We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cove in paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Acapulco Diamante to your Saves list
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Escenica Km 14 Baja Catita S/N | Fracc. Pichilingue Diamante, Acapulco 39880, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cove in paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The hotel itself is very separated from the outside: you have to drive downhill for a while before you hit the hotel, and you can't get anywhere outside of the hotel without having a car. That said, we rarely wanted to leave.
the hotel is a bit dated, but the rooms were super spacious, with a really nice balcony overlooking the bay. There are several pools to choose from and there's a really nice, small private beach to swim in.
Though they have good food--the restaurants in the hotel are fairly overpriced.
One issue I had with my room, was that I could clearly hear the TV from the room next door.
But in general, If you're just looking to relax and spend a couple of days by the pool or sea--this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for a better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    61
    39
    23
    16
See reviews for
58
66
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We usually go to Pierre Marquez and it was the first time we went to Camino Real.
The rooms are more spacious, the view over the bay is fabolous and swimming in the sea is easy, save and much better than in Diamante - and they have a good wireless. But that´s it...
Our room was smelling, no coffee maker, no fridge. The bottle of water 35MXN for 0,3l. Mini Bar and pool-bar prices completely crazy ...60MXN for a beer! They do not allow to bring own food or drinks --- rip of where ever the can. Two exceptions - wireless and towells are free, parking fee is ok.
I booked 4 nights and wanted to cancel one night in order to change the hotel ... was not possible. The penalty would have been to pay all nights.

Both hotels are not the newest and need some investments. The pool area is ok, the beach very small but for kids perfect. They have plenty of sunbeds everywhere, staff is really friendly.

For me the biggest diadvantage is the location in the bay. Barely wind, very hot and no ocean feeling as the whole bay is usually flat like a lake - no waves at all.

Room Tip: book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here for Easter Holidays and I must say I won't come back. Although the hotel has in general good facilities, the service and staff has a lot to improve. Many members of the staff were really rude and not willing to help out in any way. The price of meals and drinks is excessive and there are no other options since the hotel is far away from anything else. A small cup of black coffee costs 4 USD and a bad breakfast buffet costs 27 USD! For Mexican standards, everything is seriously overpriced.

If you don't get there by car, this is definitely not an option since the hotel is located inside of a housing complex far away from restaurants and shopping malls. Also be aware of the fact that they charge for everything!! The beach is super small, dirty and crowded. They charge 45 USD just to take you to another one that doesn't belong to them, Also mind all the hidden costs that show up when you check out. They will charge for parking daily and and the taxes that don't show up when you book really add up! My suggestion is to avoid going to this hotel. There are plenty better options in Acapulco.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was booked into this hotel during the first week of February of this year and was very happy with my stay. The staff were all extremely friendly and greeted my girlfriend and myself as we walked by. The two restaurants in the hotel both offered excellent food at reasonable prices and the pool/beach areas were never crowded.
I read some of the reviews on this site before going and was worried, since some describe the hotel as overly crowded but that was definitely not the case. I suppose this is not a busy tourist season.
Rooms were neat, clean and very comfortable. My only complaint was that the wifi was not always reliable, but really, it seems a silly thing to complain about when you are on a sun-drenched beach.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend to all.

Room Tip: All rooms have a bay view, but for the best view try to book a room higher up the structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I just returned from three days at the Camino Real Diamante and I have to agree with the last reviews. The location is really out of the way and there are no close by options, other than the two restaurants on site. both were ok, but not great as you would expect from a four star hotel. The room I had had paint peeling on the front door and frame, tile missing on the in room baseboard, and plastic chairs with a marble table. Great view from the patio, but the lock on the patio door, and the deadbolt on the main door didn't work. Comfortable bed, attentive staff, but for me a serious lack of the WOW factor that I look for in a comparatively priced hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, Director General at Camino Real Acapulco Diamante, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Please receive a warm greeting.
Thanks for your comments on our service and facilities, We definitely will use them to further improve our quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed here about once every year for the the last 5 years, about 8 day periods, and unfortunately this has been the worst year, it just seems to be going downhill, it used to be a great place in the past.

