We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Acapulco to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Acapulco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costera Miguel Aleman #1 | Col. Icacos, Acapulco 39869, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 177 Hotels in Acapulco
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Had a great time in a wonderful hotel. Great location overlooking the bay. Plenty to do in the area with some breath taking scenery. The La Quebrada Cliff Divers well worth a visit.Some fantastic night spots in the hills overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    67
    69
    32
    20
See reviews for
122
50
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The room was great and spacious couldn't ask for a better view, it was clean but had to ask to the reception to do it everyday and the did it till 4-5 pm every day prob cos it was easter and we were 5 in the room and every day we had to keep asking for more towels not great. The food was nice and a lot different things and the service in the restaurant was good even that there were a lot of people, the waiter was always pending of us; the breakfast was included but i recommend just to book a room and go for breakfast somewhere outside cos u can find places cheaper and nicer. Bad things: extra charge for parking!! Extra charge for using sun beds in front of the beach!!! So the private beach is even private for the guests unless u pay, and the security is the worst!!!!! They look at u like if u were a thief and they are all over the place and they say u can't even be drinking a coke inside the hotel unless u get it in there. I was there during the earthquake and it wasn't a great experience i was in the 20th floor nothing i could do but the hotel resist just some tiles were broken, after that all the staff were working to fix it and help people

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable and ok from a cleanliness perspective. The view can't be beaten. Security is excessive and the policy of not being able to bring outside food and drink in is ridiculous. Also, the need to wear a blue wrist band at all times during your stay is childish and actually appalling from a security perspective. Why would I want to walk around the streets of Acapulco advising where I am staying? Poorly thought out.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had to wait for at least over an hour when checking because they could find our booking/reservation that I booked through hotelclub.com.au
Apparently their reservation office is closed on a weekend & they will have to check with them the next day which is Monday. That Sunday, the place was chock a block, people are coming from everywhere to check out. Lucky it was Sunday, otherwise if it was on a Saturday, god knows where we are going to end up! No apologies the next day, simply said, booking ok...not impressed at all!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

After having spent Jan. and Feb. at the Grand Hotel , one could not ask for a better place to stay..My wife and myself have been going to Acapulco and staying at the Grand for over 30 years and both the hotel and city have not been better. The staff is wonderful, the the accommodations are large with great views and wonderful service.We have always felt safe. The hotel is located on the main strip. We go out to diner many nights and will walk back to the hotel.Our safety has never been an issue.
As for the weather , each day is fantastic, where can you find guaranteed sunny , 90 degree weather every day.
Will have already made our reservations for next year.
Thank you to Elizabeth , Ronnie , Michele, Margarita and Mercedes, who could not have done more for the guests.
You will not be sorry visiting The Grand Hotel in Acapulco.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful , large and sunny , most rooms have a great view of Acapulco Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned from spending 4 weeks at the Grand Hotel Acapulco. I have been staying at the Grand for over 25 years and every year it offers the same quality -- EXCELLENT. The staff is wonderful! All you have to do is ask for something and your wish is granted immediately. The accommodations are luxurious. The weather is guaranteed sunny and warm. Acapulco has been given unfair press in the past few years. I can attest that Acapulco is safe. Where else can you go in February and be guaranteed 90 degree sunny days where the chances of rain are less than 1%. Acapulco is a wonderful vacation destination and the Grand Hotel is the best hotel there. Please give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Club room. Elizabeth, Betty, Mercedes, Michele, Ronaldo, Arturo and Elder will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from our vacation vacation at "THE GRAND HOTEL ACAPULCO". It was fantastic. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are very spacious, the suites are Truly luxurious having the most spectacular views. The food is very good and the weather is guaranteed to be sunny and warm every single day (this time of year). We walked to nearby shops and restaurants and NEVER NEARBY felt threatened. THE GRAND HOTEL ACAPULCO offers a dream winter vacation for everyone who walks through their doors. THANK YOU Elizabeth, Ronnie, Michele, Artoro, Margarita, and Mercedes. We will return as long as we're able. VICCI & JIM

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the renovated rooms, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Acapulco

Address: Costera Miguel Aleman #1 | Col. Icacos, Acapulco 39869, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#17 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 573
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged with one the best locations on one of the most exclusive beaches in Acapulco, and with a spectacular view of the bay, also conveniently located near the main local restaurants, shopping malls, and nightlife. Experience and enjoy an excellent service of the most exquisite dining experience and outstanding service, accentuated with the most high quality standards and comfort. The enjoyable experience of our elegant and luxurious guestrooms along with the general living areas, will indulge in a pleasant experience during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Acapulco
Hyatt Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Hotel
Acapulco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Acapulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.