We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget friendly hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alba Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alba Suites to your Saves list
Alba Suites
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gran Via Tropical 35, Acapulco 39390, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Acapulco
Whittier, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great budget friendly hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Awesome ocean view or the price! If you are on strict budget, this is the one! We read previous review about loud music on weekends, so we asked for a room away from the noise and it worked! We got the top floor. But there was rain storm the first night and it leaked in the room, and they moved us to a better room the next day, and we were happily ever after! We saw tiny little ants around the sink tho but no big deal - they just stayed at the sink. A/C worked great! We slept good all 9 nights! I give low rating on location because it's located on a hill - we had to walk up/down for commuting, catching a bus or getting back to the hotel - unless you have a transportation. Overall, it was great and we would go back! (Lord willing...)

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear loud music on Friday and Saturday nights, ask for a room far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcapulcoALBA, Gerente at Alba Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit to Acapulco, thanks for your comments, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
32
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

To start off, the hotel was well maintained and the pictures on the site did not lie. The rest is where the trouble starts. I booked the rooms with "complimentary breakfast included." They fought me on giving me the vouchers because they said it wasn't on their reservation, though my confirmation had it under "additional information" I went to the front desk around 8am, they told me they would call me back soon when the manager would arrive. By 9:30 I hadn't received a call, so i went back to the front desk which was quite a walk as the property has 7 or 8 buildings with a lot of steps and ramps. They made me have a seat, and 15-20 mins later, they gave me the vouchers. Very frustrating to begin with. Secondly, the rooms come with a kitchenette however you have to go pick up the utensils and pots and plates at a separate building, again, another trek, but manageable and not a big point to complain about. When we tried to return the items upon checkout, they tried to charge us for items that were not listed on our carbon copy receipt, telling us that we had taken out more things that were listed. Thirdly, the hotel was filled with Mexico's Federal police. The police were everywhere in full uniform carrying their large weapons. on the balconies, the parking lot, the restaurant, everywhere! We were told they stay there while stationed in Acapulco. Regardless, not what i like to be around all day, especially on vacation. Not to mention they took up all the parking, with the hotel calling my room at 1, 2 in the morning saying i had to move my car because i wasn't allowed to park there! Also, they say they offer free wi-fi, but even if you can find it, or get on, its not strong enough to do anything with! Finally comes the biggest problem. I have stayed in hotels across the US, Carribbean, Canada and Europe and have never had so many issues with the service or attentiveness to my needs. With that said, i wasn't asking for anything other than what i paid for. If the following had not happened, i probably wouldn't have spent the time detailing everything above. We were at the pool and when we arrived back in our rooms, several items had been stolen. A few electronics and a wallet. When we reported the incident, we were treated very poorly, told by a night manager that he didn't care and pretty much said it was our fault. There was no form of apology or plan of action. Not only was personal items stolen from our room, but now our time was being wasted dealing with incompetent one night a week manager. We had to return the next two mornings. We dealt with a professional manager who tried to represent the hotel in a better light. However, by than the damage was done. First time in acapulco, beautiful city and beaches, hopefully it can come back from its bad reputation. Alba suites had the facilities to be great, but failed miserably on service and hospitality. Not to mention, if i hadn't studied spanish, i don't think there was anyone there who could have attended to me in English.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcapulcoALBA, Director General at Alba Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit to Acapulco, thanks for your comments, we are taking steps to improve on the points that we make, we hope to see in our facilities and to assist you as you deserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Since 6 years, I am coming at the same hotel in Acapulco, at Alba Suites, for a stay of 1 to 2 months between January and March. A lot of Canadians are coming back also since many years.
The hotel is located on a magnificent site above the bay of Acapulco. There are 5 swimming pools, in the shadow or in the sun, depending of the orientation and the time of the day. There is also a very small beach giving access to the bay nearby the marina.

I like very much being far from the town center which is hot, noisy and polluted. We have access at all the services and restaurants of the city center by a shuttle bus (free with air conditioning) on regular schedule from the hotel that brings us in about 20 minutes. We can also go downtown by public transportation or by cab (not expensive).

We are living in one of the small studios apartment equipped with a kitchenette. It gives us a minimal comfort: Gas stove (4 cooking places); Kitchen sink; Fridge; Microwave stove; Toaster; Coffee maker; Plates, Sauce pans and
cookery.
We have also access to WiFi Internet.

