We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Affordable through beststay.com/mx, Great water view from Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Malibu

Save Saved
You added Acapulco Malibu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acapulco Malibu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costera Miguel Aleman 20, Acapulco 39690, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 177 hotels in Acapulco
Warren, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Affordable through beststay.com/mx, Great water view from Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights. We got the best rate from beststay.com/mx. The Tabasco restaurant was also very affordable and has great views of the bay and sits right on the beach.

Nice pools. Friendly staff. The only thing I didn't like is they still use old style door knobs on the rooms so anyone can get in using a credit card or license. We did not have any issues with this though.

The hotel area we were in is more for Mexican Nationals than foreigners but don't let that scare you. People were very nice.

Going in June, it was very hot. The AC in the room was always nice after spending a day in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
19
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel has always been a sort of tradition in my family, we have been coming here ever since I was a baby. And although the hotel´s installations have not changed a lot ever since, it still has that nice and comfortable feeling.
I now come here with my husband at least once a year; he didn´t know this hotel but he liked it ever since our first stay.
The rooms are very spacious and large, also the bathroom has the right size. Ammenities are provided and the cleanness of the rooms are always done on time. You also have a mini fridge available in every room and a small kitchenette in case you want to walk to a nearby grocery store and buy a few beers or snacks.
The pool could be a bit larger, but if you go in low occupation dates you don´t have to worry since you practically have it to yourself.
The restaurant serves a delicious buffet style breakfast with varied mexican style dishes and also a variety of fruits and fresh juices along with other options. We also have had dinner there and it´s also delicious if you don´t want to get out of the hotel and walk to nearby restaurants. The menu overall has a great price and variety for all tastes.
The service provided by the staff it´s always polite and friendly.
The hotel has an excellent location since it´s practically next door to the so called diamond zone in Acapulco where you can get to shopping malls, restaurants and other touristic atractions like the water park Cici Acapulco by walking since it´s so close to everything.
Definitely a come back and must visit if you´d rather save on your stay and would like to spend more on other touristic activities available at this great place.

Room Tip: If you go on low occupancy dates always ask if they have an available room on the new building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife Susie and I just wanted to have drinks and dinner with her friend Sandy at the hotel over looking the beach front to see the sunset and it was worth it. We enjoyed our drinks during happy hour. I ordered the Filet Mignon steak and it was the best meal that I have eaten in Acapulco.
Looking forward in going again before we go back home to Florida.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I reviewed the Acapulco Malibu awhile ago, and everything is the same, except for their Tues night parties. Starting at 6pm (happy hour from 6-7pm) the Malibu has wonderful live music in their outdoor bar/restaurant. Ricardo plays the electric piano and Raoul (Mr. Acapulco) and Ann Marie sing. Their repertoire is filled with all the great old American songs--the American songbook--and they throw in some rock and country.

If you like good music and love to dance, don't miss this. I think these parties only run through the end of February, maybe through the beginning of March. I think they may also play on Weds nights, but am not sure. Get there early, the place was packed this past Tuesday.

Room Tip: One problem with this hotel is the extremely hard mattresses on the beds. Also, they have no fitnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
664 helpful votes 664 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and her mum stayed at The Maibu 30/11/12 to 3/12/12 ( 3 nights ). The room was excellent same as last time we stayed only difference this time was myself and 2 daughters weren't with them. When we were there in 2011 we hired 2 rooms and all my wife's family ( who are from Acapuco ) stayed with us ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the 2 4 1 deal on drinks 18;00 to 20;00. They also used the pool as did the kids and had a really good time. HOWEVER not this time my wife was informed this time any guest's would have to pay 500 paso's EACH PER DAY to dine and use the facilities. ( That's roughly £26 each ) As the restaurant is fairly pricey all they were going to do was chill out and let the kids paddle in the kids pool which has a small slide that goes into no more than 2 foot of water. So my wife had to spend time away from the hotel and they all went to Crowne Plaza where her sister used to work and through 1 of the bosses got all the famil passes as non residents ( in the hotel ). Such a shame that different rules and greedyness stopped my wife and family from having a wonderful family re-union ( get together every 2-3 years ) and I say shame on you Hotel Malibu for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to this hotel since 2000 and it only keeps getting better. It may be an old hotel without all the glitz, but the staff are wonderful and very attentive, the restaurant overlooking the Bay of Acapulco is great - great food, great values, lovely staff - and the location of the hotel could not be beat.

It is immediately across the street from the 9-hole, 18-starts Club de Golf de Acapulco and the Tennis Club, both open to the public. And we get nice discounts at the golf club by asking the hotel for discount cards. Only 375 pesos for 9 holes - which equates to about $30. Another 150 pesos ($11) for a caddy - which improves your game when someone else is carrying your bags and finding your out-of-bounds golf balls. And it is a very beautiful course to walk. Carts are available, but why ride?

And the location is close to so many wonderful restaurants. We walk to most of them and enjoy great food at a great price. From time to time, we'll take a bus downtown to a fabulous restaurant for Pollo a la Brasa. It's 6 pesos for the bus ($.50) each way and they're fun to ride with their loud music. It's 7 pesos if you MUST have an air-conditioned bus. And only 5 pesos for seniors.

So many good restaurants that we cannot go to them all if you are only here one week.

And Acapulco has the greatest weather - ALL THE TIME!

More importantly, if you stay in the tourist area, it is very, very safe. Not coming to Acapulco because you hear one bad report, is like not going to New York City because someone was killed or raped in Harlem.

But you can count on the news media to blow it all out of proportion.

One note: the beds are very hard, which is exactly what my husband and I and our friends love. When my sister comes, she stops at the Walmart and pays $10 for a foam cover to put on the mattress since she likes it soft. Whatever.

Note 2: the hotel is part of Interval International if you want to trade a timeshare week at your place for here. Weeks run Friday to Friday if you are on a timeshare. But the value is usually better than your week at a Marriott or other resort. A week here is about $775.

Room Tip: Water pressure gets lower the higher the floor. Try to get a room that is not overlooking the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovakia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

very friendy hotel between like skyscrapers hotel around. Own beach, restaurant with good meal and comfortable room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acapulco Malibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Malibu

Address: Costera Miguel Aleman 20, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#16 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acapulco Malibu 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Acapulco Malibu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Malibu Hotel Acapulco
Malibu Hotel Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acapulco Malibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.