We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa Escondida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Escondida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huatulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Escondida
Save
You added Villa Escondida to your Saves list
Playa Bocana, Lote 14, Mza. 5 | Santa Cruz, Huatulco 70989, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Huatulco B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa Escondida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We love Huatulco. Elsa and Armando picked us up and help us get settled and we thank them for everything. Once we were settled it was like our own little paradise. Everyone was so nice. The place is beautiful and we were the only ones there. Lucky us. We had the Roses(and Patricia) make us a beautiful breakfast every morning. They felt like family and I admit I shed a small tear when it was time to go. David was great in getting our taxis or advising us the best places to go in town(Crucecita-50 pesos away). We had great food in the small town of Crucecita and Santa Cruz. We had a great fish dinner right next door to the Villa. Finca Vesqueros was also a lot of fun. Within walking distance with great steak and a lot of Mescal. Lucky for us Jefferson and Andreas were manning the door because after a few Mescals it is hard to get the key in the door. We were impressed with our own little bar and bartender. Navilla was great at getting us the cold drinks and teaching us Spanish. Keep on cooking Chef Navi. The beach was great and playing in the waves was fun. When it was too hot we lounged in our private infinity pool. I cannot say enough about Huatulco and Villa Escondida. We will be back again. It was extremely difficult leaving the villa and going to work. PS try the mud bath

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
28
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Over the years my partner and I have been fortunate enough to travel to various oceanfront Mexican hotels, but never before have found such a gem. This villa is situated on a beautiful, quiet, clean beach that few discover, with warm, crystal clear water and fabulous waves for those who seek such. From the moment you walk through the front door you will be wined and dined by an incredibly warm and attentive staff who are always looking for ways to make your stay more pleasurable. If you choose to eat on the premises, the food is fresh and fabulous. Everything is kept immpecably clean both on the grounds as well as indoors. There are only four rooms so there is plenty of privacy and tranquility. We stayed in the master suite which was a dream come true, with different ocean views from all windows that face the ocean. One is able to hear the crashing of the waves beneath your room as well as your own private terrace at all times.

If you are seeking a romantic, peaceful, beautiful experience, it does not get better than Villa Escondida, it will be an experience you shall never forget.

Denise and Laura

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Hello I'm from Guadajalara, Mexico. And I would like to describe my experience in this Hotel:

I stayed there 3 days, It is a beautiful Hotel decorated with very good taste,
Elsa and Armando's personalized attention is excellent and they make you feel comfortable and you get a sensation like you were in a very exclusive Hotel and much more expensive.

You are close to the action in Huatulco (10 Min) and simultaneously in a very relaxing, quiet and comfortable place, with all available only for you.

The food is amazing and can be personalized depending on your taste.

It is a hidden paradise which you must not miss.
Recommended widely

They have a web site: www.villaescondida.com.mx

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

The slogan for Villa Escondida is "Experience Paradise" and I have to say we did!

I like to do my research before I go to new destinations and was very impressed by the posts I found on Villa Escondida in beautiful Huatulco. Frankly ,the
reviews seemed over the top so I am glad to report my experience matched the hype.

We traveled last October and I was just looking at photos so I decided to add my kudos to this place which is even more beautiful then what you see on the Web Site. In my opinion October is a great time to be in Huatulco because it is slow season, the rains are gone, the jungle is green and the nights are fresh.

We flew in and were greeted at the airport by Elsa and Armando the managers who gave us a little tour of the Bays ending up in Playa Bocana. From the airport to the Villa you are struck by how clean and low density the whole region is. I think there is a 3 story height limitation so you don't get the feel of Cancun or Vallarta. It is all so peaceful and relaxed. No congestion, pollution and apparently no crime to speak of. Everyone you meet is friendly whether locals or tourists. Nothing pushy.

The first impression of the Villa is that it is well named. Escondida means hidden and Villa Escondida is certainly that. Tucked against the rocks behind a
family owned Palapa on the beach that serves great fish, shrimp etc the Villa is a hidden slice of paradise. You enter a Mexican Colonial style court yard, walk over a pretty reflecting pond and are greeted with cold towels and a wonderful tequila and fruit juice cocktail. The place is immaculate and Elsa was kind enough to upgrade us to the Master Suite which happened to be available. She said we would enjoy watching the sunrise on the Pacific....yes sunrise on the Pacific,as the coast turns east to west down there by the isthmus.

The decorations are beautiful and every detail has been attended to and anticipated. There is wireless in all the rooms as well as a flat screen TV with all the satellite channels. The A/C works great but was not needed as opening the windows lets in the ocean breeze and there are screens wherever you would want them.The whole ambience is that of a private house that you wish you owned as it is uniquely poised right on the beach and beautifully appointed. .

