We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the winter !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alba Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alba Suites to your Saves list
Alba Suites
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gran Via Tropical 35, Acapulco 39390, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Acapulco
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for the winter !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Since 6 years, I am coming at the same hotel in Acapulco, at Alba Suites, for a stay of 1 to 2 months between January and March. A lot of Canadians are coming back also since many years.
The hotel is located on a magnificent site above the bay of Acapulco. There are 5 swimming pools, in the shadow or in the sun, depending of the orientation and the time of the day. There is also a very small beach giving access to the bay nearby the marina.

I like very much being far from the town center which is hot, noisy and polluted. We have access at all the services and restaurants of the city center by a shuttle bus (free with air conditioning) on regular schedule from the hotel that brings us in about 20 minutes. We can also go downtown by public transportation or by cab (not expensive).

We are living in one of the small studios apartment equipped with a kitchenette. It gives us a minimal comfort: Gas stove (4 cooking places); Kitchen sink; Fridge; Microwave stove; Toaster; Coffee maker; Plates, Sauce pans and
cookery.
We have also access to WiFi Internet.

The hotel is rather quiet during the week but there is more animation during week ends with a show, dance music and lived orchestra.

The air is good because there is almost constantly a good wind and the sunsets are beautiful. Nice place for the winter !

Quebec
Canada

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
32
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

For the past 4 winters, we have stayed at Suites Alba for three to four weeks each year. We have just returned from our latest visit, and hope to return again next year.

The hotel complex consists of several buildings, 5 swimming pools, one small beach area in the Bay of Acapulco accessed by a cable car, and one huge water slide. Some suites have kitchenettes, and some units have a view of the beautiful bay. The hotel also has an affordable restaurant on site, which also provides room service upon request (menu in the suites). A lot of the hotel staff don’t speak English or French, but they are generally friendly and patient. The hotel operator speaks English and other languages. There is also a small convenience store on site. The “loza” (kitchen supplies dept.) provides cutlery, pots, dishes as well as beach towels. Some of the older suites need upgrading, but they are kept clean with daily housekeeping services. The hotel also has a playground area for young children, and a kiosko where there is a free entertainment as well as music and dancing about once a week. The kiosko overlooks the bay and is beautiful in the evening. During the high season, the hotel also provides a free shuttle service to the downtown area. The shuttle follows a route so if you time it right, you can pick it up on the way back to the hotel. Otherwise, taxis are cheap, but negotiate before you get in. The hotel is a safe complex with security guards.

Suites Alba is located in older Acapulco away from the noise and pollution of the downtown hotel strip. It’s located up a hill, so if walking is not your forte, you can take the hotel shuttle, taxis, or a “combi” up the hill. “Combis” are vans (pretty rustic) that will take you up the hill for 5 pesos (about 45 cents). The hotel is situated close to Caletta beach (shuttle’s first stop) for beach lovers. From Caletta, you can take a small (near Magico Mundo) to Roqueta Island—a nice place to picnic, hike and swim. You have to pay for chairs and tables, but can get a package deal if you order some beer. One of our favourite spots is the restaurant “La Cabana” on Caletta beach. It’s a great place to have dinner or just have frozen Margueritas and sit on the beach. We also enjoy taking the shuttle down to Caletta and then taxi up to Los Flamingos restaurant, where John Wayne, Johnny Weissmuller (the original Tarzan) and other old-time movie stars hung out. The restaurant overlooks the Pacific Ocean and sunsets up there are beautiful. And if you go there on Thursdays, the "pozole", a traditional Mexican dish, is delicious.

Because Suites Alba is very affordable, the hotel hosts many long-term retired guests during the Canadian winter.

Roberta and John,
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Hotel was not near the bars and discos strip, which was what we wanted . We have two kids and they enjoyed the pools and spent a lot of time in the water slide. Next to the yatch club, very convenient if you want to rent a boat! It has a little beach and access to sea, but if you want a big beach you have Caleta and Caletilla 10 min away. Food ws great and reasonable priced, as well as the drinks. Personnel was very accomodating, even though the hotel was full because of Christmas vacation. Even with that, we had a very relaxing vacation and we plan to come back. Weather was excellent! Good deal for your money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

You have a view of the bay, you have you own kitchen if you need to prepare something.
Taxis are really cheap if you want to go to the most beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Acapulco was not all we dreamed, but our one saving grace was the hotel. It was far off the beaten path, well away from the nightlife and the urine smell of downtown. The room was great and came with a kitchenette which was wonderful. There was a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee provided. The waterslide was awesome and the four other pools were enough to keep our son entertained every day. It was pretty hard to find, and we just got lucky, but be sure to call and ask for directions, if you're driving. The resturant was alright, but nothing to write home about. We were given a free contintial breakfast when we got there, so if you ask for it when you check it they'll probably give it to you too. They did have internet available. It was 30 pesos for our entire stay, but we could only use it at the resturant or lobby. The bar had a happy hour and they gave continued to give my husband happy hour prices even after happy hour was over. The staff was nice and they spoke plenty of English.
On an unrelated not, when heading to the beaches of Acapulco, go to the hotel district because the beach is much cleaner. Although, I don't think there is any way to avoid the crowds as all the beaches are public and even the hotel beach access is just sand access and you'd have to wade through the masses to get to the water.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission hills ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights and this hotel is in the old Acapulco it is away from all the night life and the shopping.

If you don't mind having to catch a taxi every time you want to go down town and drive about 10-15 minutes away then you should be fine the hotel is okay.I expected a more modern type of Hotel but If you are going with your kids and don't want to spend alot of money this is the place for you. The staff are very friendly and they try to accomodate you as much as possible.
I dont recommend eating at the hotel the food is not good. For a couple of dollars more you can have a great meal at La Costera.
I highly recommend the cliffdivers at La Quebrada it is worth 35 pesos they charge you per person.BE VERY ALERT WITH THE TIME SHARE PEOPLE THEY TELL YOU IT IS NOT TIME SHARE BUT THAT IT IS AN INVESTMENT AND THEY ARE VERY!!!! PUSHY SPECIALLY AT THE MAYAN PALACE ONCE YOU SAY NO IT SHOULD MEAN NO. Once you get to the airport be ware they are just waiting to see who falls for the scam.

Other than that Acapulco is a party town more like for Party people.

  • Liked — It was very clean
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

Acapulco is a very expensive place now, so if this is your first time there, DON"T stay at Alba Suites, because this is not the real Acapulco you're looking for ... so be ready to pay more then!
However, I have been there several times to Acapulco, so I just need a comfortable place to sleep, I rent a car and travel wherever I want, so this is a good deal. It has a kitchenette, which I love so I can have my own food if I don't feel like eating out. The hotel is quite big, spread out on several units of 2 floors each, the pools are in between these units. Considering its size and openess I think it is very very clean, but on the other hand it is noisy during the day, specially all the kids in the pool. It's not near the beach whatsoever, but sits on a hill with a nice breeze, unfortunately no views to the sea from most rooms, I guess only one of the outdoor terraces.
This hill is located in the old part of Acapulco, so you do need to go all around the bay to get where "the action" really is, however, once back in the evening is deliciously quiet !! which I like, unlike the expensive hotels on the costanera that deal with the noise of bars and people outside the streets. If you don't have a car, I think outside you can take a typical Acapulco taxi, VW black bug.

  • Liked — It has kitchenette, good price
  • Disliked — Location, lack of beach views
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Suites

Address: Gran Via Tropical 35, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#10 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alba Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alba Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hotel Acapulco
Suites Alba
Alba Resort Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.