We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trashy hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emporio Acapulco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Emporio Acapulco Hotel to your Saves list
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Costera Miguel Aleman 121 | Fracc Magallanes, Acapulco 39670, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Trashy hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Trashy rundown hotel! Run! Do not book here! We arrived to a room the smelled of mildew on the 10th floor. We requested to move rooms and were moved to a room that smelled better but had no working air. Maintenance came and worked on the air for an hour and finally fixed it. The suite that we got was grossly called a suite with rust on the picture frame, no hot water in the sink and no hot water to take a shower at night. In travels all around the world and throughout the United States and Mexico, this was the worst! We had reservations for three nights and cancelled the remaining 2 nights when we had more issues then we could take. At checkout the front desk offered no discounts, no comps, just a weak apology! We moved to the Fairmont Pierre Marque... Heaven!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    212
    77
    48
    44
See reviews for
182
154
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights after staying at Las Brisas Acapulco. Comparing Emporio to Las Brisas won't be fair, Emporio is a notch down, but also cheaper and a lot more centrally located.

Talking about the location; if you want to be in the center of everything in Acapulco Emporio is absolutely one of the best places to stay. Just across the road there is a shopping mall with shops like Lacoste, Zara and places to eat and drink like Burger King and Starbucks and also a big cinema. A lot of other restaurants, bars and smaller shops are also located in walking distance of Emporio. Taxis running by all the time if you want to get further around.

The hotel offers direct access to the main beach in Acapulco, which is very convenient.

The hotel grounds are beautiful with a tropical touch. The rooms come with sea view and a balcony. Big bed and a nice bathroom are also pluses. On the bad side some of the equipment in the hotel are getting out of date. E.g. did the staff have to repair our refrigerator which wasn't cooling enough at all. The ironer in our room didn't work either, and to spend time asking for help to solve this kind of problems is irritating and not something you want to use your time on while on holidays. The last bad experience we had was about the lack of knowledge some of the staff have about which of the few bus terminals who offers the different destinations from Acapulco. We were going with bus to Zihuatanejo / Ixtapa after our stay in Acapulco, and asked several staff members about which terminal we should be going to. We where told the wrong bus terminal, which caused that we missed our bus, which again caused us a great delay and much problems.

The hotel restaurant offers buffets at different times during the day for about 200 Mexican Pesos (per buffet) and a la carte menus. My girlfriend tried the evening buffet and wasn't too happy about it. I had a fish a la diabla and it was tasty. The service was excellent and the prices were fair.

All in all we felt we were given a good value for our money (we got a very good deal using one of many hotel search engines on the Internet), and can easily recommend this hotel for both families, business travelers and solos/pairs.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights in April and completely enjoyed our stay. The view of the bay from our room was incredible and we spent a lot of time on our balcony. Ahhhhh...... I wish I was there now! The grounds were amazing for a hotel on the strip. There is a beautiful tropical garden, surrounding 3 pools, with walkways and restaurants. Palm trees go out onto the beach, providing some shade. There are 2 adult only pools, one being an infinity pool, and a family pool that is like a river, with a waterslide and swim-up bar. The hotel rents cabanas on the beach, by the day, and then reimburses the cost to you with food and drink. Not a bad deal. It was wonderful to lay there, with a waiter waiting on us throughout the day. We rented a waverunner and went parasailing right from the beach in front of the hotel. We had the breakfast buffet included with our room and really enjoyed it. Great selections, including omelet station, fresh fruit, pastries, mexican dishes, and many types of fresh juices. Try jugo verde. You'd be surprised how good it is! Every morning we sat outside on the restaurant deck overlooking the pool and beach, listening to the waves, enjoying the breeze, and eating our breakfast. Our favorite restaurant at the hotel was their Sunset restaurant, the best part being that it is right on the beach, close to the ocean, surrounded by palm trees. It had a really good feel to it. The only problem was it was open sporadically when we were there.

The rooms were pretty good, the best part being the view and balcony. They were clean and updated. Lighting in bathroom was poor. Our room did not have a fridge, it only had a minibar, which was locked. To unlock it, we would have had to buy the entire contents. We passed on this and just made frequent trips to the Oxxo store across the street. The safe was digital, so that you can enter your own personal code to lock and unlock it. Just a note, my husband's laptop would not fit in it. Water was always hot in shower. A free bottle of drinking water was left by maid every day. Wifi was free but spotty, being best on balcony or in public areas. Our only real complaint about our stay was that when we arrived at 10PM at night, we were given an extremely musty room and it took them 2 hours to get us moved into a new room, which was much better but still a little musty. After an exhausting day of travel, this was not a pleasant welcome. The rest of our stay, the service was top notch. Staff was very friendly, remembering our names, many speaking some english and patient with our spanish, lol. No problems with check-in or check-out.

