

Room Tip: Building 5 is well located, with great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a very nice hotel for this area. I think compared to some of the others in the area this is about as good as gets in Hautulco. We were very happy with our room, it was clean and comfortable. I have to say I was not overwhelmed by any means but yes it is nice, but thats only because ive stayed at far better places. The food was alright, they defiantly try there best to make it a pleasant experience.
The service on the other hand I found not great at all, if we didnt tip constantly we weren't getting a drink. The drinks were not great at all, watching them wash all the dirty plastic cups in a plastic tub at the swim up bar was a Huge turn off for me. No dishwasher, just a rinse and reuse? OMG I watched some pretty unsanitary things go down at the swim up bar. We drank beer from a can only after that. This needs the attention of the management immediately, cause people Will get sick.
Anyhow It was very quiet, and the staff seemed friendly and tried hard to accommodate even though most don't speak english.
Overall, it was nice, relaxing, weather was very Hot and consistent and felt safe.
Speaking with others, we heard the same sort of feed back.

Room Tip: They all looked nice, all have ocean views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your message and staying at our resort in your past vacations. We will take in account your observations and take the necessary measures needed (especially regarding to your comments on our Food & Beverages service).

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets and we hope to see you again.

We wish you a pleasant day and week,

Best regards.

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Address: Bahia de Conejos, Lote 8, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Family Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Secrets Huatulco Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.