We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, limited everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Acapulco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Acapulco to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Costera Miguel Aleman 123, Acapulco 39670, Mexico (Formerly Costa Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location, limited everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Check In
Check-In did take some time as stated in some of the other reviews, but it really wasn’t that bad. It probably took about 20 minutes (including waiting for the 2 people ahead of me) which is very reasonable. The front desk staff spoke English very well and was very pleasant. I politely asked for a high floor room with a nice view and they came through assigning me room 2316.

Room
The room had a large king bed, large enough LCD TV, balcony...usual hotel stuff. But, there was no fridge! Which was critical for me since I like storing cold water and leftovers. They stay wasn’t too outstanding, but for the price it was great. There is a connecting door between my room and the one next to me which was pretty transparent for sound. Nothing crazy, but it was clear enough to heard the person in the next room sneeze. I almost wanted to just throw out a “bless you,” for fun.


Pool
There is a lazy river type situation, but it doesn’t loop around! It’s a one-way lazy river and then you swim the same way back. I was very disappointed in this since after reading other Tripadvisor reviews that it was a nice long lazy river. Also, they happened to be doing construction on the side with the swim up bar.

Luckily, I had friends stay at the Hotel Emporio which was a short walk away and used there pool. It was great! A super long lazy river (that looped), a water slide (I bruised my hip from going so fast), swim up bar, a large adult only pool (with cabanas!), and an infinity pool. Just cause of the pool, I’d stay at the Hotel Emporio next time!
Other Amenities
The pictures online kind of hinted at there would be tennis courts and basketball courts at the hotel. There weren’t. I think you have to ask to have it set up on the second floor deck. But I didn’t bother asking.

Electrical Outlets
These were the same as any electrical outlet you’d find in the US.

Elevators
The elevators were damn scary! All six of them! Every time you’d come to a stop on a floor, the elevator would drift up and down a few inches. You’d either trip or have to jump out. I was being very cautious and slightly regretted asking for a high floor room. After the first day of riding these elevators, I just threw caution to the wind after that. But they really should get these elevators serviced.

Food
I didn’t partake in any of the room service. I did try to grab breakfast at the restaurant, but didn’t want to pay for a full buffet after just waking up. For the most part, the restaurants appeared closed within the hotel so I searched for food elsewhere. There are a few restaurants across the street that were awesome. I had the COLDEST beer in Acapulco at “Metates” which was just across the street. They’re really a restaurant, but I really, really enjoyed those cold beers. Super clean/modern bathrooms too which was very surprising. The food was great! I ordered some tacos there which were super cheesey. I had to manually remove some cheese due to the over cheesiness, but it was good!

More at the Danger Avoider Blog!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-commerce at Crowne Plaza Acapulco, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are happy to learn that you enjoyed Acapulco and the Hotel. It will be a pleasure to be of your service again in a near future. Cordially,
Elvia Zavala/Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    183
    102
    69
    45
See reviews for
126
149
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The room that my husband and I stayed in was comfortable and clean and we were happy with our experience until we were told that two guests who had come to visit with us for an hour could not come to our room without paying a fee of around $20 per person. Not only is this an outrageous thing to charge for without prior notification or in any case, but it's an outrageous amount of money to expect guests to pay. The reception staff, and in particular a man named Jose Flores, were unreceptive and challenged my husband to report them. We both work in the customer service industry and not only was this poor behavior for employees to have towards guests but it showed no concern for guest satisfaction. Both Flores and the receptionist made no attempt to produce a solution or accommodate us in any way saying that they can't explain all of the hotel rules to every guest. (The fee was noted in tiny print on a posted paper at the far corner of the desk and was never indicated to us prior to our situation nor was it noted anywhere in the room..) What could have been an opportunity to create a new loyal customer, became a loss of potential future clientele and unhappy customers who will share their negative experience with friends and family who regularly visit Acapulco.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-commerce at Crowne Plaza Acapulco, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We appreciate your comments. Please accept our apologise for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay at our hotel. As a Crowne Plaza Acapulco Hotel, we do every effort to ensure that our guests receive the best service and attention of our staff. Guest security is our main concern as a brand hotel. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in a near future. Elvia Zavala/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Well located in the old Acapulco area, just in the heart of the city. It's clean, with hot water all the time, coffee machine in the room, blow dryer (always handy), TV, balcony... really nice. The decor and bed covers are plain and ordinary. The bath room still have traces of 5 stars times. The pool and beach area are small compared to the size of the hotel. Not bad in low-medium seasons.
A good option to be close to the locals, markets, souvenir shops, little restaurants, pharmacy, convenience stores, etc.

Room Tip: If high season, ask for a lower floor room. The elevator stops constantly, takes for ever to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, at Crowne Plaza Acapulco, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are happy to learn that you enjoyed Acapulco and the Hotel. It will be a pleasure to be of your service again in a near future. Cordially,
Elvia Zavala/Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Was in Acapulco for 10 days, this hotel was perfect, mornings were spent by the pool, quick lunch, then afternoons til dinner were spent on the beaches. Just beautiful! Service was great. I was travelling with 2 children one is 20, the other being 4. No complaints, thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-commerce at Crowne Plaza Acapulco, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are happy to learn that you enjoyed Acapulco and the Hotel. It will be a pleasure to be of your service again in a near future. Cordially,
Elvia Zavala/Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here. We found the beach to be much more hospitable here versus another hotel we spent time at. The people selling were kept at bay by the ropes and this allowed for much nicer beach time. The room was clean, staff was fine, walking distance to a lot of restaurants and oxxo, essential for bear and ice cream runs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, at Crowne Plaza Acapulco, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are happy to learn that you enjoyed Acapulco and the Hotel. It will be a pleasure to be of your service again in a near future. Cordially,
Elvia Zavala/Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Danced and had drinks at the Crowne....Great dance music and drinks were delicious.Hospitable waitstaff. Very knowlegeable concierge. Atmosphere sitting at tables in an "open-air" location, (ie-the entranceway) afforded a wonderful breeze
and view of the mountains.Definbitely nice place to visit for nightlife if you don't have the opportunity of staying there....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-commerce at Crowne Plaza Acapulco, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are happy to learn that you enjoyed Acapulco and the Hotel. It will be a pleasure to be of your service again in a near future. Cordially,
Elvia Zavala/Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was there for 1 week. The location and surroundings are very nic, safe and pretty clean .
overall , was good value for the money. Swimming pool area was great.
Although , the rooms could be more nice and re new furniture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-commerce at Crowne Plaza Acapulco, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We appreciate your comments and are happy to learn that you enjoyed Acapulco and the Hotel. It will be a pleasure to be of your service again in a near future. Cordially,
Elvia Zavala/Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Acapulco

Address: Av. Costera Miguel Aleman 123, Acapulco 39670, Mexico (Formerly Costa Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#10 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Acapulco is an impressive Hotel with a unique pyramidal architecture, facing the Ocean in the Heart of Acapulco Golden Zone, at 35 minutes from International Airport and 5 minutes from downtown Welcome to the most famous beach of the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Acapulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.