We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Acapulco to your Saves list
The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Av. Costera de las Palmas 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Cypress, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice rooms with great service. Staff was exceptional. Everything was very clean and we enjoyed the lazy river. We went and bought our own food and drinks and only ate there alittle. Sandwiches and snacks mostly. Taxi drivers will try to rip you off but hotel personel will help you with that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    435
    78
    43
    36
See reviews for
526
435
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family spent a wonderful week at the Grand Mayan in Acapulco over Thanksgiving. The resort was not very crowded and most of the guests spoke Spanish. The activities team spoke enough English to include my son in some beach football and other games and he had fun! On the first morning, we made a quick trip to Wal-Mart to stock up on bottled water, beer, breakfast pastries, juice and snack foods.

We had an ocean view room on the 8th floor and it was by far the BEST vacation view we have ever had! The rooms are beautiful and we enjoyed the balcony with the dipping pool (although the water was cold!). Note - The even numbered rooms are ocean views.

We enjoyed the ocean, the beach and the pools at the Grand Mayan. The ocean is very shallow out in front of the resort. We were able to play in the waves and still stand up with water only up to our waist. There are lifeguards on the beach too. We also took the free shuttle over the Mayan Palace to use their pools and other activities (like billiards and ping pong). The lazy river at the Mayan Palace is much longer than the one at the Grand Mayan. At times, I wish they had more tubes for the lazy rivers. Both locations have a small water park area in the pools but they are designed for younger children. My 11-year-old son tried out some of the slides but they were too short for him. The slides also dump you out onto concrete in shallow water - OUCH! Not well designed....

We ate at a few of the restaurants on the properties and the meals were good. We even tried room service since we were so tired when we arrived on the first night. It was VERY good for room service and was setup up beautifully on our dining room table! Although it seemed like the food prices were high, we were pleasantly surprised when we received our bill at check-out!! The happy hour 2-for-1 drinks were very weak.

The Mayan Palace pool did have an aqua-bar with stools in the pool! They were repairing the tiles around the edge of the pool so the water level was lowered in all the pools by over a foot as a result (since they are all connected, expect the lazy river).

We enjoyed visiting the turtle camp on the beach in front of the Grand Mayan resort. They are helping to preserve the population of olive ridley sea turtles. They dig up the nest of eggs and bring them into the camp to protect them for the 45-50 days it takes for the eggs to hatch. They no longer release the turtles with the public watching so we did not get to see that. (They found idiot tourists had taken baby turtles and put them up in their rooms in cups of water!) I loved seeing the baby turtles and it's great to know that the program is increasing the odds of turtles surviving to adulthood. I think the guide said that in nature, only 1-2 per 1000 turtles would survive to adulthood but in their program they are seeing about a 1 in 100 survival rate. They baby turtles (if they are female) will return to this SAME BEACH when they are ready to lay eggs!! Very cool!

Room Tip: Ask for EVEN numbered rooms for an ocean view! Higher floors are better, need to be higher than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The most beautiful place ever!! The service was wonderful, the entire resort, including all the staff, beach and rooms , our room was cleaned every day by Liza Cruz, a single mother of two small children was absolutely incredible, the Taxi driver, who became our our main tour guide, Juan Carona was fabulous!! Jose his uncle, was so kind, took us shopping to Wallmart, his name is Jose. We would have known what to do without them!! We fell in love with them!! When u go visit, u just have to have them as your guides!!! They r the best!! We loved our time there, even bought in so we can back anytime!! Juan speaks very good English and knows the history of the whole city, took us to Tasco, the cave, well, just everywhere!! Thank you Grand Mayan for our stay, we will be back!! It was amazing!!! Sincerely, Don and Barbara Folkman

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, our beach front room could sleep 6 easily!! AC was great!!! Our rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

There are so many great reviews about this place which is warranted because of how great the place is. We stayed here for a week and it wasn't enough! We will surely come back here again!

