We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times at the Grand hotel Acapulco.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Acapulco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Acapulco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costera Miguel Aleman #1 | Col. Icacos, Acapulco 39869, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 176 hotels in Acapulco
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great times at the Grand hotel Acapulco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went on a trip to Mexico and one of our stops was Acapulco, we stayed in one of the newly renovated suites on the top floor and it was wonderful!! The beds were very comfortable, the room looked very nice and everything was clean, the service was very good too, the breakfast is included and it was a huge buffet with food that went from eggs and bacon to nice exotic Mexican dishes, all kinds of juices and good service, the pool area is very nice as well. The beach was clean, there was one or two security guys which was good and the also offer a bar on the beach. On the downside they have their own taxi site as part of the hotel which is more expensive than other taxis. The location of the hotel is a little bit outside of where the action takes place, but generally I really liked it. I would go back for sure.

As a tip, get one of the newly renovated suites!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Back to the future. I ´m waiting for yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    58
    65
    29
    17
See reviews for
110
46
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been traveling to Acapulco for the last 42 years. We have spent the last 39 years at the Grand Hotel formerly the Hyatt. The people are wonderful. The service is great. The rooms and suites are lovely. The Pescador Restaurant is not only beautiful but the food is great. The hotel treats us as family. We started out staying two weeks - now we're up to five weeks and that is too short. We have never have had any trouble anywhere in Acapulco. Can't wait until we return next season.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony and the scenery is beautiful. Corner suites are large and sunny. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Acapulco, we apreciate your comments for our services and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had the most amazing wedding here, was a dream came true. The view of the beautiful acapulco bay at night was breathtaking.We stayed for 7 nights, and seriously, our breakfast and drinks were delicious. Everyday I'm still have cravings of the seafood soup in the Pescador Restaurant.
The rooms are nice, cleans and they have an amazing view of the bay, the weather is always hot and nice, plus, Acapulco is classic and vintage a beautiful reflection of the real Mexico.
Very happy with everything, for sure we will go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Tnahk you for your comments, I ´m placer to listen this comments about our destiny and hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were taken here on a work trip, so I can't really comment on price. Nevertheless, the hotel is in a good location on the beach, just across the road from the Wal Mart and Alebrije nightclub. I really enjoyed the food. We were served a buffet, and there was good fish and vegetables. The pool is lovely, and the beach is OK. The swimming area on the beach is a little restricted and a little dirty in places. An effort needs to be made to clean up the whole bay in that respect. Rooms were OK, with good views, but not exactly luxurious. We didn't have bottled water in our rooms when we arrived, which I think is standard in most hotels, whatever their ranking. Serving staff were very good and the rooms were clean. As in all the big old hotels, elevators can take a little while to arrive.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a pretty good view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus atentos y amables comentarios que hicieron acerca de nuestro servicio e instalaciones, para nosotros es muy importante que se aprecie la calidad y servicio de Grand Hotel Acapulco. Aprovechamos para invitarlos a que conozcan nuestra categoria Grand Room y en general nuestros servicios, estamos seguros que se encantaran de la atención y amabilidad de nuestros colaboradores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Dirty, ratty, pucky! Just look at the pictures. The TV was a tiny old model that we couldn't get some channels on (which was particularly annoying since I had taken some days off specifically to watch an event on ESPN). The chambermaid just kept bringing in remote after remote and laughing when they didn't work either. She finally called maintenance, who got us another tiny old TV, which did get ESPN. The next day I moved half a block to the Casa Inn. Purportedly four star, but much cleaner and nicer than this fraud.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, General Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you Mr. or Mrs. ??
I apreciate your comments about our property; but I do not agree with some thing´s that clean or fraud hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We we stayed here specifically for the all inclusive plan. It was not all all inclusive and we had to eat out almost every night.
Positives
Rooms were big and nice, very updated
The morning breakfast buffet was very comparable to other hotels
Good weather and no rain or bugs in April

Negatives
Beach was discusting and locals were allowed to eat and drink and then dispose if their garbage into the ocean. We never swam in the ocean one time during our week stay
The all inclusive did not include most liquor a including whiskey and vodka
The pools were hot and dirty
The staff was incompetent of the all inclusive plan
We had to eat out almost every night bc the food was so gross

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaciano H, Manager at Grand Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your feedback, but we want to tell you that we are not an all inclusive hotel, which is why I am surprised by his comments.

I appreciate your interest in our hotel and anyway I will follow your message
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is an ex-good hotel, it looks big and old located on the traditional side of Acapulco. My room was one of the renovated ones, it was a spacious very good room and included breakfast. Breakfast was fantastic, the guy preparing the omelets is a show on itself, and one of the best I ever tried...coffee is awesome. I did not try internet access because it was pricey, and did not want to be disappointed ( used my myfi hotspot) . Beach is there, ask for a beach recliner...expect someone trying to sell you food/drinks...hotel service in the beach is nonexistent.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view, renovated with breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Acapulco

Address: Costera Miguel Aleman #1 | Col. Icacos, Acapulco 39869, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Acapulco 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Acapulco
Hyatt Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Hotel
Acapulco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Acapulco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.