We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Careyes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Careyes to your Saves list
Costa Careyes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 53. 5 Carretera 200 Barra de Navidad - Pto. Vallarta | Barra de Navidad, Careyes 48970, Mexico (Formerly El Careyes Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Careyes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorites...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 6 weeks twice for business. I enjoyed every day of it.

It was the people and the staff that made the experience what it was was. So much so that I came back for my wedding, brought all my friends, and tried to share my experience.

Haven't been back for a few years but long for the quiet, sunny days in careyes.

I have such fond memories of the staff, the locals, and all of my experiences in this hotel.

It holds a special place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tepic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Last weekend we had a wedding at Careyes, the party was at "Cocodrilo Azul" and it was superb. We had the chance to stay at "Sol de Oriente" which is one of the most amazing vacation houses I have ever been. The location of the house is at the top of a mountain, the pool surrounds the whole house. I stayed at the room tower and all I can say about the experience is that I felt on a tale. The views of the paradise are stunning wherever you are at the house. We had the chance to visit the "Copa del Sol" that we could saw from our house and that excursion just put more magic on the trip. The MOST amazing thing during these days was the service at the house. Lalo and all the crew did a great job all the time and the food OH my good the food was cooked at the house and it was delicious. Traveling to Careyes could be not so beautiful as we express if you are not prepare for this kind of tourism. There are not shops or grocery at Careyes, you have to go to the towns near to find something you need. We also have some friends staying at the hotel and they didn't have such a nice experience as we did so I will recommend to rent a house and let yourself be spoiled by Mexican paradise. Basically the plan to enjoy this place is to make sure you have all your supplies (food, wine, etc.) and to stay the most of the time at the property drinking, relaxing, sunbathing and for sure ENJOYING!

Room Tip: Rooms at the house are close to the service and people but the experience of the tower room is highl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto vallarta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel was wonderful once. It is closed and I don't know why it continues to show up on tripadvisor. The place is truly magic, having lived there 4 years, it's very isolated and that can be boring (especially for 4 years). The hotel needs some updating, the pool is lovely.

This probably won't post as I cannot fill out the form below, nothing is applicable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We fell across this gem of a hotel when we decided to break up our trip up the coast to Puerto Vallarta, and what was supposed to be an overnight stay turned into two because we couldn't drag ourselves away. Location and views stunning, the hotel kindly upgraded us to a beautiful beachfront room as our first allocation was due for maintenance.
Food was very good and the service was first class and welcoming.
Would love to return.

Room Tip: Do all you can to get a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Careyes coast is known worldwide in design circles for the intense, vibrant colors found in the concrete, plaster, tile and landscape architecture of this authentic Navidad environment

From each individual villa, sited carefully on a soft, sandy beach, your private pool cools a body warmed by the ever-present Mexican sun, all the while you are mesmerized by the hypnotic Pacific waves just a coconut's throw beyond. The service was competent, bi-lingual for the most part (passable English and Spanish, of course); the food authentic and delicious, and prepared at your convenience. The addition of private masseuse/spa on site services proved a wonderful addition to concierge care we experienced throughout our weeks' visit.

Room Tip: Ask for specific unit with spa/pool - site near walking paths back to main hotel unit; ask ahead for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Casitas de las Flores is an amazing group of open air style "casitas" (little houses) that are basically like our condos because they have shared walls. Beyond that they have little in common. The architectural beauty, the colors of the spaces, the flowers, the small coves below, make this feel more like a mini version of the Amalfi Coast than Mexico. maybe that's because the family that discovered and developed this area since 1967 is Italian. We have been going since 1997 and we've met French, Italian, Spanish, and Mexican and made many friends along the way. Fly into Manzanillo and it's an hour fifteen minute cab right to this area, set in the middle of a wildlife sanctuary and biosphere so basically you are where the jungle meets the sea. Water temp runs from 75F to 85F, clear and clean, no jet skis allowed in the coves. The whole atmosphere is one of refined elegance meets Mexican hospitality and warmth. If you are looking to para sail, shop and be hung upside down while drinking a tequila shooter than Careyes is not for you. Eat great food, swim, massage, read, snorkel, sleep, horseback ride, scuba dive, surf (within 20 minute ride), meet interesting people from around the world...than this is for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We got to the hotel pretty late at night and missed the view from our room. We were give a free upgrade to an oceanfront view and had a private infinity jacuzzi on our balcony.

From the moment that we checked in, we were taken care of, but also left alone, if this makes sense. It was perfect.

We had a scrumptious meal. The staff took some wine up to our room, and we had a nice jacuzzi.

The next morning, the sounds of the ocean woke us up, and the view from our room was absolutely breathtaking.

We swam in the private beach area, and then in the hotel pool.

The pricetag was a bit high, but then again, this is a luxury hotel and it was worth every penny.

Checkout time was great too! At noon! Did not feel so rushed to check out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Careyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Careyes

Address: Km. 53. 5 Carretera 200 Barra de Navidad - Pto. Vallarta | Barra de Navidad, Careyes 48970, Mexico (Formerly El Careyes Beach Resort)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Careyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Careyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Careyes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Careyes Beach Resort will remain open until July 31st, 2007 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Careyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Careyes Beach Hotel Careyes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Careyes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.