We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds, clean beach, good service, but rooms that open to center atrium can be noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Acapulco Princess to your Saves list
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Revolcadero s/n | Col Granjas del Marques, Acapulco 39890 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds, clean beach, good service, but rooms that open to center atrium can be noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference then spent an extra day as a tourist. Good hotel for both purposes. The hotel was 100% occupied, despite that, service at restaurants and front desk was good. Room was clean, with a comfortable bed, large and nicely furnished, but because it opened to the center lobby atrium the noise from the lobby and lobby bar (live music on weekends) was an issue. It didn't bother me, but would definitely be a problem for a light sleeper. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and other than the fruit not always being at the peak of ripeness, the breakfasts were excellent - lots of choices.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms that open to the lobby atrium unless backgrund noise does not bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    247
    174
    95
    89
See reviews for
378
196
15
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel has this charm of the 70's when the investment, the land and the size were not issues on hotel construction. Equipped with a superb convention facility, Its most glorious days have passed away, but the charm is still there. You will not get anything close on square feet / dollar on the gardens, pools and beachfront. Used to be far from Acapulco downtown. Now it is in the center of the scene and is one of the best places to play golf, or tennis or just relax and see the time pass by enjoying a drink and admiring the lush gardens. Rooms in the main tower are just basic, but efficient and oh my god! large!. The restored rooms in the other towers have the chic taste of modern decor, but I still prfer the basic. One of the best experiences of your life is to have an exellent breakfast buffet in the Chulavista restaurant. Just being there seeing the big waves clashing on a wide beach is worth the effort.

Room Tip: Choose the pyramid tower and try to get an ocean front room on higher than 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My 2 cousins and I stayed there for 4 days. Hotel had all we needed and more, we enjoyed the buffet breakfast and room service was great.
One of our favorite things was the saltwater pool and cascade, must try that. Also the beach is private so that was a plus.
Service was excellent and they helped us with everythign we asked for.
You can't really tell that this an old hotel, it certainly keeps up with today's standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent hotel and facilities including own golf club. Although being nearly forty years old this hotel still shows how top hotels should operate and look after its customers.

Frequent taxi service to downtown Acapulco which is not what it was in its heyday forty years ago - but still worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I was here in 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. There was some renovation going on but did not effect the overall resort. Prices were reasonable for the full service received would I walk around the premises outside the gate no, but the grounds and beach are very enjoyable. Check it out.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Princess has been around for a while. It was the first of its kind in Acapulco and although there have been many new ones built near it, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the quality and standards continue to be maintained as when it was brand new.

The hotel, despite being over 40 years old, is impeccable. There seems to be no scrimping on maintenance. I found no hint of anything old or unkempt. The rooms were very well maintained, the common areas as well, and I can say I was impressed.

The service was also very good. At the pool bar, when I saw an employee there, I ordered a drink. It turned out he was merely doing inventory and the pool bar was not going to be open due to the fact that it was low season, and when I expressed my disappointment, he personally went to fetch us our drink orders.

The breakfast buffet was extremely well supplied with a wide variety of great food, including a quesadilla bar, egg bar, fruits, all kinds of breads, etc., etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Traveled here for business and it was fabulous! The open air lobby immediately set the stage for this beautiful resort. The tropical pool area was wonderful and had great options for kids and a refreshing swim up bar for adults. Every night, we enjoyed chips and the house guacamole (divine!) and watched the sunset.

Not sure that I'd swim in the ocean along the beach here because some times the water isn't clean there and there were quite a few peddlers. Instead enjoy water activities and gorgeous ocean views from the pool area.

The staff was wonderful and arranged for nice tours to the nearby cliff divers. Also, they arranged for a taxi to take us shopping into town. The taxi driver stayed with us the entire time and escorted us in the shops. This was a wonderful service and well worth paying a little more to ensure our safety and make sure we weren't taken advantage of while bartering for souvenirs.

The golf course is also wonderful and is ideal for business or pleasure. Conference facilities were nice and the outdoor parties they hosted were authentic and relaxing.

Would recommend this this resort for families, couples and business!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Acapulco Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Address: Playa Revolcadero s/n | Col Granjas del Marques, Acapulco 39890 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#9 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Acapulco Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 1017
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized as one of the top 500 hotels in the world and top 25 resorts in Latin America by Travel & Leisure, The Fairmont Acapulco Princess is located over the Pacific Coast on the Revolcadero Beach, 20 minutes from the bustle of downtown and a few minutes from the airport at the Acapulco Diamante Area. The exclusive complex of 480 acres offers to its guests a spectacular scenario that will enhance all the senses while you admire the magnificent 15-story Aztec pyramid-shaped building surrounded of beautiful and lush gardens containing over 750 plant species and home to a colorful assortment of swans, flamingos and tropical birds. Hear the cascades of its 5 sparkling pools and saltwater lagoon. Taste the exquisite Chef creations at any of its 5 Restaurants. Breath the most relaxing fragrances at the Signature Willow Stream Spa and feel the breeze of ocean at the new Turtle Dunes Golf Course.For the guest looking for a luxury experience in Acapuclo, Pearl offers exquisite accommodations and the finest services and amenities, which include: an iPod clock, 37-inch flat screen, in-room safety deposit box and more! A place where contemporary design becomes one with Fairmont's standard of sophisticated luxury – a memorable experience for you, your family and friends.Turtle Dunes: Our Country ClubIf you enjoy participating in sports with style, we invite you to learn more about the brand new Turtle Dunes Country Club, the centerpiece within the Princess complex, for whole-hearted golfers seeking a premium golf experience in Mexico. Learn to play like a pro from childs to adults! Turtle Dunes Country Club has partnered with Ochoa Golf Academy by Rafael Alarcon, to establish Lorena Ochoa's flagship teaching academy, providing members and guests with a state-of-the-art practice and learning center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Acapulco Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Acapulco Princess Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco Princess
Acapulco Princess Hotel
Acapulco Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Acapulco Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.