The hotel is rather quiet during the week but there is more animation during week ends with a show, dance music and lived orchestra.

The air is good because there is almost constantly a good wind and the sunsets are beautiful. Nice place for the winter !

Quebec
Canada

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

For the past 4 winters, we have stayed at Suites Alba for three to four weeks each year. We have just returned from our latest visit, and hope to return again next year.

The hotel complex consists of several buildings, 5 swimming pools, one small beach area in the Bay of Acapulco accessed by a cable car, and one huge water slide. Some suites have kitchenettes, and some units have a view of the beautiful bay. The hotel also has an affordable restaurant on site, which also provides room service upon request (menu in the suites). A lot of the hotel staff don’t speak English or French, but they are generally friendly and patient. The hotel operator speaks English and other languages. There is also a small convenience store on site. The “loza” (kitchen supplies dept.) provides cutlery, pots, dishes as well as beach towels. Some of the older suites need upgrading, but they are kept clean with daily housekeeping services. The hotel also has a playground area for young children, and a kiosko where there is a free entertainment as well as music and dancing about once a week. The kiosko overlooks the bay and is beautiful in the evening. During the high season, the hotel also provides a free shuttle service to the downtown area. The shuttle follows a route so if you time it right, you can pick it up on the way back to the hotel. Otherwise, taxis are cheap, but negotiate before you get in. The hotel is a safe complex with security guards.

Suites Alba is located in older Acapulco away from the noise and pollution of the downtown hotel strip. It’s located up a hill, so if walking is not your forte, you can take the hotel shuttle, taxis, or a “combi” up the hill. “Combis” are vans (pretty rustic) that will take you up the hill for 5 pesos (about 45 cents). The hotel is situated close to Caletta beach (shuttle’s first stop) for beach lovers. From Caletta, you can take a small (near Magico Mundo) to Roqueta Island—a nice place to picnic, hike and swim. You have to pay for chairs and tables, but can get a package deal if you order some beer. One of our favourite spots is the restaurant “La Cabana” on Caletta beach. It’s a great place to have dinner or just have frozen Margueritas and sit on the beach. We also enjoy taking the shuttle down to Caletta and then taxi up to Los Flamingos restaurant, where John Wayne, Johnny Weissmuller (the original Tarzan) and other old-time movie stars hung out. The restaurant overlooks the Pacific Ocean and sunsets up there are beautiful. And if you go there on Thursdays, the "pozole", a traditional Mexican dish, is delicious.

Because Suites Alba is very affordable, the hotel hosts many long-term retired guests during the Canadian winter.

Roberta and John,
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Hotel was not near the bars and discos strip, which was what we wanted . We have two kids and they enjoyed the pools and spent a lot of time in the water slide. Next to the yatch club, very convenient if you want to rent a boat! It has a little beach and access to sea, but if you want a big beach you have Caleta and Caletilla 10 min away. Food ws great and reasonable priced, as well as the drinks. Personnel was very accomodating, even though the hotel was full because of Christmas vacation. Even with that, we had a very relaxing vacation and we plan to come back. Weather was excellent! Good deal for your money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

You have a view of the bay, you have you own kitchen if you need to prepare something.
Taxis are really cheap if you want to go to the most beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Acapulco was not all we dreamed, but our one saving grace was the hotel. It was far off the beaten path, well away from the nightlife and the urine smell of downtown. The room was great and came with a kitchenette which was wonderful. There was a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee provided. The waterslide was awesome and the four other pools were enough to keep our son entertained every day. It was pretty hard to find, and we just got lucky, but be sure to call and ask for directions, if you're driving. The resturant was alright, but nothing to write home about. We were given a free contintial breakfast when we got there, so if you ask for it when you check it they'll probably give it to you too. They did have internet available. It was 30 pesos for our entire stay, but we could only use it at the resturant or lobby. The bar had a happy hour and they gave continued to give my husband happy hour prices even after happy hour was over. The staff was nice and they spoke plenty of English.
On an unrelated not, when heading to the beaches of Acapulco, go to the hotel district because the beach is much cleaner. Although, I don't think there is any way to avoid the crowds as all the beaches are public and even the hotel beach access is just sand access and you'd have to wade through the masses to get to the water.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Suites

Address: Gran Via Tropical 35, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#10 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alba Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alba Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hotel Acapulco
Suites Alba
Alba Resort Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.