We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Acapulco Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Acapulco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Acapulco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costera Miguel Aleman #1 | Col. Icacos, Acapulco 39869, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 177 hotels in Acapulco
Waterloo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Acapulco Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have selected the Grand Hotel in Acapulco for our vacation since 1989. We are self employed and only get 10 days a year to get away. We bring our entire family. Every year the experience has been perfect. The weather is hot-sunny-and no rain , ever. The staff at the Hotel is above excellent. They sweep us off our feet the minute we get out of the cab and treat us like royalty for our stay. We see that they treat all of their guests in the same manner. We would not go anywhere else with the wonderful time we have with them. We feel safe- it is a home for us.
Thank you
Donna and Bob Stivers NY

Room Tip: The water side views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    58
    65
    29
    17
See reviews for
110
46
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

There is not free wifi access, it costs 15 $ per 24h of a poor internet of 5-50kps, slow. The hall near to my room was sometimes very DIRTY during the WHOLE DAY, morning, afternoon night, with dust of other rooms in the corners of the hall. The swimming pools are small. The beach is very small, you cannot swimming because it is so small and there are free vendors in the beach of the hotel that I find very disgusting. You cannot even go to swimming early in the morning, it seems jail you cannot go out until 8.30 am and the guardians do not help you and they are not respectful. The food is ok. The drinks are awful specially alcohol. I did not like being there I have been in places so much better!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went on a trip to Mexico and one of our stops was Acapulco, we stayed in one of the newly renovated suites on the top floor and it was wonderful!! The beds were very comfortable, the room looked very nice and everything was clean, the service was very good too, the breakfast is included and it was a huge buffet with food that went from eggs and bacon to nice exotic Mexican dishes, all kinds of juices and good service, the pool area is very nice as well. The beach was clean, there was one or two security guys which was good and the also offer a bar on the beach. On the downside they have their own taxi site as part of the hotel which is more expensive than other taxis. The location of the hotel is a little bit outside of where the action takes place, but generally I really liked it. I would go back for sure.

As a tip, get one of the newly renovated suites!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Back to the future. I ´m waiting for yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been traveling to Acapulco for the last 42 years. We have spent the last 39 years at the Grand Hotel formerly the Hyatt. The people are wonderful. The service is great. The rooms and suites are lovely. The Pescador Restaurant is not only beautiful but the food is great. The hotel treats us as family. We started out staying two weeks - now we're up to five weeks and that is too short. We have never have had any trouble anywhere in Acapulco. Can't wait until we return next season.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony and the scenery is beautiful. Corner suites are large and sunny. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Acapulco, we apreciate your comments for our services and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had the most amazing wedding here, was a dream came true. The view of the beautiful acapulco bay at night was breathtaking.We stayed for 7 nights, and seriously, our breakfast and drinks were delicious. Everyday I'm still have cravings of the seafood soup in the Pescador Restaurant.
The rooms are nice, cleans and they have an amazing view of the bay, the weather is always hot and nice, plus, Acapulco is classic and vintage a beautiful reflection of the real Mexico.
Very happy with everything, for sure we will go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Tnahk you for your comments, I ´m placer to listen this comments about our destiny and hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were taken here on a work trip, so I can't really comment on price. Nevertheless, the hotel is in a good location on the beach, just across the road from the Wal Mart and Alebrije nightclub. I really enjoyed the food. We were served a buffet, and there was good fish and vegetables. The pool is lovely, and the beach is OK. The swimming area on the beach is a little restricted and a little dirty in places. An effort needs to be made to clean up the whole bay in that respect. Rooms were OK, with good views, but not exactly luxurious. We didn't have bottled water in our rooms when we arrived, which I think is standard in most hotels, whatever their ranking. Serving staff were very good and the rooms were clean. As in all the big old hotels, elevators can take a little while to arrive.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a pretty good view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus atentos y amables comentarios que hicieron acerca de nuestro servicio e instalaciones, para nosotros es muy importante que se aprecie la calidad y servicio de Grand Hotel Acapulco. Aprovechamos para invitarlos a que conozcan nuestra categoria Grand Room y en general nuestros servicios, estamos seguros que se encantaran de la atención y amabilidad de nuestros colaboradores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Dirty, ratty, pucky! Just look at the pictures. The TV was a tiny old model that we couldn't get some channels on (which was particularly annoying since I had taken some days off specifically to watch an event on ESPN). The chambermaid just kept bringing in remote after remote and laughing when they didn't work either. She finally called maintenance, who got us another tiny old TV, which did get ESPN. The next day I moved half a block to the Casa Inn. Purportedly four star, but much cleaner and nicer than this fraud.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you Mr. or Mrs. ??
I apreciate your comments about our property; but I do not agree with some thing´s that clean or fraud hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Acapulco

Address: Costera Miguel Aleman #1 | Col. Icacos, Acapulco 39869, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Acapulco 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Acapulco
Hyatt Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Hotel
Acapulco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Acapulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.