We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still has that old time charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Flamingos

Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Flamingos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Los Flamingos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Lopez Mateos | Fraccionamiento Las Playas, Acapulco 39390, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 177 hotels in Acapulco
Floral Park, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
“Still has that old time charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The prior review by RFNJ explains this property best.

As someone who is not a hotel guest but a frequent visitor this is a must visit property especially if you are into all of it's Hollywood history.

Located in the Old\Traditional section of Acapulco Los Flamingos boasts incredible views out at the Pacific.

We were fortunate to catch Whales breaching the surface for about 30 minutes on their scenic patio.

We had 3-4 drinks while on their patio Cervesa's are 25 peso Margaritas 65 each and are very good.

Go close to sunset like all the travel tips tell you it is worth some down and relaxing time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
6
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have been a frequent guest at Hotel Los Flamingos, having eschewed the big modern hotel offerings on the strip in favor of great views, service and ambiance.
The hotel is an old hotel - there are no flat-screen TVs, and only some of the property has wifi access.
It is set off the strip in the old section of Acapulco, but getting downtown is never a problem. And what it lacks in modern convenience, it more than makes up for in charm, style and service. I have never met anyone there who did not pass me with a warm smile and greeting. They respond very quickly to requests, know the city and are very helpful.
And as mentioned over and over, the vista is incredible, and sunset cocktails in the restaurant become the highlight of many a trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to this hotel several times, first time was around 2001, 2002. And have returned almost every year after that. Maybe it is because of it's amazing views of the Pacific Ocean, or it's tranquility under the palms and next to the pool. I have had the best chats over Coco Locos. And the most romantic time in its suite 16, under the restaurant. Not to mention the best service Mexico and Acapulco can offer.
If you're a fan of Mexican cuisine make sure to visit on thrusday, when they do the most delicious Pozole.
If you're a film buff this place is a Gem for you!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in Los Flamingos for 2 nights in August with a couple of friends and their kids. The reputation of this hotel and it's Hollywood beginnings were what tempted us and so we'd reserved the RoundHouse (Casa Tarzan) which accomodated all 6 of us. Isolated at the far end of the cliff-tops on which the hotel is built, there's even a private little path leads down to a spectacular and private viewpoint of the best sunset in Acapulco!

There were other guests at the hotel, but the swimming pool next to the Casa Tarzan was always deserted, which made it feel like it was our private resort!

The hotel up-keep feels slightly neglected - there's no need for air con in the roundhouse as there are simply anti-mosquito screens that soften the cooling sea breeze! The owner is clearly against modernising probably for fear of forgetting the past glory!

But you don't come here for an air-conditioned, simple room. You choose Los Flamingos for other reasons! And, after reading the newspaper articles and admiring the photos on some of the walls, you head to the bar for a Coco Loco, half expecting John Wayne, Cary Grant and Johnny W to be propping up the bar waiting for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Now, I wouldn't waste your time reviewing a hotel if it had no merits, so bearing that in mind, I'll tell you about Los Flamingos. In the whole realm of the Acapulco scene, Los Flamingos hotel is positioned high atop the Northern cliffs. So if you like an out of the way hotel in a bustling vacation city, this is your hotel. The food, the view of the Pacific, the pool and the atmosphere of the place is worth the visit. And the Sunsets from our balconey or "on campus" in general, were incredible! Like many, "out the way" hotels in Mexico, the response to email reservations is sporadic, at best but we were ready to try a Classic unconfirmed reservation, hotel ! Again, I have a semi-working knowledge of Spanish, enough to handle most any situation. So getting things or services at this hotel was not a problem. They had an energetic bellboy there that made us feel like we had our own butler, caretaker, errand runner and best friend, rolled into one !
We got there on the weekend, so we had plenty of company staying at the hotel. Drinks and meals were great and reasonably priced. Despite, the out of the way location from central Acapulco, the Cliff divers, Diego Rivera's house, and other worthwhile sights are nearby.
To the negative, the average priced rooms we stayed in, need a little updating before we go back there again. We tried a regular and an A/C room, unfortunately, the A/C room lacked the balcony perk. Again, an upgrade probably would have solved the problem but they were quite full, as it was the weekend. I don't regret the stay one bit but I hope they update it soon. It is interesting to see all the photos of famous people who stayed there in the past and their Gift shop was a pleasant surprise. We purchased more there than in the rest of our trip combined ! They have a wide variety of local crafts and clothing at very Reasonable prices ! All told a very nice retreat.
A good "staying spot" in Mexico, SkippyFrizz :-)

Room Tip: An A/C room with a balcony is the only way to go. Good luck getting a confirmed reservation !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My cruise thru the Panama Canal ended in Acapulco where there are a bewildering array of hotel choices! I wanted something different that the usual and impersonal hotel high rise. After careful research I chose Los Flamingos! Through the hotel I orded a cab to meet me at the cruise terminal. Upon arrival at the hotel my first impression was the place was a "dump!" My room was in need of paint and a general upgrade! However, after accepting the reality of the situation the view from my room and from the open air restaurant veranda (with WiFi) more than compensated for the "dump" like environment! I stayed for three days and while enjoying the breathtaking view and spectacular sunsets on the veranda there were many visitors to the hotel (who had also been on the Panama cruise) as part of a local tour to enjoy the views from the Los Flamingos. Most agreed that had they known about Los Flamingos they would have chosen it as opposed to the modern hotel they were staying as reserved by the cruise line. My visit was in April 2011.

Room Tip: Be sure to chose a room with a view over the cliffs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack b.c.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Decided to change Hotels for a night with the special plan of getting engaged.
Went to visit there in the afternoon for to make a dinner reservation. The Manager was a t the desk and asked if he could show a room after I told him of the engagement plans.
I was very impressed and upon viewing made the decision to go with it.
He also took the gift bag with the ring and it was placed on a night stand in the room upon our arrival.
Room service was made available but as we have had excellent dinners out side on the restaurant balcony before we stuck with that plan and had a dinner to put in the record books.
We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will be back again to reminice our engagement evening in the future.
We felt like movie stars and slept like chipmunks.

Room Tip: Let the Manager tell you what is best as he knows his stuff for privacy and placement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Flamingos

Address: Av. Lopez Mateos | Fraccionamiento Las Playas, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 177 hotels in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Flamingos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Los Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Flamingos Hotel
Los Flamingos Acapulco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Flamingos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.