Great things about the place

1. They have organized activities every day such as volleyball, aqua aerobics, football, dance parties, etc.
2. They serve great food, although most are highly priced.
3. Beautiful ocean view and great outdoor pools
4. Close proximity to a great shopping area, La Isla Shopping Center
5. Away from the hustle and bustle of Downtown Acapulco
6. Helpful and friendly employees
7. ATM in the hotel
8. Personal pool in the balcony (at least where we stayed at)
9. Clean rooms and great functional kitchen
10. Although there are lots of vendors on the beach trying to sell you stuff, they are not as many compare to Acapulco Bay and they are very respectful if you say no.

Not so great things about the place
1. Extremely expensive Wi-Fi and you have to pay access for each device. So if you have a laptop, tablet and phone, you can’t use all of them with one subscription (which is really stupid because you are already paying a lot just to access their internet).
2. The parking lot is all the way to the back, which I believe was intentional. We did a valet parking in the beginning but it gotten really expensive as you have to tip each time you take your car out and in and the valet parking itself.
3. The beach wasn't that great. It was extremely difficult and somewhat dangerous to swim as it is the open sea (but they have lifeguards posted between 8am - 5pm I believe)
4. If you like to go to Downtown Acapulco it’s about 30 minutes away
5. We used a time share and want to stay in a room with a great ocean view and were told that they can only do that if we agree to have someone do a sales pitch to us.
6. Food items at their restaurants especially the sushi bar were extremely overpriced (same with items at the hotel shop)
7. Spa services were extremely expensive compare to other hotels I've been to

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My friends and I enjoyed my early birthday in Acapulco in November 2012, the 16th through the 23rd and turning 50 was never sweeter. The Grand Mayan was a wonderful resort, replete with warm, friendly and accommodating staff, pristine grounds, comfortable rooms fully accommodating our party of 5 adults. We couldn't h have stayed at a more comfortable, clean and luxurious resort in the area. On-site restaurant, bars, activities and parties were exciting and fully appointed. My friends and I planned the trip to the letter to assure our memories would be fantastic I was a bit apprehensive about booking an independant tour guide on line, having read some reviews and contacting different drivers in Acapulco. Sebastian (AcapulcoForAll)was the first on who responded right away and we decide to book his services. You can book direct him. He was terrific to deal with and we made sure had a great guide to spend the week with us. if you want to enjoy Acapulco to the fullest be sure to contact him before your arrival. I highly recommend Acapulco for All and Sebastian Hernandez, you will gain a friend for life!

Room Tip: Best rooms away from the elevators facing the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We booked Fiesta Americana Hotel using our Hilton Grand Vacation Club points in the Golden Zone first and it turned out to be in a unsafe area at night and the hotel is pretty old. Services there was great though, but we called RCI and changed to Grand Mayan in the diamond zone. Grand Mayan is a very safe gated resort, so we don't have to worry about our safety. Actually it is very safe to travel to Acapulco if you stay in the resort area and go out with tour group or an independent tour guide. We prefer to have our freedom so we booked with Sebastian Hernàndez. We found his information on Tripadvisor's reviews. He replied to our e-mail right away and showed up at the airport on time. We did city tour and eco-tour with him. he also brought us to a few local restaurants where the food and price were both good. Our favorite restaurant was La Finca near the airport. Without him, we would not have had the chance to explore local culture as much as we did. His service was great and price was reasonable. We highly recommend anyone who wants a tour guide in ACA book with him. You can find more information at his website :www.acapulcoforall.com

Going back to Grand Mayan, it was a wonderful resort. Pool was great for kids! Service was good. Rooms were fine (a bit dated, but maintained very well for its age). The oceanview from our room was spectacular. There are a few restaurants in the resort, but kind of pricey.

We plan to go back next year with the whole family.

