We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz Acapulco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ritz Acapulco to your Saves list
Ritz Acapulco
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Costera Miguel Aleman, 159, Acapulco 39670, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in January 2013. The beach was pleasant but the sea grubby and quite rough. Our room had a superb view and balcony, was huge - but tired. The bathroom was like a building site.
Good pool with water aerobics and other related games. Smoking inside several public areas - ugh!
Restaurant was more akin to a staff canteen and the food was awful. The 'selection' rarely varied and was mostly brown in colour and taste. The waiting staff were not always very friendly, but the worst staff were on reception where they seemed to compete for rudeness and were totally unhelpful. We did enjoy the free drinks, but they will not entice us ever to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    99
    55
    22
    30
See reviews for
82
70
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very surpise to see that a 3 star hotel ,could be so clean, friendly,and wonderful shows each night.The staff are all nice and make you feel at home . As for the food , they have a snack bar, serving hambergars, club sandwitch etc, there is alot of Mexican food ,but honstly a touch of ours also,but besides all was very good. Once a week you r allowed to go the resturant a la carte (no charge) this was awsome and so good,the filet mignon was perfect and my sister took fettuchinni alfredo with shrimps,delicious ,what more do u want.We were on the 9th floor and ,god what a beautiful view, half the ocean and the sight of the mountains far away. The sunset was beautiful. I stayed alot of places in Acapulco,4 and 5 stars were all was included, but to tell the truth, I do recommend this to u all ,I know i will go back ,cause for a 3 star, , I really am happy that I got to stay there .Til next year .........

Room Tip: starting from the 8th floor and ocean view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Writing this from the Ritz lobby----Feb. 17, 2013
My 4th time staying here----food has not been as varied nor as tasty as in previous stays.Hotel is still clean, but in much disrepair! Piece of concrete fell off facade and repair was simply made by painting over the !missing 18" slab.
Visitor fell on wet cement and no wheelchair a the hotel!
Dining and pool is taken over by rude tour groups from Friday to Sunday! Poolside music blares-way too loud!
I will definitely check out other venues for my month's stay next year! I will miss the great staff, but SAFETY FIRST!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Jan 2, - 9, 2013 Nice clean hotel, basic and dated but well maintained. Good location, pleasant staff, good food, nice beach and view. Enjoyed a harbour tour and a city tour - the cliff divers were amazing!
Mattresses were hard!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Very basic rooms, but very clean. For the amount of time spent in the room they are perfect. The food was always good and the staff more than friendly. The hotel is on the beach and there is a pool where activities are organized by the animation staff. If you want to go to sit on the beach, eat and enjoy a drink or 2, this is perfect! It was quite busy when we were there (Jan 2-9) so we had to be on the beach at 7:30am to get chairs.
I would not hesitate to go back to the Ritz Acapulco!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have just returned from our annual three week break for christmas and new year. This year we returned to Acapulco, and chose the Ritz, after being there ten years ago. One of the reasons for returning was the position on the beach front. Now for the Pros and Cons.

Pro;s
The situation of the hotel cannot be faulted, it has a brilliant private beach area which is roped off from the public. Only problem is if you are on the front row you are liable to see all the sellers passing by. Very colourful, and the waiter looking after the beach, is exceptional, by far the nicest, most amicable member of staff in the hotel.

Other members of staff, on the whole reasonably friendly as long as you remember to tip.

The air conditioning in the room worked really well, and to be honest cannot be faulted.

Cons:

We had booked for three weeks way back in June, and paid a lot for the priveledge. Although the check in was quick, the request for a higher floor had been ignored, and we had to change the following morning.

The hotel is definately down market now, and is aiming its business at the mexican market. We had to remind certain members of staff that we were there for three weeks, not a couple of days from mexico city, where the majority of guests came from. We found ourselves obviously ignored at times in the dining room, and although we appreciate that the hotel is VERY busy, it was obvious that they had favourites, and we were not included in such.
The standard of food was appalling. We found it difficult to find something edible most meal times. I cannot understand that there could not have been at least one western option at all mealtimes.
The only saving grace was the lady on the hot plate cooking the omellettes every morning. She was extremely quick and friendly, and as such, we gave her the largest tip. By far the only person who appeared to take any interest in us in the dining room.

The room we were moved to on the tenth floor was certainly large, with an efficeint air conditioning unit which kept us cool. That is about all we can say. The beds are hard, a mattress sitting on a concrete plinth. The sheets were clean, but after a few days, we are both convinced that we were bitten by something, as we were scratching in the mornings. The cleanliness in the bathroom and sitting areas were on first appearances clean, but on closer inspection, left a lot to be desired.

The beach is wonderful, with a short ten paces to the waters edge from the roped off area. The guy who puts out the furniture is helpful, but you have to be there early for a good position. The pool is extremely noisy and should be avoided.

A waitress at lunchtime on our last full day was standing gossiping at the hotplate, and rudely banged a tip box in front of us. Not what we would expect, and extremely rude.

Room Tip: If you are a westerner, dont book here under any circumstances. Aiming at the cheap family mexican...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I agree with everyone about the view. Hotel room was clean and very basic. I travel a lot south and to Mexico - went to Cancun the month before. I found the food at this hotel horrible. We like to go to Mexico becaue the food is usually excellent. Breakfast depended on the cook at the time - eggs were usually burnt on the bottum and raw on the top - bread was toasted on the same grill...lunch was good...but dinner wasn't much better than breakfast. There wasn't much selection. The service in the restaurants were excellent though (the few times we ate here) In the week we stayed we might have eaten at the hotel 7 times. They have one alacart but don't let you know about it - it was only open one night. Heard the food in there was really good. Paid $68.00 u.s. for the dinner/cliff divers show. The show was really good but the dinner wasn't. I had Chicken Parmesan (it had no cheese on it - I mean none) and my husband had chicken fajitas (the chicken was burnt and inedible and came without tortilias) He didn't eat any of it and they never asked if wanted something else. We had a great time using the local buses though and trying to find places to eat. One place we would recomment would be Jimmy's - down by the Walmart. And there is a restaurant/bar down the beach - can't remember the name of it but the Corona was cheap and the whole bbq snapper was good. The beds were really hard - we had to get up at 2 am and take an advil so we could get out of bed at 7 am lol

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#14 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#15 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#12 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Copacabana Beach Hotel
Copacabana Beach Hotel
#38 of 179 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krystal Beach Acapulco
Hotel Krystal Beach Acapulco
#45 of 179 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Acapulco

Address: Costera Miguel Aleman, 159, Acapulco 39670, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ritz Acapulco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a great ALL INCLUSIVE experience. Enjoy the privilege of a wonderful All Inclusive vacation with the "RITZ" touch in beautiful rooms with bay view, along with an excellent program that offers daytime activities, night shows, exquisite buffet meals and unlimited domestic drinks of national brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ritz Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Ritz Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Ritz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz Acapulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.