We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Acapulco Diamante to your Saves list
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Escenica Km 14 Baja Catita S/N | Fracc. Pichilingue Diamante, Acapulco 39880, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“worst experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to this hotel at low season for a few days hoping for a good short vacation. In the very first night inside the room our family was badly attacked by insects: The recovery lasts already two months! Surely, the room was not properly clean and disinfected. The hotel called for a medical doctor, bought a medicine for us. We were moved to a club room supposedly of much higher quality - the same story: a spider net at corners, little insects on the floor etc. We asked to clean the room again. On top of that the process of the fixing of the hotel furniture was running almost in front of our club room! Two out of three swimming pools were closed: the workers standing in beautiful water made fixing.
Leaving this "hospitable" hotel nobody expressed even a slight apologies about our unpleasant experience...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, General Manager at Camino Real Acapulco Diamante, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest, please receive a respectful greeting, along with our apologies for the inconvenience that You had during your stay at our facilities. Unfortunately We had to carry out the work of remodeling during the days that You stayed with us, and I hope that You give us the opportunity to serve You again and show You the true quality of our service.
Fausto Matias
fausto.matias@caminoreal.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    68
    41
    26
    17
See reviews for
65
72
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel was among our favorites for its secluded quiet location, a beautiful nature, small private beach, spacious, well-decorated rooms, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. We stayed there many times for 2-3-4 nights during the last years. The only drawback was a meal at restaurants: expensive and usually... terrible. This time we decided to stop coming to this hotel again. During last stays we see how the hotel gradually declining:rooms are missing details, the front desk is not friendly anymore, you reserve one room but get another one without any explanation, beach staff is either absent or talking each other ignoring guests, meal at restaurants gets simply terrible (it is essential feature since if you want to eat outside you have to take extremely expensive hotel taxi), the noise of airconditioners, outside-located, likely old fashioned and not-well-maintained is horrible. The hotel simply gets inadequately expensive
to a quality it provides.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fausto M, General Manager at Camino Real Acapulco Diamante, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest, please receive respectful greetings along with our thanks for your comments. Also We offer to You an apology for the inconvenience You had during your previous stay and assure You that We have already heeded your feedback to improve our service. We have started an investment plan to improve our facilities and We are training our employees to provide our Guests the service that They deserve. I hope to have the opportunity to serve You again.
Fausto Matias
fausto.matias@caminoreal.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We traveled thru a windy road into a gated complex named Pichilingue to get to the Camino Real. There we were shown to our lovely and spacious room by a very knowledgable and helpful bellman. There was an incredible view of the bay from our balcony! The room had a fully stocked mini-bar and robes with comfortable slipers. The bellman also informed us of the best restaurants for authentic Mexican food and safest nightlife spots.

We spent most of our trip by the sundrenched infinity pool which flowed into another beautiful pool, all in immaculate condition. The pool bar was closed, but the wait staff was extremely attentive and helpful in getting us tropical cocktails from the restaurant downstairs where we went for most of our lunches. The lunch menu is excellent, from which I recommend the Picaditos de Pulpo (octopus), salpicon de salmon (ceviche) and the "tacos de langosta" (lobster). We had dinner at the same restaurant and the seafood was sub-par. Breakfast was included in our package and it was quite delicious with an excellent assortment of breads, pastries, fruit, juices, and a variety of american and mexican selections, of which my favorite were the "chilaquiles." We also had a free open bar at the lobby from 6p-8p every night of our stay, which was a perfect way to start the night!

The private beach is a short walk down and is nice, but quite small. We were there from Wed-Sun, and for the first three days the hotel was desolate, so we had the whole place to ourselves...no complaints! One can go on boatrides and jet skis, all available from the beach area. Room service was quick and the mini-bar inexpensive.

All in all an excellent romantic sport for the couple that wants a vacation away from it all!

Room Tip: Select the "European package"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mykonos island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

good location, good staff,nice pool and big comfortable rooms with good size balconies.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Very expensive for what you get. Room was just okay. Food was expensive at night & terrible, although the location was beautiful. The buffet was very good. Cafe is good too. No elevator, so was a long way to walk to swim. Very nice workers there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We are a vegetarian family, with Mexican family, so we know that Mexicans do good veggie food - not here. I can stay in England for overpriced chips and packet guacamole and hugely expensive polystyrene containers of drinks. The room was standard. Not tyically Mexican like it used to be - we stayed here about 10 years ago and it was proper Mexican style boutique hotel, with chocolates and perfumes on your bed every morning, lovely maids and amazing breakfasts, all reasonably priced for the excellent service. Now this chain of hotels is a let down - seen one Camino, seen them all. (Stayed at Acapulco, Guadalajara and Mexico City during this trip and found the same) Such a shame as it used to be lovely, but now isn't much better than a very expensive Holiday Inn all inclusive holiday, except nothing is inclusive and breakfast cost £15 each, with lousy and innapropriate music... Also, it is a 45 minute expensive taxi ride away from Acapulco itself - we wanted to "pop" into town for dinner, but was told in the evenings it would take 2 hours easily due to trafic in the VW Beetle taxis.. One positive; nice beds. If you want reliability that you'll be in "safe hands", stay here. If you want real Mexico, don't.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for just one night. We paid only about $100 for the room on Hotels.com, perhaps because we were there on a weeknight in early November, clearly off season. We were practically the only guests. The staff was very friendly, no searching us for food or anything like that, and they all spoke English. The hotel is massive, and has three large pools, one with a water fall, and a small beach. There are lots of hideaways with lounge chairs. The food was pretty good and we didn't find it overpriced. The room was spacious although somewhat stark, the bed was not that comfortable and the towels were pretty scratchy. There was also only one bathroom glass and one drinking glass by the minibar, which was odd. The water was purified which is a big plus in Mexico. For the price we paid it was perfectly nice. If you want to party in Acapulco I would suggest a hotel on the strip, and if you want to eat in your room you should get a condo, but if you want to relax in the sun by the pool and drink margaritas you will be happy here. We hired Sebastian Hernandez after reading other trip advisor recommendations, and he took us out snorkeling. He would be a good person to contact to take excursions from the hotel, and eat elsewhere afterwards.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Acapulco Diamante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Acapulco Diamante

Address: Carretera Escenica Km 14 Baja Catita S/N | Fracc. Pichilingue Diamante, Acapulco 39880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Acapulco Diamante 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Acapulco has a privileged location surrounded by tropical vegetation, locating his great construction of 7 acre Beach into one of the most Luxurious and Safety Acapulco Residences, just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 Min from Costera Avenue. Our Hotel invite you to absolute rest, offering all services for your comfort and relax time, such as; Room service 24 hrs, SPA, 1 restaurant international food open from 07:00 - 23: 00hrs, Restaurant Sea Food Specialties open 13:00 to 23:00 hrs, and our Pool Bar restaurant for Snack directly to your pool, same pools with a beautiful view of the bay Puerto Marquez, Whiteout leaving the privacy offered by our homely beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Camino Real Acapulco Diamante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Acapulco Diamante Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Hotel Acapulco
Camino Real Resort Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Acapulco Diamante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.