We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmenere

Carmenere
A Un Lado Del Oceanic 2000 | Ave. Costera M. Aleman 3007 Local 2, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
7444842561
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 211 Restaurants in Acapulco
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had dinner here with some friends on my last visit to Acapulco. I was surprised that I had never found this place before. Great attention to detail, attentive service, good menu and very comfortable and pleasant atmosphere. I will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    31
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acapulco, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is my restaurant of choice in Acapulco. Excellent food, impeccable service and the bill doesn't take your breath away. Always go here whenever we want to eat out. Much better value that the over priced establishments on the Escenica.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were there twice in April 2013 and had excellent meals both times, zero complaints. Our steaks were A+++ as were the salads.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, very nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We called the night that we were planning to go to Carmenere, and made reservations for the same night (an hour before we wanted to go). They didn't even ask our names on the phone, which made me feel like reservations were unnecessary, although when we arrived they asked if we had a reservation.

The food was beautiful, delicious, and there was plenty of it. I had a salad and lasagne bolognese, and both were wonderful. My husband had steak, and he said it was one of the best steaks he's had.

We ate with our very-tired toddler, and they set some cushions on a chair to make an extra-comfortable makeshift high-chair out of a regular chair for her. It was nice, except that she was so tired that she kind of fell off the side once. Not their fault, and she was fine.

I felt a little under-dressed; this is the kind of place where you could really dress up and you would not be out of place. The staff is quite formal, the lighting is dim, and it feels fancy, although the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and my self having been going to Acapulco for more than 30 years. We stay Jan and Feb.
Needless to say we have eaten in most Acapulco restaurants and without doubt find Carmenereoutstanding. The food is great, the ambiance wonderful and the staff very attentive.
The owners are always there to greet guests and attend to your every need.This year when we returned to Acapulco we ate there several nights a week .We have always had great meals. This year our experience at Camenere was even better.The prices are reasonable, for an excellent meal.
Carmenere should be rated number one in Acapulco

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmenere also viewed

 
Acapulco, Guerrero
Acapulco, Guerrero
 

Been to Carmenere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmenere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.