We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals Who Made Our Stay At Grand Mayan Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Acapulco to your Saves list
The Grand Mayan Acapulco
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Costera de las Palmas 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Vandalia, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Locals Who Made Our Stay At Grand Mayan Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Grand Mayan is a beautiful, amazing resort that we have been to year after year. The facilities: rooms, restaurants, spas, gym, pools, and beaches are all impressive. And the service is impeccable. We have come to know that this is a given at each of their locations. However, this year our stay at the Acapulco Grand Mayan was made even more enjoyable by two locals we met. In another culture it is often difficult to know who to trust regarding day excursions, etc. This is compounded by the language barrier and by differing cultural values. But this year we met two men who were both trustworthy and spoke excellent English! The first was our driver, David Alcarez, who drove us to and from the airport, and took us on a city tour and to see the cliff divers and a very interesting botanical garden. We met him through the hotel taxi system. This is one of the most personable men you could ever meet. He was charming and friendly without being insincere in the least. He put us right at ease and was very open and honest and made us a part of his life and family in that short time. We will definitely call him immediately next time we arrive in Acapulco. The second man was Arturo Soberanis, who we met on the beach independent of the hotel system. He represents a deep sea fishing tour business called "Fish You Were Here." This man arranged a great deep sea fishing experience for us at an excellent price, cheaper than through the hotel travel desk. We actually caught a 9 foot long, 100 lb. sailfish!! The boat was nice and the captain and crew were very helpful. It was reassuring that Arturo went on the excursion with us. he also gave us good advise regarding tipping in many situations. We highly recommend that you contact these two gentlemen for a great time in Acapulco. David's cell: from Mexico (404) 744-909-3830. Arturo's phone: from USA 011-521-744-440-0121.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    464
    85
    51
    42
See reviews for
566
470
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful fun filled week with our son and his family, daughter and her family (12 in all, ages 70 to 6) at the Grand Mayan. Our great tour guide Baldo Gomez helped make some unforgetable memories for all of us. He took us on the Town tour, a full day of history and fun. Baldo was the link that made our visit, picking us up at the airport, taking us shopping, town tour ( including the cliff divers) and returning us to the airport. The staff at the Grand Mayan were exceptionally friendly and accommadating, very clean!! The adults enjoyed the evening programs of wine and Tequila tasting. Children loved the sparkling clean pools at the Grand Mayan and Mayan Palace. We used the restaurants at The Grand Mayan, Mayan Palace, and Sea Garden, all we very good and enjoyable, service was 5 Star. We felt very safe at all times.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor end unit facing the road, had the best of both worlds, the ocean and golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and i just got back from a wonderful week at the Grand Mayan in Acapulco. The resort is amazing, by far the nicest we have stayed at. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They do a wonderful job keeping up the rooms and the grounds. Even though we were there during one of the busiest times of the year, we didn't feel like the resort was overcrowded. As long as we got to the beach before noon, we always could find a "palapa" or tent for shade. The waves were pretty strong, something I enjoy but made my wife nervous. The pools at the Grand Mayan were full, but not the beach. The pools at the Mayan Palace are better than the ones at the Grand Mayan and they are usually fewer people. You can take a shuttle from the Lobby of the Grand to get over to the Palace. Especially if you have children, that is the place to go.

The only down side to the resort is the food. The food is tasty, but for the price (usually about $25 a head), the food wasn't \ very plentiful. We found that the best bang for your buck was Il Forno di Gio, the Italian restaurant. You can take a shuttle to get there from the front of the Grand Mayan. The other downside is that it is hard to get to any local restaurants from the Grand Mayan. The Mayan and other beach resorts own everything for several miles around, so to go anywhere that isn't touristy, you have to take a taxi.

While we were there, we went to see the cliff divers. That was an amazing experience. We ate at the restaurant "La Perla" and watched the divers. While the food at the restaurant was average at best (especially for the price: $35/person). The setting was amazing. Very pretty.

We were driven there by Carlos Alegria (Spanish for Happiness), a taxi driver that is there at the Mayan. He was very friendly and knowledgeable about the city. He picked us up at the airport, and took us to a grocery store on the way to the Mayan. Then he took us to a wedding we were attending and also to see the cliff divers. I highly recommend using Carlos Alegria if you need rides to anywhere in the city. You can contact him at this email: tourshappiness@hotmail.com.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. Try to get a ocean view, if possible. Even numbers are ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I were very impressed with the service at Grand Mayan Resort. The people working in the different services at the resort gave us first class service and were very friendly. I'd like to especially recognize the excellent service at Cafe de Lago; the waiters and cooks were excellent; the food was great. They created a very warm and friendly atmosphere especially when they had a trio conjunto playing classic Mexican music at the cafe. They played romantic music for my wife and I outside while we ate. We toured Acapulco with Ricardo Alvarez Avila who picked us up from the airport when we arrived and brought us back to the airport on our departure. He was a great tour guide and did an excellent job showing us around Acapulco. I recommend him to anyone who plans to visit Acapulco with touring needs. His email is alvarez1178@hotmail.com and he can be contacted at (044) 744-113-6979

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

After 25 years of time share ownership i felt compelled to write some comments

Positives:
Resort was the best we have stayed at in 25 years overall, facility was in excellent shape, staff was great ,food at the hotel and off was outstanding, weather was perfect, location to nearby activities was very good you must find David who speaks English and has a big SUV to carry several adults ask for him great guy born an raised in Acapulco. The grounds were extremely well kept like I said best vacation in 25 years

Not so Positives
99% of guests spoke Spanish it was high season for Mexico City at times difficult to communicate. Season for North America is in the winter.