Breakfast is included, first dry buffet with juices, then fruit and yogurt, then eggs "al gusto". Really a lot to eat. We also had a great pre-order dinner. There is no resturant in the Villa, besides the beach bar with Hamburgers (our kids LOVED them), Hotdogs and Nachos, but what comes out of the kitchen is otherworldly. 31 dollars per person got us Tortilla Soup, Tequila Shrimp Flambé, and dessert, served with Armando's never ending smile...it was a bargain.

Playa Bocana is not extensively developed but they do have Vaqueros Resturant for incredible smoked and grilled meats, and two Mexican Beach type seafood restaurants so you never go hungry. Town is about 10 minutes away and there are great restaurants to be had there. We ate out for dinner on 3 nights and had cocktails at the Quinta Real which has beautiful sunset views.

A night I will never forget is the walk on Bocana Beach under the stars, take a left hand turn when you leave the Villa and you go around the rocks in front of the Archeological Zone. No people, no lights just the reflection of the moon on the water. Follow that up with a Jacuzzi on the Villa roof under the stars and you have found paradise. We will go back soon and when we get there I am sure we will again be treated like we own a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We have been searching for the ultimate beach vacation spot for the last 10 years and are happy to say that we've found the perfect place. We narrowed it down to Huatulco about 5 years ago, but it wasn't until the Villa Escondida opened up on La Bocana beach that everything came together.

Everything was great from the first moment we arrived. Your first sensation is how clean the Villa is. There's lots of dark wood that's impeccably polished. The doors to the beach area were retracted, so we could see the beach and feel the ocean breeze. Our room, the Playa Suite, was twice as big as many of the hotel rooms I've stayed in for business travel. Our room even had a separate living area for TV watching that could be closed off via two sliding doors.

But, that was just the beginning. , Typically, we like to spend our day sitting at the beach, but not get tanned. In front of the Villa, there are 8 plush lounge chairs reserved for guests of the Villa. There are also 4 large sized umbrellas that the chairs can hide under. Perfect for us.

When you're hungry, the Villa has it's own bar. Diego is quite adept at mixing up refreshing drinks. If you want American food, the Villa has its own Hot Dog and Hamburger stand. The restaurant next door also delivers its array of seafood menu items to your lounge chairs.

As you relax in the lounge chairs, you'll be lulled by the constant sounds of the waves. We've driven up and down the coast between Puerto Escondido and Huatulco, looking for waves. Other than the monster waves in Puerto Escondido, it turns out that La Bocana is the only other place with good waves. It has really nice beach-break type waves. In particular, the waves are great for body boarding. If you're 6 feet tall, you don't even need fins. You can use your height to position yourself for the wave.

La Bocana also has good waves for surfing. Adam runs a surf school next to the Villa if you are beginner and need lessons or to rent a board. The waves in front of the Villa are mostly at the beginner level. There are bigger waves left of the Villa if you're willing to walk down the beach (which is quite long). If you are an advanced surfer, then you should know that the Villa is the first luxury property anywhere near the world class Barra De La Cruz surf spot (which is South of Huatulco).

For the most part, the beach is pretty empty as La Bocana is at the South end of the bays that make up Huatulco. But, that doesn't mean that you wont be seeing much activity. There's usually a small group of locals that surfs and body boards in the afternoons. We noticed that around 2pm, a group of about 50 black birds would congregate in the ocean to the left of the Villa, probably discussing where they would fish during the rest of the day. Then, there are the beautiful pelicans. They hang around the nearby rocks and can be seen diving for their food throughout the day.

To finish off your day at the beach, you can request that Elsa prepare a gourmet meal for you. We tried the guacamole, mero and the red mole chicken. All were fantastic. You can start your dinner by having the appetizers on the rooftop terrace and then migrate down to the dining room for dinner. You'll see the pool lit by candles and hear the waves crash in the background. Most importantly, you'll feel like you're having dinner in your own, private Villa.

If that's not enough, the staff is always willing to take whatever action is required to make sure your vacation is ideal. In our case, we asked if the Villa had a DVD player that could be connected to our TV. Since they didn't have one, Armando went home and brought us the DVD player from his house. Subsequently, we met up with the owner who said that while he hadn't considered having a DVD player for the Villa, he would make that a priority during his next shopping trip.