Room Tip: had to attend timeshare presentation to get an ocean view room for us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a very harrowing experience here at this resort. Our youngest boy 3 1/2, almost drowned on the first full day there. We had just come back from the beach and the kids wanted to play in the kiddie play park. I asked the staff person there how deep the area was as the kids wanted to take off their floaties, he said it was not deep, only 1.5 feet deep (and with hand motions). It is a very hard place for one parent to watch two kids as it separates into a figure eight and it's hard to see across the other side. My mistake was letting the kids take their floaties off. Long story short, wife couldn't find kid and radioed me as i had gone up to let my sister get on the internet in my room. I ran back down and my wife and life guards were running around trying to find him. They fished him out of the lazy river floating face down in the water. The lazy river is 4.5 feet deep and surrounds the kiddie park. Most of the river is surrounded by bushes so it's hard to get into it but there are sections that are merely blocked by a small cinder block type step. There are also 3 step downs around 3 fake tree/waterfalls. The lifeguard managed to do CPR and got my kid breathing again, and luckily there was a doctor on staff at the resort (plus), and they had the requisite oxygen and other things on hand quickly. Kudos to the staff, but there is only one lifeguard in the entire kiddie park. We're wiser now.

Needing emergency treatment in a foreign country is nothing short of scary as we've all heard from the US that other health practices in foreign countries are far below our standards. We feel blessed that there was a hospital that took xrays (Santa Lucia), had a doctor who listened and monitored his lungs and checked in on us from time to time. The place was a bit run down, but the doctors seemed to know what they were doing. We took the ambulance there. It all cost a pretty penny $25K pesos for one night, but I figured we probably paid the tourist price, but were happy to pay it since our kid was alive!

The biggest plus of this whole trip? The Alarcon brothers. I've seen amazing reviews on them and I would have to echo the same sentiment. They are very attentive, very honest, and even wanted us to pay them at the end of the trip (we paid them every time ,every day though). They were available to take my parents and siblings to meet me and my wife at the hospital, they helped translate with the hospital staff, and Benjamin even helped me get a discount off the drugs (antibiotics) required for my hospitalized child. We didn't do the tours that they wanted as we already had our own diving, shopping, and we're kind of homebodies in wanting to stay in the resort, not to mention that our vacation was thrown off kilter by the almost drowning. I would highly recommend the Alarcon brothers, and we're glad we went during the 'off' time when it was very empty, this way we had their full attention. They mentioned some weekends they get 10 times the numbers of trips. We all know what happens to service when time is stretched thin! :-). Regardless, the hotel was very accomodating in getting us away from our "911" room, yes, we were 3911 (non-beachfront), my wife is very superstitious and didn't want that room, and going forward now, I think she'll get her way!. The hotel moved us to an ocean facing side 3810/3812 (even numbers are beach front, and the 2nd number tells you what floor.)

Staff was attentive, the restaurants were merely 'eh' and priced liked US counterparts, and we wish the kiddie park was designed much safer. Who puts a 4.5 foot moat around a kiddie park without a fence or whatever? Oh..adults that go into the kiddie park, get ready to get scrapes as the slides dont' have enough water for adults so you skin your back going down. and when you land, the water is too shallow for heavy adults so you skid along your back, legs, arms, hands on the rough concrete...ouch.

The beach area is beautiful with decent surf, but the lifeguards don't let you go too far out. The water is fairly clear but no where like the Atlantic side. The best restaurants are outside of the resort, so let the Alarcon brothers show you where. Get prepared to pay up for decent food, as the costs of food even to the locals has skyrocketed. We shopped at the Mega, Walmart and where other locals shop and the prices were a shocker. cheaper on somethings, but higher in others. How the locals can survive with those stats ....I don't know. Best bang for the buck is to buy all your liquor and beer/wine at the mega/walmart (they have a costco, sams club as well as a homedepot all the in same stretch!!!), cool em in the fridges and take them to the pool/beach. They allow bottles (shocker i know) at the beach, but not at the pool, so cans are the best bet. We did see one person cut their foot really bad on glass on the beach so i'm still aghast they let bottles to the beach, so don't do it for the sake of future tourists.