Do not go on time share presentation even though they give you $300 in Food and beverage credit hotel took 45 mins to figure out how to apply it to my bill. Sales people applied high pressure and 4 different people tried to close the sales an lasted 2 hours. The breakfast they included was probably the best buffet I have ever had.

Room Tip: we did an exchange and overall would go back best vacation in years plenty to do for kids and family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my first time at the resort and I absolutely loved it! The staff was hospitable and helpful. In a nut shell it was a really pleasant experience! As for our remarkable tour guide Ricardo Alvarez Avila, we were extremely content with his services. He provided us with very professional service and excellent guidance. I definitely recommend him to anyone who is thinking about the possibility of visiting Acapulco. He can be contacted to his cell 044-74-41-13-69-79

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my 7th visit to Mexico and my family's 3rd. I wanted an authentic Mexican experience and that is exactly what we got- thanks to our driver and tour guide, Roberto Alarcon.I had read reviews of him and his services before I contacted him and he was far more exceptional than the comments I had seen. From our first hello to our departure at the airport, he was friendly, professional, timely, and gave us exactly what we were looking for. We did not have our luggage for two days and Roberto tried to help us by contacting United Airlines to assist us in getting it back. His English is absolutely fantastic. We used his services for airport transfers, two dinners out(Linda Vista and Casa de la Pasta-which he recommended and I will be reviewing), the Acapulco City tour and the historical Tehuacalco Ruins tour. During the Acapulco City tour we saw the three different areas of Acapulco, the cliff divers show, the Chapel of Peace, the Diego Rivera murals, shopped in the marketand visited a silver shop in town (free margaritas included!). The tour was a reasonable $30/person with an additional $20/person for lunch. Very reasonable and we saw a lot of Acapulco! Our favorite tour was on our last day and we were so glad we decided to do it. We visited the Tehuacalco ruins which was a decent amount of walking through trails and up rugged steps but the view was gorgeous when we reached the top. Our visit to the food market and our stop for mexican food was so enjoyable. We tried tamales, sopes, handmade tortillas, tacos, ranchero cheese and a Mexican bread that was like ourfrench toast. Don't eat before you go! We loved seeing the local life and the rural culture on our one hour dirve there. We truly felt like we experienced the real Mexico! If we return to Acapulco again, Roberto will be the first person I contact after I make our reservations. We met as friends but parted like family. We absolutely love him!!
The Grand Mayan was beautiful, very clean, and offered many amenities for our family (kids 19,15,12). We were in a 2 bedroom grand master suite which needed a bit of updating. It smelled pretty musty, had a broken alarm clock, and the AC leaked a little. Loved the two times a day maid service. Kitchen is limited with supplies but we managed. Husband loved the plunge pool on the balcony. Kids had a fantastic time as there were many teenagers there and they made many new friends. They did not want to leave!
The beach was nice. Beach bar staff very attentive and friendly. Loved Hector, our daily waiter. Check out the sea turtle shack to the left and hire Paulina for a massage (1 hour/200 pesos--quite a bargain and she is awesome! Vendors will approach you constantly but are polite and will walk away when you say, "no thank you", Barter as you can get some good deals. We enjoyed the process!
Pool is nice, very refreshing but could use some mid-day cleaning of bugs and debris. Also resort needs more washing stations off of beach to avoid excess sand in the pool. Lazy river has limited tubes and an odor in some areas( unsure if it was sewage or horses from the beach??)
Ate at Cafe del Lago first night. Service slow and food average. Loved Mondo for sushi and crepes. Edgar and Pilar were phenomenal with attention and service. Enjoyed the DJ several nights and danced with the talented Mexicans! Try the cucumber/kiwi martini--very different and delicious!
Front desk staff Jose Luiz and Luiz were exceptional in helping us with some issues and explaining our credit plan. Thank you so much!
The only major issue we had was we were without luggage for 2 days. The hotel later admitted our luggage was on the property the night before we received them. They should have been brought immediately to us, no matter what time of day or night. It was a major source of stress and unwanted anxiety in our vacation.
We did not venture into other areas of the property as the Grand Mayan had exactly what we needed. We loved the lobby area, especially at night with the lights and music playing.
Overall, we loved the city, the Grand Mayan property, and most of all , the people. Our adventures in Acapulco will always be remembered both in our minds and more importantly in our hearts. Someday we hope to return. Hasta La Vista!!

Room Tip: oceanfront are even numbers but we were told were given mostly to owners. We were there on an RCI ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Grand Mayan Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Address: Av. Costera de las Palmas 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Business Hotel in Acapulco
#6 Family Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Acapulco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Grand Mayan Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Mayan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Acapulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.