We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmenere

Carmenere
A Un Lado Del Oceanic 2000 | Ave. Costera M. Aleman 3007 Local 2, Acapulco 39850, Mexico
+52 744 484 2561
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 227 Restaurants in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: CARMEENERE IS A VERY NICE RESTAURANT. HAS NO VIEW BUT THE ATMOSPHERE AND THE MUSIC ARE OUTSTANDING. THE CUISINE IS INTERNATIONAL AND HAS A WIDE WINE LIST ACCESIBLE FOR EVERYBODY. THE FOOD IS DELICIOUS AND THE PRICES ARE VERY REASONABLE. YOU WON'T REGRET COMING TO CARMENERE
Cuernavaca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I normally dine on the outskirts of Acapulco on the panoramic highway because I am looking for a sensational atmosphere and view. But at least once during my almost monthly trips to Aca from Cuernavaca, I dine at Carmeniere. It is very small and hidden in a tiny strip mall behind a farmacia Ahorros, almost across the street from Walmart. The food may be the best for the price in the entire resort, and the service is superb. The owner is almost always on hand to greet diners and provide individual attention. The squid Romano is better than any I ate in many trips to Italy and the order is so generous you must split it with someone. The place is always crowded with locals so be sure to call for a reservation, or go on a quiet night like a Monday or Tuesday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    39
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City MI
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in ACA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

You won't find a better place in Acapulco, the food and presentation is excellent. I dare you to find cleaner and more up to date bathrooms. The service is well above par . We were there on Monday and made reservations for Tuesday. The decor in the restaurant was very tasteful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good food, awful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This restaurant has very good food, though I would stick with the fish and seafood over the beef. The problem is their typical bad Mexican service. If you are there on a quiet night, it is good, but on weekends or if you are with a large party it is awful.
The owner, Jose, doesn't seem to understand how important service is, especially to Americans. The times I have been their most of their clientele is American.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the best in Aca (allow for service glitches)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Despite its location in a nondescript tiny strip of stores anchored by a 24-hour pharmacy, this gem serves some of the best food in Acapulco. Delicious steaks, prime rib, salads, fish. A small group can be accommodated with no problem. Our first visit was with a group of 8. We all loved our meals. A return trip with 14 for a birthday dinner was nearly comedic in the lack of the staff's ability to deal with that many people at the same table. Drinks arrived at a snail's pace, orders were confused. Half of the table received entrees, while the rest were kept waiting. It's true that management doesn't have a clue how to cater to guests, which is sad since the food and ambience are so good, and the location puts it within walking distance of most hotels at the east end of the Costera. Go with a laid-back attitude and enjoy the food, after all, they'll give you a 10% discount on your bill when you pay with cash.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor management & attitude of owner ruined evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our third visit to Carmenere (our second this year, considering we were just there on Monday night). The food is outstanding; one of the best menus in Acapulco. We went first on Monday, February 11 and had a lovely dinner and superb lobster. We loved it so much that we made another reservation for Saturday, February 16. We were given a choice of 7pm or 930pm. We chose 930pm and asked if we could have the same waiter, Karim. When we arrived at 930pm, we were met first by who we think was the owner's son. He told us that our table was not ready and that Karim was 'taking a shower´(in an obvious lame attempt at humor). In reality, our waiter was working in the private back room where all the wine is served and they had no intention of seating us with him. The owner asked us to wait outside in the parking lot and asked us if we wanted a glass of wine but never said it was on the house for the inconvenience, so we said we did not need anything and would wait for the table. Finally, after waiting 20 minutes in the heat, the owner brought us inside and we had to wait again. We waited and waited and we were eventually shown to our table. Another waiter asked us if we wanted a drink. We said no, we would wait for Karim, the waiter we requested. After waiting several minutes, a waiter (not Karim) came to our table but he did not speak a word of English. We were angry at this point and said we needed Karim or at least someone who spoke English (There were many Americans in the place that night, and at the prices the restauarant charges, shouldn't a good restaurant assign an English speaking waiter to repeat American customers?) We finally got Karim's attention but he said 'they won't let me serve you; I have to work in the back.' We explained that the waiter they assigned us spoke no English and Karim said he would see what he could do. We waited and waited until Karim finally took our order. The food was excellent again, but we were so disgusted by the way we were treated that we could not enjoy our meal.We explained how we felt ignored and improperly treated by the owner to Karim. He went and told the owner but the man did not seem to care. We were offered no compensation. Not even a free drink. We are from NYC so we expect the best. Definitely do not book a reservation at this place on a weekend. Hopefully the owner sees this and changes his attitude because, although the food is phenomenal, no one should be treated like we were, and this restaurant will not be around long if they continue to be so poorly operated and managed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmenere also viewed

Acapulco, Guerrero
 

Been to Carmenere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmenere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.