One last item to bring with you if you don't have your phone on all the time (phone bills while roaming in mexico can be EXTREMELY expensive-mainly data/smart phones). so make sure you take the sim chip out (for GSM) or turn off your sprint/verizon phones BEFORE you leave the US, and not at the acapulco airport or you will get shocked at your phone bill if people keep sending you stuff/emails/calls/VM's. Bring a VHF or UHF radio, not the crappy camping junk for $30 each. Go onto ebay and by the Puxing VHF/UHF Ham radios. It's technically illegal to use anything more than .5 watts in the US, but we're using them in Mexico. it's the same radios you see police use (without repeaters/base stations). They go all over the resort and with line of sight, we can get from home depot outside to the resort even. I highly recommend these types of radios as we use them even while skiing where cell coverage can be spotty, and foreign countries where the roaming charges are steep. Buy a few radios, you'll thank me later.

Our favorite meal was at the Casa de la Pasta. Very good italian food, odd I know to say that in a Mexican city, but it's darn good. There are a few 'local' pplaces that the Alarcon brothers can recommend, but make sure you bring GOOD bugspray (high percentage of DEET-there is a cheap home brand at Walmart/Mega that called 24-or something- that has like 20% deet). The picaridin based stuff was junk and didn't keep them away at all. My family is like fresh blood to mosquitos and attrract them even through repellant. The higher deet content keeps em away. Wear longer sleeves/pants if possible and dont' forget to spray on your hands and apply to ears, neck, chin, forehead and even scalp.

The shows weren't on while we were there so we didn't have the noise everyone complains about beachfront side. Grounds were impeccable, the egrets were beautiful, and everyone is very friendly (locals and staff). Thanks to the lifeguard who got my boy, Jesus (yup, that's his name..LOL)\

room clean up is at odd times, and when we were there this time, they FINALLY put up do not disturb signs (how they went without em this long i have no clue). turn down service is pretty late too so make sure early sleeping kids have a do not disturb on the door.

Definitely keep ample pesos on hand as many local restaurants give poor exchange rates. I recommend NOT exchanging at the airport, but through an ATM at a BANK. pull out $1000 of pesos if you can. we always keep pesos for next year and feel the current 12.8 is a very cheap exchange rate as it was only 7 to 1 last year. I think the peso can appreciate more than the dollar will (we print US dollars like it was water- should be inflationary...)

One thing about the hospital...It's almost 30+ minutes away over the mountains and through two mountain passes. The alarcon brothers warned me that the hospital might try to milk it and keep the kid there another night (unnecessary) which they did try. That kind of make it more chintzy to me and reduced my respect for the Santa Lucia hospital, but I guess better safe than sorry and they do need to make $...They said they would have jello for our kid and not feed the boy for 12 hrs..that was hard to make hiim not eat as he kept complaining he was starving. they didn't have jello...why would the doc not know what they have or don't have? The cafeteria in the hospital is a joke and make sure you bring water and food with you at all times. The price of water is astronomical everywhere in small batches. We just kept refilling our smaller individual bottles with the big 6liter bottles sold at walmart/mega. Luckily we had internet and my VOIP phone so i could call my doctor friends/clients for advice which we got COPIOUS amounts of advice. I was told that my united health will cover emergencies out of country. But we're still translating the bill from Spanish to English to send to our healthcare Let's see if they do pay out...

So watch your very young kids, keep all the floaties on, the staff is helpful, the doctors are knowledgeable, keep in mind that everyone there is out to help AND make a living so be a smart shopper, smart consumer, smart tourist, be safe and

Room Tip: the first # in the room numbers is usually a 3 and doens't seem to mean squat. the 2nd number te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Mayan Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Address: Av. Costera de las Palmas 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#2 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your The Grand Mayan Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Grand Mayan Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Mayan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Acapulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.