For starters we spend a lot of time at the pool, and this year it was almost impossible to get a spot in the shade, if you wanted a spot in the shade to relax you needed to get up at 0630 and go throw a towel in a cot to reserve a spot, otherwise be ready to be in the blazing sun, they removed a large number of the umbrellas that last year had nice shade next to the pools. And this season and everybody was fighting to get a place where they could just lay down to relax and read a book without having to end up with severe sunburns. The "Beach" they have is extremely crowded since it is very small, it's about 30 meters of beach at the most, rocky sand, and the water is not very clean, the pools are nice but on the colder side most of the time, especially the lower one.

Mind you, the hotel manager (Mr. Matias) seems had some of his familiy around, seemed to be his wife at least, and plus some acquantiances and they all had nice places in the shade to relax, some people seemed to have a small terrace reserved everyday for them by hotel personnel who would bring out pool toys and towels until the "favorite" guests arrive. There would be angry tourists from Brazil for example asking pool personnel for a place in the shade and you never see anybody from management doing anything about it, management seems absent on this matter, except for famlily and friends of course.

Then the food is just getting plain mediocre, and very overpriced for the quality, I do NOT mind overpriced, but when you are getting average to mediocre food, well it's no fun, expect to pay almost 70 USD for a light dinner at La Huerta, and like I said before if were something really good I would gladly pay. If you stay a few days you will get tired of the food by the second day and going out for dinner is a big pain, this hotel is FAR AWAY from everywhere, a Taxi will be expensive and in the high season it could mean around an hour to get to a place to eat. The room service menu is very scarce, last year they at least had some great pizza which this year is gone, it was one of the good things.

The INTERNET is practically USELESS, Intermittent, Extremely Slow, and you don't usually get the service with the hotel fee, you should expect to pay an extra steep fee for something that is practically USELESS, and when personnel are notified, they just give you the runaround. Then on TV many channels like FOX or HBO have either no sound or frozen image, so the TV is bad also.

The room furniture and else in general, is just getting old, everything made out of wood is very banged up and old. Then around the hotel, expect so see several spots where the paint is peeling, roofs leaking water into halls, and expect to pay extra for everything like bottled water, parking, etc.

Also it seems as if lately they just want to fill the hotel during the season, and all sorts of different people come in, some are a plain nuissance with no manners or education, loud, drinking, and some with music by the pool, I got a couple of towels stolen and you don't see security anywhere.

One of the nice things was an awesome fireworks display on New Years, I would say most of the rooms have a nice view, as does the pool areas, walking up the road in the morning is nice, and the gym and also pretty good, and you are not charged extra to use it, checking in can be either really quick and simple or the opposite, depending on who's at the reception and the number of guests, but it is usually good.

I really hope they get their act together, it's a shame to see it have changed so much for the worse in just one year.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 5th floor, near the center, or to the West, much better view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The place is sub standard regarding rooms and restaurants. The pools are nice and large but there is only one or two waiters to serve the whole beach & pool area. It can take more than one hour to get a piña colada. The private beach is the one thing that could make me think to come back to this place.

Room Tip: There's a really noisy night club in the docks that plays loud music Friday and Saturday nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Acapulco Diamante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Address: Carretera Escenica Km 14 Baja Catita S/N | Fracc. Pichilingue Diamante, Acapulco 39880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Acapulco Diamante 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Acapulco has a privileged location surrounded by tropical vegetation, locating his great construction of 7 acre Beach into one of the most Luxurious and Safety Acapulco Residences, just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 Min from Costera Avenue. Our Hotel invite you to absolute rest, offering all services for your comfort and relax time, such as; Room service 24 hrs, SPA, 1 restaurant international food open from 07:00 - 23: 00hrs, Restaurant Sea Food Specialties open 13:00 to 23:00 hrs, and our Pool Bar restaurant for Snack directly to your pool, same pools with a beautiful view of the bay Puerto Marquez, Whiteout leaving the privacy offered by our homely beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real Acapulco Diamante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Resort Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Acapulco Diamante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.