We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Those Were The Days, My Friend!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Chica Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boca Chica Hotel to your Saves list
Boca Chica Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Caletilla, Acapulco 39390, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Rockaway Point
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Those Were The Days, My Friend!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Boca Chica Hotel is situated on the waters of Acapulco Bay, across from Isla Roquetta. It is like an old but still very beautiful lady, with many stories to tell. It is so reminiscent of the Italian Riviera, much like Portofino.
The restaurant , so pretty with that view, has a sushi, Japanese oriented menu, which is delicious and very fresh. When we went there for lunch, there was a fashion shoot going on, which made it even more exciting. Visions of old Acapulco abounded. AS the old song goes "Those were the days,my friend!" It is so worth the trip downtown. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Boca Chic... A, Gerente at Boca Chica Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Hotel Boca Chica, we felt privileged for being the Hotel of your selection during your stay in Acapulco.

For Boca Chica there´s nothing more important than the comments and suggestions of our clients, that´s why we felt very grateful with the kind comments you share with the TRIPADVISOR community.

Please don´t hesitate to contact me for your next visit, it will be a pleasure to attend your booking personally.

Best Regards,

Roberto Zurita
General Manager
Hotel Boca Chica
GRUPO HABITA

Playa Caletilla Fracc. Las Playas
CP 39390, Acapulco, Guerrero
T. +52 (744) 4-82 7879
E. rzurita@hotel-bocachica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    47
    18
    11
    13
See reviews for
11
71
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acapulco, Mexico
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Let me say first, this is my favourite hotel in Acapulco the special location , the laid back atmosphere, the wonderful fact dogs are welcome .... all is spectacular . However the attitude. speed ,and attention to customers in the restaurant needs to be addressed urgently. I was there last night with friends, actually during a lull between crowds and met with incredibly long waits for drinks and such a miniscule serving of the tempera entree that we three felt justified on commenting upon . We talked to the waiter and feeling so disappointed by the service asked to talk to someone in charge What we thought would be considered a helpful critique was met with complete disinterest and simply the offer , if we were not happy, to just not pay , very kind , but the point was completely missed, we were not out for a free meal I am a local resident and crave the needed change in keeping and attracting visitors and share the strong desire to 'hable bien de Acapulco' We were later told the hotel has been functioning for some time without a manager... Obviously what is required is a strong leadership , and staff trained to be more attentive and helpful to guests and make the few but very important improvements to ensure Boca Chica's position as one of the best places in town
A couple of other issues needing attention . the poorly lit stairs down to the pool and whatever can be done to remedy the uncomfortable of the banquets in the dining room

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Boca Chic... A, Gerente at Boca Chica Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We feel privileged for being the Restaurant of your selection in the past days.

Thank you very much for for your comments and suggestions about the Restaurant, which ones are very important for us and you can be sure that I´m puting special attention on them.

I would love to give you personalized attention to your suggestions, so it would be wonderful if you could give me an email adress to contact you directly.

If I can assist you with anything else, please dont hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,

Roberto Zurita
General Manager
Hotel Boca Chica
GRUPO HABITA

Playa Caletilla Fracc. Las Playas
CP 39390, Acapulco, Guerrero
T. +52 (744) 4-82 7879
E. rzurita@hotel-bocachica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recently the owners of the trendy Condesa DF hotel (Habita Group) renovated one of the principal 1950's glamor hotels, the Boca Chica. The pictures speak for themselves. It is wonderfully designed, though not expensively. We only paid USD 108 per night (admittedly, off season) with a wonderful ocean view.

The neighborhood is quite downmarket (though not scary, if you know Mexico), and you wind up being miles away from anything else upscale in the town. However, it is clear that development is coming to this side of town, with many spots of mid-century architectural fun ready for renovation and many new projects already going in.

But inside the resort it's perfect and there are perfect views to the island of La Roqueta across the clear blue water. The food is Japanese-inspired and also the breakfasts are excellent.

A bonus was that they accept dogs - very few hotels do in Mexico. Not only that, but she was allowed with us everywhere except the pool. At our side in the restaurant, by the loungers overlooking the bay, and best of all - she could swim in the bay! We spend hours throwing the ball for her out into the bay and letting her swim.

When we arrived the airco was making a little rattling noise and without us even asking (or thinking of it yet) he proactively moved us to another room. The next morning we were told our continental breakfast was comped "for the inconvenience".

Something similar happened when I asked on Sunday what time checkout was. The receptionist said 12 noon, but would I like to check out later at 2 or 3? Again, without my even asking for it.

That is truly rare and we were delighted.

We will be back and back.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view (almost all are).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is located a bit off from the new Acapulco in the older area. Very quiet street and all rooms with sea view. The big surprise was that you can open completly the window from floor to ceiling and have a view to the sea from your bed. On the balcony you have a hammock and relaxing table and chairs. Another suprise was the mezcal and champagne which they offer in the mini bar. There is also an iPhone docking station. Very nice and gives a unique flair are the 50ies style very short bathrobes.
Nice personell in the restaurant and reception and good mexican breakfast. In the evening you get fusion dinners offered, specially good fresh sushi. We ordered a taxi for the evening and unfortunatly let him wait half an hour. He still was very friendly and took us to our destination.
Also nice is the pool with great service. I got a coconut mixed with gin. After finishing they opened it for me and served it with chillie powder.
Whenever I am again in Acapulco I will stay there.

Room Tip: All are good. The suites have a round the room balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We expected a nice deco and we were not desappointed. This hotel has style and offers a good restaurant so you don't need to leave the vincinity - which is actually better! - . It could be a great place for a week-end / a long week-end if it wasn't for the omnipresent and very loud music. No place you can seat, read or eat without music. On top of that, they play the same pre-recorded music every day, so after two and a half days we were glad to leave!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Great bit of 1950s glamour in Acapulco. Airy, relaxing place which merits a stay. Wifi a bit patchy though and we could have done with more clarification on what was and what wasn't included for breakfast. Also the main desk totally failed to book us an early morning taxi (after asking) to the bus station which caused a fair bit of panic. A good place to escape the madness of Acapulco - was very peaceful and overall a great stylish place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ferme
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place must have the coolest deco I've ever seen in a hotel - love the style, the atmos - it felt just like hotel citroën from the Life Aquatic (but a little less rundown). Airy, and dramatic, the rooms look over tourist trodden acapulco which, if it weren't for this hotel, is frankly worth missing. The mini bar was laden with more goodies than anywhere I've ever seen and water ski ing with the manager on a nearby lake was epic! I only wish they had sent the 50 thank you postcards we asked them to send to our wedding guests that they charged us $200 and then ended up not doing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boca Chica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Chica Hotel

Address: Playa Caletilla, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boca Chica Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Boca Chica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boca Chica Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Chica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.