We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas In Huatulco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Huatulco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Real Huatulco to your Saves list
Quinta Real Huatulco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Benito Juarez Lote 2 Zona Hotelera, Huatulco 70989, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas In Huatulco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family and I spent Christmas at this beautiful hotel. From the moment we arrived (offered fresh coconut ice-cream) until we departed we were treated like honored guests. The staff is truly attentive and will bend over backwards to accommodate any request. The food is wonderful (don't miss the breakfast)! The rooms are very comfortable and were in the process of being updated while we were there. My wife especially enjoyed the magnificent view (and hammock) from the balcony.The pool and beach facilities/service are exemplary. My children (and I) especially enjoyed the daily feeding of the iguanas. The iguanas come out of the trees to feed every afternoon, and will eat right out of your hand. The hotel has a dedicated counter on the beach for arranging kayaks, jet skis and excursions, which we took advantage of. I would recommend the snorkeling excursion through the Seven Bays of Huatulco, which we all really enjoyed. The local towns (Crucecita and Santa Cruz) are a short cab ride away and offer a variety of restaurants and shopping. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo M, Director General at Quinta Real Huatulco, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad we were helpful and that you enjoyed the property. We are definitely working on improving our facilities and every day you can see a difference. We look forward to see you and your family on your next holiday vacation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    30
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
65
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having been to Huatulco several times in the past, and to this Hotel, I thought that I knew what to expect. To my suprise, this trip with my adult family was the most relaxing vacation that I have had in many years. The Quinta Real is still the chain that owns the Hotel, but there is all new and very professional management now running it. From the moment we arrived, until we departed, the service was superb. Our room had just been redecorated and a new flat screen TV was installed that same day. The entire hotel was receiving the same updates. The food: Breakfast - fantastic; Lunch at Pool side - excellent; Dinner - very good. The entire facility was clean and the staff could not have been more cordial. Since I love to play golf - there is one course nearby, The Tangolunda, which I played twice. It is an interesting course, but expensive - the good news is that there are plenty of tee times available. The two nearby towns are fun to visit, with a lot of small shops and a few good restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo M, Director General at Quinta Real Huatulco, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We really appreciate the good comments. We look forward to see you in the present future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have been going to Quinta Real for many years, but had a 5 year interruption. When we called to reserve for Christmas, the lovely lady who answered the phone recognized us & arranged for our stay even though they were practically full. Talk about the personal touch!
Quinta Real is a rarity. The Moorish architecture is stunning. The suites are spacious and beautifully appointed, the views of Tangolunda Bay are spectacular, the food outstanding, the staff and service so friendly and accommodating. The hotel property, including the pool and beach area, is nearly serene. The daily afternoon feeding of the iguanas is delightful to behold. There are tennis courts on the grounds, and a scenic golf course close by. Easily accessible Wi-Fi lets one easily keep in touch. Many updates have been implemented, including complete redecorating and flat screen TVs. The experience is absolutely refreshing for the soul.
This is NOT for those who want all action all the time, quite the opposite.
The nearby small towns of La Crucecita and Santa Cruz offer a few great restaurants in which to sample delicious Oaxacan food, small shops with local handicrafts, including, rarely seen in the U.S., Oaxacan black pottery, and town squares where local families actually gather to listen to music.
We return home feeling we have simply been to Paradise. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed at Quinta Real Huatulco more than ten times over the years since it first opened. We stayed there the year it opened and stayed there recently in February 2013. We will be back again next year.
The Huatulco area is not for anyone who wants to go "clubbing". The local towns - La Crucecita/Chahue/Santa Cruz - have a few nightspots but it is very small town, very slow - nothing like Ixtapa/Zihuatenejo, Cancun, etc.
Likewise, Quinta Real is a quiet place. After you downshift from the speed of life in the United States you fully realize the value of the place - it is a serene, quiet retreat. It is spread-out, you have space. You don't have to put your belongings on a beach chair at 7AM to reserve a spot. It is NOT all-inclusive and we very much prefer it that way. In fact if it were to go all-inclusive we would not return. It is also more adult-centric. There really isnt much for children to do there.