Overall, we loved our stay there and hope to stay there again. We looked at other hotels along the costera and there really didn't seem to be any place quite like it, as far as the grounds and tropical garden feel around the pools.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Emporio is a traditional plush renovated hotel. You can not go wrong with the weather. Great location near the mall and markets. Really clean, beds and pillows comfortable. The adult pools surrounded with tropical foliage are awesome. The plush sun beds are so comfortable. The professional massages by the pools only 350 Pesos. Safety was not an issue but watch out when you cross the Costera (Main boulevard), the traffic is intense. The hotel is quiet during the week but the week-ends gets busy and fun with people visiting from the capital. Acapulco is one of the few places where you always feel young (and silly is OK). The room had fridge, microwave, coffemaker, BUT NO COFFE!!! FOR SALE AT 20 PESOS, VERY INEXPENSIVE, BUT YOU HAVE TO CALL SOMEONE TO SEND IT TO YOUR ROOM and wait for it. I wonder how much con they save by not providing the coffe for free? Or if they need the extra 20 pesos they could ask the person when you check in your want your room with coffee or not and if so charge the extra 20 pesos. Yeah you guessed it right I am a coffee drinker.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

overall this hotel is really nice. a few positives.. really clean. nice looking pools. on the beach. greAt location for the mall and markets. free internet. runs greats deals. and has a good restaurant. cabanas and chairs are free when you spend 200 pesos on drinks.

But there were a few negatives also the pools were too cold for my 6 month old. with this hotel at the center of the bay it was packed with the people trying to sell you souvenirs and food. also the worst part... has nothing to do with the hotel but there is the main road coming into the city right next to the hotel so when it rains there is a huge river running into the ocean of the dirtiest water in mexico straight from the dirty streets with garbage and filth going right into the ocean. the hotel did a nice job of having the trash picked up right after the rain stopped but the water of the ocean was still a brown circle in front of this hotel and the few surrounding. if you dont swin in the ocean its fine but you wouldnt want to put your kids in it after thats for sure. i wonder if there is some kind of net or something that would help with this issue.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went for 2 weeks at the end of February. It was a deal from Sunwing we could not resist with the almost All Inclusive package. The Emporio was renovated a few years ago.
You can not go wrong with the weather. The location of the Emporio is excellent. The views from the 10th floor were breathtaking, the beds and pillows comfortable. The package deal with the almost all inclusive program was so reasonable that it did not prevent us from going to one of the most glamourous restaurants, Zibu. The 2 ADULT POOLS surrounded with tropical foliage were greatly appreciated. The plush sun beds were so comfortable, we would go back just for that. The food was always fresh with more authentic mexican dishes than regular All Inclusive resorts. Our Sunwing Tour Rep. was very professional. Some of our favourite staff: Paulo, Ramses, Carlos, Manuel, Lizette, Jesus, Ceasar to name a few; always working hard with a smile. The professional massages by the pools = 5*, only 350 Pesos. Another reason to go back. Safety was not an issue but watch out when you cross the Costera (Main boulevard), the traffic is intense; but great shoe stores across the street! The hotel was more quiet during the week but the week-ends were busy and fun with people visiting from the capital. There is a Scotia Bank with ATM just around the corner. The Emporio is gay welcoming and the night life close by is very Picante. Acapulco is one of the few places where you always feel young (and silly is OK).

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view but higher floors are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

PROS:
Amazing drinks around the pool - very tasty and good prices (thanks Jesus!)
Having adult only pools
Location in the middle of the Costera
Amazing views from the room which were very clean
Excellent service generally - friendly and helful staff

CONS:
Water pressure and temperature in the shower could vary
Very long queues for check-in and check-out
The food is very tasty but lacked presentation
Not enough deckchairs around the pools - ou have to get up early and go downstairs to reserve them if you want somewhere to sit during the day
Parking for staying guests should really be free
Wi-fi doesn't reach the rooms

Room Tip: Anythign above the 6th floor will give you the views worth coming for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emporio Acapulco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Acapulco Hotel

Address: Av Costera Miguel Aleman 121 | Fracc Magallanes, Acapulco 39670, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Acapulco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 419
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Emporio Acapulco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Emporio Hotel
Emporio Acapulco
Hotel Emporio Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporio Acapulco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.