We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marparaiso Queen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Acapulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marparaiso Queen
Save
You added Marparaiso Queen to your Saves list
Km. 24.5 Carretera Fed a Barra Vieja, Acapulco, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
A TripAdvisor Member
“A wonderful vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2006

My husband& I went on our 1st vacation in 20 years together( without children) w/ our best friends(another couple) to Marpariso Queen Resort in Alcapulco. We absolutely loved it. If you want to relax, be away from the city & just veg, this the place to go.The staff they are so helpful, gracious & accommadating.The unit we had was right next to the pool,the AC worked & anything we needed was dealt with prompt service.The beach was beautiful & not crowded.We met some great people & you could just be yourself.If you want to kick back, relax & have a nice Vacation I would reccomend this resort to anyone. Kudos also to Ismael Silva. he was awesome, as a taxi driver, tour guide & has become a friend. We will be back next year. Thank you!!! Thank you!!! Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

We read several reviews on this resort before the trip and thought "what have we gotten ourselves into"? Where to start? First of all if you're looking for pure luxury, stay home. The rooms are quaint and clean and they were right the furniture is on concrete pedestals and there is alot of sand on things. That's what they get for building on a beach. The beds are very firm and I reccommend bringing your favorite pillow. Keep in mind this is an older resort. Bottom line is the rooms were functional and the services were fantanstic! Security was constant! This resort is popular with middle to upper class locals so if your uncomfortable with mingling, stay home. One of our biggest complaints was the distance from our room to the pool. We had to walk maybe twenty feet, and that's just not right! One of the photos shows our towels holding our favorite spot by the pool while we were at breakfeast. Right next to the bar! One review mentioned broken beach furniture. Plastic breaks, but every morning staff was out early replacing them. Another review said the bartender couldn't make a Margaritta. The first drink wasn't right but they're quick learners and the second throught the last were near perfect. We could just sit in the pool and hold up 4 fingers or say quatro and they would just appear. Breakfeast was good, buffet style, plenty of selection with pancakes and toast and fresh fruit with coffee and juices. We always had a good breakfeast and became adventurous for supper. Along the beach (best beach in Acapulco) to the left and right are family owned resturants. We went left the first night and found one that looked good so after struggling with the menu the four of us ordered dinner for five. We ended up with grilled and fried shrimp, scallops and squid and a super grilled Red snapper filet served with rice french fries and fish quesedillas. Super meal. The next night we went to the right and stopped at the last resturant. Again little or no english combined with our less spanish, we ended up ordering filet and they presented us with a 7 lb Sea Bass. We agreed and served it to us grilled with fries and shrimp and fish quesedillas. Another super meal. Way better than Walleye. The next night we ate at the resort and none of us could reccomend supper at the resort. Prior to coming to Acapulco we went on-line and scheduled several outings through Fish-R- Us. We chose the sun and fun elite cruise and the evening dinner cruise and Scuba diving. With the sun and fun we cruised to watch the cliff diviers from the boat, then anchored in a calm cove for a wonderful lunch, swimming, snokling, banana boat rides and fairly inexpensive waverrunner rentals. Services were great and drinks flowed freely. The Captain and mates were superb. All the smaller children had a blast. The next nights dinner cruise was even better. The clarity of the water from snorkling on the fun cruise, plus the dinner cruise activities caused us to opt out of the scuba diving. The resort is 25k from the golden zone so you have take a cab or shuttle into town. We reccomend arranging transportion through Reception at the resort. Ask for Ishmail or Raul if you can but if they're working they can set you up. We had Mal and Raul and Mal's father the last night. They were very helpful in all our activities. The first day we had Raul and he took us to Walmart but first to the bank for money exchange. After a long shopping trip at Walmart we came out and he was sitting there with his trunk open and he loaded us up and away we went. We had agreed on a reasonable price before leaving so cost didn't ever become an issue. The next trip we couldn't get Raul because some second year ladies from Boston stole him away from us. We got Mal, who also works at Reception, to take us shopping. He took us to a secure market for jewelery and souvineirs. This place was great in someways not so great in others. After a tour of the artist areas and a created mine they served us never ending margarettas and turned us loose shopping. Best Mararettas ever but I reccommend leaving the wife or the credit card back at the resort. The last trip in Mal was working so he got his dad to take us into the local market and the Golden Zone shops. We would ask him how much he would pay for stuff like a shirt or a hat and he'd help us get a better deal. We did feel more secure with our drivers help. Mals dad has a family resturant on the beach. Next to last on the left so we ate there the last night. Wonderful grilled shrimp dinner with some good beers. Then back to the resort and back to the pool. We lived in the pool, slept good at night and ate very well everyday we were there. Even though it is right in plain site, we didn't notice the internet room til the second or third day there. Plus the ministore had anything we needed to get by on til we could get to town. On the next to last day we tried a little Taco shop just past the resort entrance. Again little or no english but an good enough menu that you could make a comfortable seletion. Best taco/fajiatas ever. If we'd have known about this earlier, we may have missed out on some great seafood supper. On the last day and last hours we felt like a condemned man on death row. Out of the pool at 1 PM and at the Airport at 2PM. Great vacation and would do it again. Oh by the way our half of the food/drinks(mucho)/and store purchaces for four people in 7 days. 3200 pesos, outrageous huh!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

