We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night at a lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zibu

Zibu
Av. Escenica s/n Fraccionamiento El Glomar, Acapulco 39887, Mexico
7444333058
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zibu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 196 restaurants in Acapulco
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Mexican, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Rumson, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great night at a lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Zibu's view is spectacular. Get there early for the sunset and you will also be one of the few diners there. As Americans, we ate much earlier than the locals and enjoyed great service.

Try the Cucumber Margarita with the cayenne salt, it was unique and delicious. The presentation of the food was creative and utilized coconut shells and the emptied orange rinds.

One small quibble, the bathrooms are such that used toilet paper is disposed of in the waste baskets rather than flushed. This can be gross!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    103
    41
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acapulco, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been eating at this restaurant since its beginning and it still ranks at the top. The food is delicious, the setting is spectacular and there is a dessert on the menu that is one of the best ever. When we take friends there we always order one for the table and have them guess what is covering the ice cream. The cucumber martinis are just the best and the goat cheese salad still is my favorite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Outstanding sercice, fantastic view and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A well deserved #1 on the TA ranking for Acapulco. The location and the setting are fantastic, the service is outstandig, a truly first class experience. The food is good but it probably needs some work on the presentation, the kitchen should do better in order to make Zibu a one of a kind experience. The wine list is a bit overpriced. Overall, if you are in Acapulco, you should not miss a visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dining in Acapulco.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Eating out of doors......with Acapulco's fabulous weather. The waiters are all friendly, and the atmosphere is special. It's an evening to remember whilst my friends and neighbours are
freezing in Niagara Falls, Canada.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE-FOOD-ATMOSPHERE-BREATH TAKING VIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A great...... no wait..... FANTASTIC experience at ZIBU. Make reservations. I did via internet one week before dining there on March 1st 2013.
Our first time dining in this establishment. 4 men dining experience to an Asian+Mexican fusion. Our dining experience takes place on a cliff of the mountain over looking Acapulco bay. We dined outdoors therefore smoking is permitted in this establishment. The view is breath taking as it creates an ambiance to enjoy the finest things in life. Serenaded by the sounds of a trumpet in the open air at night complimented this experience.

Excellent martinis unique taste, wonderful appetizers, small portions we ordered 6 for the table.

Our main courses consisted of tiger shrimp, filet mignon and rib eye steak all grilled to perfection. UDSA AAA beef. CERTIFIED. Complimented with grilled veggies and sauces. Great portions, we ordered an extra grilled tiger shrimp platter among the 4 of us. Finished up with a cappuccino and a coconut ice cream cake with a portion chocolate souffle. (took 20 minutes for the souffle.) A two hour duration. The service was excellent but I felt a bit rushed considering I ordered everything. A 15% tip was applied it was well deserved. Not sure if they were happy or enough. Whatever the case we left satisfied and would definitely go back on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zibu also viewed

Acapulco, Guerrero
 
Acapulco, Guerrero
 

Been to Zibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.