We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and the Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Malibu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Acapulco Malibu to your Saves list
Acapulco Malibu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costera Miguel Aleman 20, Acapulco 39690, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 177 Hotels in Acapulco
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Good and the Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for 12 days in February 2014. The rooms are just ok, This is not a 4 star it is more like a 2 or maybe a 3 star. What really stands out is the service, the food and the wonderful people that stay there every Jan, Feb and March. On Tue and Wed nights 6pm till 10pm, they have AnnMarie, Ricardo and Dino singing, they are awesome. Don't miss it ! The regular crowd that stay there during those months are an older group ( 50 and up ) very fun people.The one thing you may not like is...the beds are rock hard, we got foam from Walmart and that really helped. I do plan on returning with my foam next year. Yes the place needs updating but it does have a beautiful beach and views.

Room Tip: Try to book a room towards the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
19
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Bruno de Montarville Québec
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The only good thing is the amiability of the personnel and their gentleness.
You do not sleep on Saturday night, because they rent the pool to people and the music is at its loudest until the 2 o'clock of Sunday morning.
Expensive : 915 pesos (almost 60 euros or 75$) without the breakfast !!!!.
When You arrive not even a glass water in the empty carafe.
To have hot water turn the knob to the cold one !!!
My bathroom's door was falling down, tho days after finally they fixed it.

Room Tip: Avoid first four floors facing the Costera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Location of the hotel is not so great. It's like a 30 minute walk to get to the bars and clubs. Breakfast is nice, but a bit expensive. This hotel has a really nice and big private beach. I visited the crown plaza, and their beach is sooooo small and not relaxing because there are soooo many people trying to see u stuff. U can get a massage in front of the beach but you'll have someone approach u trying to see u things. Fr this reason the beach at this hotel is very nice. The current is very strong. The water pulls u in. Across the street from the hotel u can hop on a "party bus" public transportation with club like music. The party bus will take u down to el zocalo and the bars and clubs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights. We got the best rate from beststay.com/mx. The Tabasco restaurant was also very affordable and has great views of the bay and sits right on the beach.

Nice pools. Friendly staff. The only thing I didn't like is they still use old style door knobs on the rooms so anyone can get in using a credit card or license. We did not have any issues with this though.

The hotel area we were in is more for Mexican Nationals than foreigners but don't let that scare you. People were very nice.

Going in June, it was very hot. The AC in the room was always nice after spending a day in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel has always been a sort of tradition in my family, we have been coming here ever since I was a baby. And although the hotel´s installations have not changed a lot ever since, it still has that nice and comfortable feeling.
I now come here with my husband at least once a year; he didn´t know this hotel but he liked it ever since our first stay.
The rooms are very spacious and large, also the bathroom has the right size. Ammenities are provided and the cleanness of the rooms are always done on time. You also have a mini fridge available in every room and a small kitchenette in case you want to walk to a nearby grocery store and buy a few beers or snacks.
The pool could be a bit larger, but if you go in low occupation dates you don´t have to worry since you practically have it to yourself.
The restaurant serves a delicious buffet style breakfast with varied mexican style dishes and also a variety of fruits and fresh juices along with other options. We also have had dinner there and it´s also delicious if you don´t want to get out of the hotel and walk to nearby restaurants. The menu overall has a great price and variety for all tastes.
The service provided by the staff it´s always polite and friendly.
The hotel has an excellent location since it´s practically next door to the so called diamond zone in Acapulco where you can get to shopping malls, restaurants and other touristic atractions like the water park Cici Acapulco by walking since it´s so close to everything.
Definitely a come back and must visit if you´d rather save on your stay and would like to spend more on other touristic activities available at this great place.

Room Tip: If you go on low occupancy dates always ask if they have an available room on the new building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife Susie and I just wanted to have drinks and dinner with her friend Sandy at the hotel over looking the beach front to see the sunset and it was worth it. We enjoyed our drinks during happy hour. I ordered the Filet Mignon steak and it was the best meal that I have eaten in Acapulco.
Looking forward in going again before we go back home to Florida.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I reviewed the Acapulco Malibu awhile ago, and everything is the same, except for their Tues night parties. Starting at 6pm (happy hour from 6-7pm) the Malibu has wonderful live music in their outdoor bar/restaurant. Ricardo plays the electric piano and Raoul (Mr. Acapulco) and Ann Marie sing. Their repertoire is filled with all the great old American songs--the American songbook--and they throw in some rock and country.

If you like good music and love to dance, don't miss this. I think these parties only run through the end of February, maybe through the beginning of March. I think they may also play on Weds nights, but am not sure. Get there early, the place was packed this past Tuesday.

Room Tip: One problem with this hotel is the extremely hard mattresses on the beds. Also, they have no fitnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acapulco Malibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Malibu

Address: Costera Miguel Aleman 20, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#16 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acapulco Malibu 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acapulco Malibu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Malibu Hotel Acapulco
Malibu Hotel Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acapulco Malibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.