We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surf and turf meal in Tangolunda” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Porfirio

Don Porfirio
In front of the Gala Huatulco Resort, Huatulco, Mexico
(958) 581-0001
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 97 restaurants in Huatulco
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Regina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A surf and turf meal in Tangolunda”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don Porofirio's is right across the street from Barcelo so was an easy choice for a non-resort dinner. We stopped in one afternoon for a margarita and guacamole (very good) and perused the menu. There was nobody else there, but there were several helpful staff hovering around.

We went for dinner and got a hold of the 'Special' menu, which included things like steak/seafood combos, lobster, and other things. The place is open to the road, and they have a big charcoal BBQ set up on the sidewalk. Again, we were the only ones there. The staff were very good (and likely bored to death) and anxious to please. We were not hugely hungry so elected for a sirloin steak with large shrimp entree to share. They did show us some lobster that they were proud of, and they were very large lobsters, but they were dead, resting on ice. I don't think such creatures live anywhere nearby and I want to see the critter alive before I order it. So we passed on the lobster.

The steak was large and very thin, about 1/2". It was not a particularly good piece of beef, but it was tasty and the smell from the BBQ was wonderful. The shrimp were in fact huge, and dripping with garlic butter. They were delicious. There was also some steamed/buttered veggies and potato. Overall, it was a very straight ahead steak n' seafood plate that could be had anywhere, but we were happy to have a taste of something straightforward by that point in our trip.

For dessert we had some flambeed bananas which were done tableside and quite good.

I had to instruct the bartender on how to make a martini - sometimes a guy gets tired of mescal/tequila.

The highlights included a mild earthquake (every staff member bailed out to the edge of the sidewalk - they might have shouted a warning as they sprinted past) and a rainshower (apparently the first December rain in 12 years).

Don Porofirio's wasn't cheap and we had better meals in the area for half the price. Granted, the location is worth a premium if you are staying in Bahia Tangolunda. I was puzzled by the lack of business though. I spoke to at least two other couples from the resort who had similar experiences to ours - positive but not amazing.

For the price, I would taxi into La Cruc and enjoy a better meal for less money, but if I just wanted to stagger out of the resort and enjoy a good meal, I'd visit Don Porofirio's again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    17
    14
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had friends recommend this restaurant and glad they did. For a small taxi fare of 60 pesos we travelled from the Secrets resort one evening for one of the finest meals of my nearly 50 year eating career. Enjoyed the open air street side setting and wood barbequed flavours. Chose the one lb ribeye, one lb lobster and one lb shrimp combo. This is a meal for two unless you have been fasting for days! Steak was excellent. Grain fed quaity cuts sometimes hard to find in Mexico. If you are after a formal five star restaurant with professional waiters and your meal served in white gloves to fit your diet requirements this is not the place for you. But for a superior meal with local atmosphere I would highly recommend. The tip of the day would be to order one meal for two people. They have no problem with this and you will still have to pause calorie counting for a day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Just average at best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had one meal here, so this review only concerns the food I tasted at the dinner. I had the camarones from the regular menu for 180 pesos (not the 300 peso jumbo special shrimp) and my partner had tacos (90 pesos) from the special menu.
Overall it was average at best. My shrimp were pan sauteed in garlic butter, and served with a scoop of white rice sprinkled with peas. All of the food was covered in butter, and it was way too greasy for my taste. The shrimp were clearly not the freshest in the place. The feet and tails were quite black - that means old. The texture was not the best, and the flavour was a bit too intense. My partner didn't like her tacos - I though they were OK. Again, the freshness of the seafood was the issue. She also though that the seasoning was a bit bland.

The place looks great. The ambiance is fun. They have a large outdoor grill stoked with wood and charcoal that they cook some of the food on. So perhaps we just got so-so things on the menu?

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Four of us went here for a dinner last week, as we had seen the place which looked inviting and was close to our resort. Usually we go to La Cresidita, where most of the restaurants are very good, but we made a poor decision to come here.
On the short menu, scallops were offered which i asked about and was assured they were fresh and there would be 6 of them. What arrived was hard to describe but definitely was not six large fresh scallops... in fact what was served up were some old overcooked scallops and some pork bits shaped like scallops....all covered in an absurd sauce, presumably to hide what was being represented as fresh scallops..... one of us had the steak which was expensive and as tough as old boots, another had chicken, and suffered severe indigestion afterwards. The 4th party member had shrimp which were "ok" but previously frozen and obviously not freshly caught.
The meal was expensive and not worth one penny of the full amount. To ad insult to injury, the staff donned some rather strange outfits (including one guy in a spiderman outfit) and did some kind of fake karaoke around the patrons.
All in all this was a horrible experience and i would never return nor recommend this establishment to anyone

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We love Don Porfirio and have made it a tradition each time we go to Huatulco. We stay at Las Brisas but it is worth the taxi fare. The meals are huge so we share the jumbo shrimp combo or the earth, wind, fire combo. This helps save on cost. This is one of the more expensive places to eat in Huatulco but we think it is worth it even if you each order your own meal. The drinks are good too! There is complimentary chips and salsa. The 'free' margarita is non-alcoholic so don't be surprised by that. The wait staff are entertaining and accommodating. We had a large group and wanted seperate bills and that was no problemo! The did a little conga line dance to entertain us with a little surprise under their aprons LOL. They also have large screen TV's with satellite feeds in case you want to catch a hockey game.
We hope you like Don Porfirio as much as we do.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Porfirio also viewed

 

Been to Don Porfirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Porfirio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.