We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's No 1 and they know it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Gallos

Los Gallos
Corner of Carrizal and Palma Real | La Crucecita, Huatulco, Mexico
9585870139
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 117 Restaurants in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Mexican traditional food, with the best quality and taste of the region, with traditional Mexican spices and products, visit us and know the taste of Mexico-Oaxaca.
Mississauga, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's No 1 and they know it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The sign outside will tell you it's the No 1 eating spot. It's really like a large hot dog stand with tables and chairs but it's as good as everyone says. The chicken soup is fantastic. The owner is fantastic and we were offered free drinks to finish our meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    20
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is an amazing place to eat in Huatulco as not only is the food delicious but the family that runs it is incredible - super friendly, great service and all in all great people. I had the chicken enchiladas verdes and my husband had the enmoladas. So good!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collioure66190
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A little gem for a quick bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We keep hearing about the chicken soup at Los Gallos and finally, after a long hot day, went for supper last night. Brilliant! Before we'd nibbled on the crispy tortilla chips and all the different sauces (chilli hot, chilli and avo, chilli, onion and pineapple), the said soup arrived choc-a-bloc with chicken, avocado, hardboiled egg and other veggies. All fresh ingredients and tasty. Charming service by the owner and his congenial family.
This is a simple place, open to the street but very clean. I imagine everything else on the menu is just as good as the chicken soup but the cherry on the top of this economic but satisfying meal, was a shot of mezcal or tequila with a plate of orange slices to go with it. Delicious. I asked the proprietor for the brand of tequila - I have Jimador in the cupboard - and he brought out the bottle. We'll buy that next time we go to the shops. All in all, a great experience and one we'll do again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Meal and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The owner of this restaurant is very friendly and the food was excellent. We had the Chicken soup and fajitas and everything is fresh. We also got a free shot of Tequila that was a surprise. Not open Mondays as we found out as we try to go there for a second time

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Eating with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the kind of place that you brag is "The Real Mexico" - plastic chairs, a bar around the edge filled with locals eating their dinners, homemade soups with chunks of sliced veggies and tortillas and other specialties with various salsas. We loved the chili, onion and pineapple salsa that we got with our food and the service was jovial and attentive. We were offered free tequila as well - you can tell the owner wants to keep his high rating on trip advisor. We enjoyed the place but found the food to be better elsewhere. In terms of value for money, though, this place can't be beat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Gallos also viewed

 

Been to Los Gallos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Gallos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.