Excellent views from all rooms. Laid back but very available service on the excellent beach and at the superb pool. Very friendly, willing staff. Good breakfast, good lunch, good bar service. Dinners - view is spectacular, wine list good, dinner food/service is average. Skybar (open late) has unmatched view of the ocean.
Although Quinta Real was well-designed and still is an outstanding asset, it needs a refresh in certain areas. In late 2012 management began a long overdue refresh of the hotel rooms. Technology capabilities will be upgraded including WiFi throughout the resort. I have been promised by management that the quiet, sophisticated serenity of the resort will be updated but preserved. In addition to the completion of the refresh, I think management does need to upgrade its dinner menu, chef's capabilities and dinner service. It is not as good as it was when the hotel first opened in the mid-90s and is below average (though there are pretty good restaurants in town reachable in 5 minutes with a 45 peso ($3.50) cab ride).
I look forward to returning for another 10 day stay in 2014 and with the refresh under way expect to upgrade my assessment (for the price level) from Very Good to Excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo M, Director General at Quinta Real Huatulco, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We really appreciate the complete description of the Hotel and surroundings. Guests definitely trust in other guests comments and reviews and we could not describe it better. Thank you for letting other people know about our service. I´d like to add that we changed our Chef back in April and our menus have already improved a lot to a simple, traditional and healthier orientation.

We are mostly done on our remodeling process and the property looks beautiful; we look forward to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walchwil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Was disappointed with this hotel. Have to agree with the two "shabby" reviews given by others. Hotel is living off it name Quinto Real and past reputation. Definitely shows signs of little investment since the time it was built. 1) Finding - no signs off main road or in district to hotel. The other 4 hotels in area had signs. Finding entrance is pot luck. Can see the name but when enter roundabout entrance the expected road up to the hotel is not there. It is in fact on the side of the roundabout entrance and looks more like the delivery entrance for suppliers. When we suggested to the manager it might be good to improve the signage to the hotel he nonchalantly told us " well there are only 4 other hotels in this area so you would have found us at some point". 2) Rooms - large and spacious. Bathroom large too with bath and shower. TV very old fashioned. One of the old boxes. But the unbelievable bit was the safe. This was on a shelf in the wardboard but not fixed to anything. We were able to literally pick it off the shelf and take with us. Our 7 year old daughter was even able to carry it. Our friends in another room didn't even have a safe. 3)Pool / beach - the pool area was very nice. The beach looked clean. Tried a massage that was offered by a lady looking like from the hotel but found out later wasn't - don't recommend - very poor massage in very unrelaxing atmosphere! 4) Restaurant/Food - ok/average. Kids food miserable. Breakfast ok but slow. 5) Bar - Sky lounge at back of hotel with no view of the sea. Unappealing so didn't bother to visit eventhough was given 2 free drink vouchers for the lounge. Strangely was not allowed to use these vouchers anywhere else in hotel. 6) Staff - tried their upmost to try to please. We had brake trouble with our car and the reception and manager did their best to make sure this was fixed by our rent-a-car company in time for our departure and kept us informed at all times. Much appreciated. Thank you 7) Have to pay small fortune for WIFI. Don't think this is correct for a supposedly 4/5 star hotel and in this day and age. So overall a very over priced average experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Just returned from a week at Quinta Real. Rooms very well decorated and spacious. Views just incredible and the entire property was QUIET. Yes, with all inclusives farther down the beach - this resort was quiet. The internet was an extra charge (when will all resorts stop that nuisance charge) and was inconsistent - it worked well somedays and was not on others. Also, the food is expensive and we would say just average in quality. Nice presentation but expensive and not up to the level of the resort. The concierge and bell staff were energetic and had a genuine "can do" attitude. And the Sky Bar was unique and made for a perfect ending to each evening.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in one of the Villas.It was fantastic. Excellent water views. Total relaxation. The service could not be beat,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Real Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Huatulco

Address: Paseo Benito Juarez Lote 2 Zona Hotelera, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta Real Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Quinta Real Hotel Huatulco
Huatulco Quinta Real Hotel
Hotel Quinta Real Huatulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Real Huatulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.