We stayed at Marparaiso for 3 nights with 2 small children. Our room had 4 double beds, 2 bathrooms and AC in both bedrooms. Also a huge fridge and freezer with a large dining table and 6 chairs.
The furniture was oversized and had cement bases so nothing could be moved, not even the table. The furniture also looked like it had been there for many years, definitely not modern, but more importantly, it was clean.

We were so pleased that the pool was only a few feet from our room; it was perfect for our kids. There was a big playground and room with a bunch of computers and internet access. Perfect because there was an election going on here in Canada and I never missed a headline.

The beach had nice tables, chairs, umbrellas, and life guards. The sand was lovely and the water was calm, which was great for the kids.
We tried going to another beach which was more populated, downtown acapulco and the waves were awful, and the beach and water was dirty. We wasted the day there when we should have stayed at the hotel beach.

The staff was wonderful and did a great job cleaning. When my daughter had a stomach ache, they had a doctor in our room in less than 15 minutes.
The hotel store was very expensive, but if you walk out the front gates and to the right, there is a little local store which was much cheaper.

There were mostly Mexican families staying here which was also quite nice. It didn't have such a "touristy" feel when most people were speaking spanish, and everyone was very friendly.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for travelers who want night life and such. The pool closes around 11:00 and the staff expects little noise. There are also armed guards walking around the hotel all night. There was a lovely bench and fountain outside our room where we sat after the kids went to bed, and we saw the guard make about 5 rounds in an hour.

I do recommend this hotel for families with small children. It was very accommodating and we felt very safe.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2006

I'm finally getting around to writing a review on my vacation - which I wish had been available when we booked it. If the beach is most important to you, this isn't a bad place to stay. The beach in Acapulco bay is aweful - course sand, lots of trash, and way too many vendors. The beach at MarParaiso is wonderful - powder sand, no trash, not at all crowded, few vendors, big waves, just beautiful. Don't expect fancy beach chairs or staff to bring you drinks, but there is a lifeguard. Luckily our room wasn't ready when we arived so the beach was the first thing we explored, because the resort itself was quite disapointing. I traded through Interval and though wasn't expecting a 5-star resort, but this place was pretty sad.
There were 3 of us who stayed in a 2br/2ba. The grounds of the resort were nicely kept (except for the unmentioned construction on the restaurant). There were even men painting the balconies every morning, which I never understood since it was 100 degrees and 100% humidity. There were beautiful plants everywhere and everything was very clean. The pool was nice, but packed with kids - but being the only Americans vacationing there that week, they amusingly moved to the other side of the pool the one day we got in. The hot tub was just a kiddy pool - not hot. The staff were very friendly - don't forget your spanish dictionary because only 1 or 2 people at the resort speak any english. Our first day there, our TV didn't work - we were brought a new one within minutes. The maid service was always very friendly and did a decent job of cleaning the room (or at least trying to get out some of the sand we tracked in).
The room had window AC units in the bedrooms only - the rest of the place (bathrooms, kitchen, livingroom) was unbearably hot and humid. We ended up moving the TV into one of the bedrooms and all hanging out in there each evening (we brought a little DVD player with us). The living room has a "couch" and "chair" which are foam pads on a concrete platform - the beds are the same way. So don't expect any comfortable lounging. Everyone kept their front door open to create a breeze - though we could only get 1 window to open, so it didn't work for us. Our bathroom window was broken in such a way that it wouldn't close, so we had to keep the light off and the door shut to avoid bugs. There aren't any balconies, some people sat outside their front doors, which overlooked the pool. The dining table was a folding table with 8 chairs and took up most of the living room area (some rooms we walked past had round dining tables). The kitchen consisted of a sink, camping stove, and a mini fridge. The dishes and utinsils were kept in a shelving unit that was literally falling apart and didn't look clean so we bought disposable. The water is not purified, so you'll need to buy water - we all got sick despite our best efforts.
We tried our best to only use our condo for sleep since it was so uncomfortable. We spent most of our time sitting on the beach, boogie boarding (we brought our own), and taking trips to walmart or downtown Acapulco. The resort isn't in the best area (lots of damaged and abandoned buildings nearby), but we always felt very safe. There is armed security at the gate, walking around the resort, and on the beach. There aren't really any restaurants around the resort (and the one on the resort isn't that great). A trip downtown (about 20-30min away) is about $20 roundtrip if you find a good driver - we paid as much as $40. I recommend asking the front desk for Raul - he was wonderful, even took us on an all day city tour for cheap.
And for anyone going to Acapulco - don't waste your time with the people at the airport who offer a round trip ride and a day at a fancy resort - the timeshare talk you have to go through to get it will take an entire day.
If you're like us and booked the Marpariaso Queen without knowing anything about it, you can still make the most of it. Just think of it as roughing it, learn some spanish, and enjoy the beautiful beach. :)
If you want pictures, I can scan some, but the resort website has nice pictures of the grounds: ----------

