We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude front desk staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Copacabana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copacabana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tabachines 2 | Club Deportivo, Acapulco 39690, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 177 hotels in Acapulco
Estes Park, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extremely rude front desk staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here about a week ago and all us noticed how rude the front desk people were. We had to pay for and extra person but the lady that was telling us was telling us in a rude way. The room size was ok and it was fairly clean and we did like the room service. It's a pretty big hotel and their pool is really small. If you bring a car you still have to pay for over night parking. If you plan on making room to room calls or any kind of calls even front desk calls they do charge for them. When we got there there wasn't anybody to welcome us and explain to us where everything is, the only ones that were there were the housemen. Their beach has some really tough waves so this wouldn't be a place to bring kids or beginner swimmers. oh and by the way one of the days that we were there in the morning there was an earthquake/tsumani drill and nobody let us know, so when it happened we thought it was real and we all got scared and we had to run down from the 8th floor barefooted with our pj's and carrying kids that were still asleep. It was jut a sucky hotel but the rooms were clean, that's the only thing we liked about it. There are plenty of other hotels wherethe parking is free and they don't charge you for room to room calls. Save your money :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    88
    65
    42
    56
See reviews for
87
50
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for a week on the first part of our vacation in Mexico. It´s a cheerful and friendly hotel with the perfect location if you want to enjoy the beach as it is literally next to the beach! This means fabulous views all day every day. Our room was just OK and nothing luxurious but bright, colorful and full of natural light and also reasonably clean.It had a Mexican feel which was nice. We booked with food and drinks included in the price and it was well worth it as the buffet was very good and it was great to be able to drink without thinking about prices. They have a nice pool which overlooks the beach so if you want to give the beach a miss one day it´s just as good to sit around the pool. There were plenty of sun loungers and good bar service. Copacabana is a good all round beach hotel and we had a great time here although there are certain areas that are not recommeneded for tourists to visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Poor location, poor value for money, extremely rude staff, unclean rooms, food/drink quality not great.

My friend and I were horribly disappointed at this hotel. The only nice thing about it was our view over the beach from the window.

Definitely do not stay here, you will want to stay somewhere further along the street (towards the main shopping centre) and in much better condition.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel feels like a return to the 1970's; clearly dated. The front desk staff and the concierge were terribly and unjustifiably rude. Extremely rude. Concierge turned his back to me after I asked for directions to a restaurant. The front desk staff tried to cheat me when I checked-in. Then, they called my room on day 3 of my 5 day stay and said "what do you think you are doing? check out time was hours ago" and then no apology when I showed them the copy of the 5 day reservation. Check your bill carefully as the mistakes do not appear to be random. Very noisy at night. There are other choices in this city. I recommend NOT staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is dated and feels like a time warp into the 1970's. The front desk staff and the concierge people are extremely rude. Ask a simple question (example: "could you tell me where I can find a map of the area?" and the answer was "no, just take a taxi" and turned away). Front desk tried to cheat me repeatedly. There are other hotels in Acapulco where the hassle-factor is significantly lower. There are better choices so I recommend NOT staying at this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I can't say it was a bad place. ( I've stayed in worse places) It was a big disappointment.
Beach was nice. vendors were not they are very aggressive water was rough and not suitable for children or avg swimmers. pool very small, water was dirty, seats many were broken.
food and beaverage. food cold no to very little selection meats tough and overcooked pasta was good. drinks small glasses weak drinks with no name liquors if you have a choice drink the beer
People: check in was great bell service quick and friendly wait staff no problems housekeeping service did a nice but not timely job, somedays houskeepng would be done by 11:00 in the morning some days it was as late as 5 pm or anytime in between.
Room and Building: room was nice. clean no mold no smell good view clean sheets, soft bed.
air conditioning not so good was cool but had to run all the time and never really cooled the room very well.
Building well taken care of, landscaping nice
Elevators are very small and run slowly

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Not one of my favourite hotels, room was a good size but the brown/grey tiling/flooring I felt made it look slightly unclean, although I don't think it was. Very large shower. I dislike lifts so had a room on the second floor which could be accessed via the fire excape doors onto the upper veranda, which are never closed. Many Mexicans staying and they crowded the fairly small swimming pool. Food was buffet style and very good, although waiters/waitress were not always attentive and had a poor attitude. (if) Next time I will stay in another hotel

Room Tip: Friends who were staying on seventh floor said their rooms were of poor quality, maybe they are refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copacabana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Beach Hotel

Address: Tabachines 2 | Club Deportivo, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Copacabana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Beach Acapulco
Copacabana Acapulco
Hotel Copacabana Beach
Copacabana Hotel Acapulco Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.