We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Air Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Becco Al Mare

Becco Al Mare
Av. Escenica 14, Acapulco 39880, Mexico
(744) 446-7402
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Becco Al Mare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 211 Restaurants in Acapulco
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Open Air Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The food is very good but it's the setting that makes this restaurant a must for anyone visiting Acapulco. Photos can't convey the feeling of this elegant restaurant - it's like sitting on top of Acapulco looking back toward the magnificent view of the city. We had the appetizer of prociutto, tomatoes, mozzerela & figs that was perfect. The pasta, fish, desserts were all excellent as well. Yes, the food is a little more expensive but there are a number of Acapulco restaurants at this level - if you're watching the budget, cut back on the drinks which can double the bill. I've been here a number of times over the years but this year was one of the better experiences with the service. One note is that most locals dine very late (after 10) so, if you go earlier especially during the week, you will only find a few other tables filled but you'll need reservations on weekend nights for any time. It was definitely my favorite night out in Acapulco this year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    16
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food Awesome, Just one issue!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food & Service could not have been better. Just one issue.... our experience was dampened with a table of nine next to us with three smoker's. My wife and I had to forgo dessert which we found the smoke intolerable. We had not experienced this with the other fine dining restaurants we visited during our stay in Acapulco. I guess the wind was blowing in the wrong direction that evening.

Barry & Donna S
West Chester, PA

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

After having eaten in all of the top restaurants in Acapulco, this is still one of the best. Without giving every detail- it will be just what you expect- an incredible evening of food and service - at a high price ( appr. $250 US for 2 ppl- bottle of wine, before and after dinner drinks- appetizer, 2 dinners, and dessert) ,,,, TOP notch service- incredible view--everything you want in a memorable vacation dinner. Treat yourself to a night at Becco Al Mare.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Decor,Some Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The dining experience at Becco was up and down. The place is gorgeous, the design is beautiful and the view is awesome. The service was very spotty. My wife and I speak some Spanish but it seemed like none of the waiters could communicate with us. Unlike the other 99% of the restaurants we visited. It appeared that there were all of waiters that were just hanging out and not really doing anything. We had to ask for a menu and a few times we had to flag someone down to get service. The wine list was all Italian, very limited and really confusing. I will say that when we did receive our food it was well presented and delicious. The prices were also very steep for what we received. We liked it but we didn't love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best in Acapulco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

During our Christmas vacation, we visited multiple high-end restaurants in Acapulco and this was the best! The design was amazing and the food was perfect! Worth every penny.
Also, we liked it that the restaurant has more seasoned waiters that can recommend great dishes and not just young waiters.
Our waiter was Jose and he was very courteous and knowledgeable of the menu. We loved his recommendations.
We will return on our next trip to Acapulco.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becco Al Mare also viewed

Acapulco, Guerrero
Acapulco, Guerrero
 

Been to Becco Al Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becco Al Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.