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

We arrived, checked in and were taken to our room. It was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath for the four of us. The wall air-conditioners in each of the bedrooms were on so each bedroom was bearable as far as coolness. The living area including the kitchen and 2 bathrooms were not air-conditioned. We decided to deal with it and proceded to unpack. The bedroom tile floors were gritty and dirty, the bathrooms were the same except they also had ants parading through. The lighting was enadequate for reading. We toured the grounds and beach and found sand and water, but no usable beach furniture. The restaurant was being built in an attached building and the current "restuarant" consisted of outdoor tables and resin chairs. The pool area was small and had broken resin chairs and chaises. We decided to discuss the situation over a marguarita. The bartender had a spiral notebook with the drink making directions. His marguarita was in a tall glass with 1 oz. of tequila, 1/2 oz. of Controy, about 4 oz. simple syrup and water to fill the glass to the top. Needless to say, it was undrinkable, BUT he insisted on charging for it. We did pay, but we also took a cab to another hotel, found a couple of rooms, went back and repacked and checked out. We were there for all of 2 hours. Money poorly spent.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2005

Let me start by saying that we have been traveling almost exclusivly to Interval condos for the last 12 years,at least 4 times a year.I know some are better than others,but we have never had an experience like we just had at this place (December 4th to the 11th).The grounds are nice,the pools are ample and well maintained (except for the hot tub,whose heater has been broken for as long as any staff member can remember),the kids pool is large,the play ground is good and the staff is very nice.The rooms are nothing short of shamefull.The bathrooms are a mess of broken, chipped,stained tiles.There is mold growing where grout should be.The window screens are ripped,allowing all kinds of things access to inside.My husband and I were woken up one night to find a huge roach in our bed.Another bed was infested with ants.I have lived in Mexico since ´93,so I am not unacustomed to bugs,but I have never had this happen.One toilet leaked,one sink had no water pressure.One shower head was so rusted,the water flowed irregularly.The furniture in the living room was cement bases with cushins,and was impossible to get comfortable on.The only T.V. was in the living room and offered the worst reception imaginable.The "kitchen" (and I use the word generously)was almost non-existent.The drain board blocked half the sink,there was one outlet for the microwave AND coffee pot and everytime the microwave was reconnected the lights went out for a moment.The stove top was old and had pilots that went out often,the cook-ware was dented and warped and there was a serious lack of anything(no spatula,can opener,large bowls,decent knives etc.)There was no dish soap,coffee filters or the like.The 18 cubic foot fridge that was promised in our confirmation turned out to be a dorm-sized tempermental one,with a small inside freezer that iced up the second day,rendering it impossible to open.Also,there is no ice machine here,and the only ice available to guests are large bags for purchase at the hotel store.Not only are these bags too big for the freezers provided,most have de-frosted and re-frozen into solid blocks.The store is filthy,the few things that were marked were way over priced,we actually saw some "swollen" cans and the bottles of soda were all parcially evaporated.The beach in this part of Acapulco is beautiful,and this place does have a nice piece of it,but way more than half of the lounge chairs were broken.It realy looked very sad.The vast majority of the people staying here were Mexican (aside from 2 equally horrified couples we met from the States) and we met some very nice people,but there were alot of very questionable guests here.One day while at the pool with my 6yr old daughter,a group of guys decided that bathing suits were optional,there were cigarette butts being flicked everywhere(I didnt see one ash tray).On our last night there(we actually left one night early),the noise at 1:30am was so bad that I went to reception to ask them to do something (there are no phones in the rooms to call outside or within the hotel) and was assured security would be called.Nothing was done and when we asked the same guy at the desk when we were checking out why,he said he told security and they chose to do nothing and it wasnt his responsibility after that.Whose was it?The bathrooms by the pool are indescibable and the toilet in the ladies room has no seat.There is a snack bar,and we saw the woman who tends it smelling some meat suspiciously,sampling it with her fingers,licking them,and then proceding to cook.What most of us pay for maintenence on our home units,coupled with exchange fees and Interval membership combined comes out to much more than this place rents for.We deserve better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marparaiso Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marparaiso Queen

Address: Km. 24.5 Carretera Fed a Barra Vieja, Acapulco, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Marparaiso Queen Acapulco
Marparaiso Queen Hotel Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marparaiso Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.