We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY ELSEWHERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Copacabana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Copacabana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tabachines 2 | Club Deportivo, Acapulco 39690, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 177 Hotels in Acapulco
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“STAY ELSEWHERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Poor location, poor value for money, extremely rude staff, unclean rooms, food/drink quality not great.

My friend and I were horribly disappointed at this hotel. The only nice thing about it was our view over the beach from the window.

Definitely do not stay here, you will want to stay somewhere further along the street (towards the main shopping centre) and in much better condition.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    92
    69
    42
    56
See reviews for
92
52
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel feels like a return to the 1970's; clearly dated. The front desk staff and the concierge were terribly and unjustifiably rude. Extremely rude. Concierge turned his back to me after I asked for directions to a restaurant. The front desk staff tried to cheat me when I checked-in. Then, they called my room on day 3 of my 5 day stay and said "what do you think you are doing? check out time was hours ago" and then no apology when I showed them the copy of the 5 day reservation. Check your bill carefully as the mistakes do not appear to be random. Very noisy at night. There are other choices in this city. I recommend NOT staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is dated and feels like a time warp into the 1970's. The front desk staff and the concierge people are extremely rude. Ask a simple question (example: "could you tell me where I can find a map of the area?" and the answer was "no, just take a taxi" and turned away). Front desk tried to cheat me repeatedly. There are other hotels in Acapulco where the hassle-factor is significantly lower. There are better choices so I recommend NOT staying at this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I can't say it was a bad place. ( I've stayed in worse places) It was a big disappointment.
Beach was nice. vendors were not they are very aggressive water was rough and not suitable for children or avg swimmers. pool very small, water was dirty, seats many were broken.
food and beaverage. food cold no to very little selection meats tough and overcooked pasta was good. drinks small glasses weak drinks with no name liquors if you have a choice drink the beer
People: check in was great bell service quick and friendly wait staff no problems housekeeping service did a nice but not timely job, somedays houskeepng would be done by 11:00 in the morning some days it was as late as 5 pm or anytime in between.
Room and Building: room was nice. clean no mold no smell good view clean sheets, soft bed.
air conditioning not so good was cool but had to run all the time and never really cooled the room very well.
Building well taken care of, landscaping nice
Elevators are very small and run slowly

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Not one of my favourite hotels, room was a good size but the brown/grey tiling/flooring I felt made it look slightly unclean, although I don't think it was. Very large shower. I dislike lifts so had a room on the second floor which could be accessed via the fire excape doors onto the upper veranda, which are never closed. Many Mexicans staying and they crowded the fairly small swimming pool. Food was buffet style and very good, although waiters/waitress were not always attentive and had a poor attitude. (if) Next time I will stay in another hotel

Room Tip: Friends who were staying on seventh floor said their rooms were of poor quality, maybe they are refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

very friendly staff always ready to help you out
the hotel is close to the bars clubs and markets
family hotel but also good for singles

only one restaurants and they serve almost the same food every day

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here for one night prior to a cruise from Acapulco. We arrived at the hotel quite late at night (past 11pm). There was a "party" going on with very loud music that could be heard at the reception/lobby. Thankfully, it was quiet in our room. Check-in was quick. Room was quite large and reasonably clean. Bed sheets and bathroom were clean. The wooden floor feels "sandy". Stains, sand and dirt on the cushions on the chairs (well it's a beach hotel so we were not surprised). The hotel is close to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copacabana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Beach Hotel

Address: Tabachines 2 | Club Deportivo, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copacabana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Beach Acapulco
Copacabana Acapulco
Hotel Copacabana Beach
Copacabana Hotel Acapulco Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.