For us, I could not imagine a better place to spend our yearly beach vacation. We'll be going back again next year, but instead of renting just one room, we'll be renting the entire Villa so that we can show our family what a vacation in Paradise is really like.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Villa Escondida exceeded our expectations. Our expectations were high, but the experience was better!
We selected Villa Escondida based on research we completed online. The pictures and information we found looked very promising, so we booked. I was still a little concerned, because pictures and promises can be misleading. However, the actual Villa that greeted us was even better than the pictures … larger, more interesting and more beautifully situated than we had imagined.
Villa Escondida is a blend of boutique hotel and private residence. We were traveling as a family of six, booking 3 of the Villa’s 4 rooms, so it felt very much like our own vacation home. Shortly after arriving we enjoyed hour-long massages and tasty margaritas that were included as part of our rental. Lupita, the massage lady, is truly professional … one of the best we have ever enjoyed, anywhere.
The Villa itself is right on the beach, which presents a great connection to nature. The first morning (and every morning thereafter), we were treated to a gorgeous sunrise reflected in the ocean. Every night we fell asleep to the sound of waves breaking on the shoreline. Our children chased hundreds of little crabs on the beach, watched tiny fish in the nearby river, marveled at dragon flies and iguanas, watched roosters on the outside road and enjoyed the many different types of birds. My wife even learned to love boogey-boarding in the ocean waves.
The villa itself has great appointments. The architecture is basically Spanish colonial, with a bit of a nod to its beach location. There is a wonderfully large entrance courtyard, an interior open-air atrium with a pool, 3 large terraces off the bedrooms, 2 terraces around the swimming pool, a huge roof-top terrace with a hot tub and wet bar and a well-equipped working kitchen. All decoration is high-quality and very pleasing. At the beach level there is a great bar, open to all beach visitors, where Armando and Gino hold court over the BBQ and refreshments.
However, the best feature of a stay at Villa Escondida is the great staff who work there. The staff are lead by Elsa and Armando, the wonderful husband and wife team who manage the villa. Some 19 years ago they moved from Mexico City to Huatulco, so their local knowledge and connections in the community are top notch. Their connections helped smooth our visit on a number of occasions … for example, Elsa helped sort out some problems with a rental car company, and she help us find and buy some of the best mole in Mexico. Armando is a living legend on the BBQ, a great bartender and a smoothie on the dance floor. What’s more, they are both genuinely sweet and have a charming son and daughter. A great family!
For a part of our stay, the owner of the villa, Andrew Glassman, was also in town. Andrew is a retired oral surgeon from L.A., who has been developing real estate in Huatulco for 10 years. He also has great knowledge of and connections in the area. I’ll always remember his help the evening our 3 year old daughter became sick with what turned out to be an attack of tonsillitis. Andrew knew the best doctor in Huatulco (and makes him available to all guests of the villa) and arranged for a house visit within one hour. The doctor was fabulous. While the doctor was completing his examination, Andrew postponed a night out with friends to stay nearby, then delayed his night even more to take me to the pharmacy in town for medicine. We will always be grateful for his concern and attention that evening.
Beyond the owner and managers, the other members of the staff also rated very highly. Rosita, Blanca and Eli do a great job in the kitchen, serving meals and keeping the villa clean. The breakfasts they produce each day are fabulous. Daniel does a bit of everything and is very charming. Gino runs a great bar. And Jaime, Miguel and Adrian are also ready to help with anything. All together, they are a large and very attentive staff. We miss them.
Villa Escondida is located in Playa Bocana, which is at the south end of Huatulco. It takes about 10 minutes to drive to the resort area of Tangolunda, and about 10 minutes more to reach the harbor of Santa Cruz or the shops of La Crucecita.
Playa Bocana is a very small, “rustic” village with just a couple of restaurants and bars, a few houses and a great ocean beach with surf. Roosters walk the small main road and dogs roam freely. Relative to Huatulco, Playa Bocana is a good choice if you want to stay on the beach, away from the “hub-bub”, but close enough to reach all of Huatulco with a short drive.
Doug & Lana & family

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escondida

Address: Playa Bocana, Lote 14, Mza. 5 | Santa Cruz, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Escondida, the most luxurious beachfront bed & breakfast in Huatulco. The Villa boasts four beautiful bedroom suites, indoor & outdoor living rooms, formal dining room, fully appointed kitchen with top of the line appliances, infinity pool, rooftop terrace with Jacuzzi, massage room, outdoor lounge decks and amazing ocean views. Come and experience the paradise that is Villa Escondida.Services and Amenities also include:Continental breakfast and daily maid service, concierge services, A/C & ceiling fans throughout, and high-end furnishings and finishes.Each of the suites also feature mini-fridges in each room, wireless internet and multi-language satellite TV. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.