We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Mexicano Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Catarina

La Catarina
Av. Morones Prieto 2525, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
83453340
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Catarina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 517 Restaurants in Monterrey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The cuisines of La Catarina can be described as 100% Mexican. It is a restaurant in which traditional recipes with strong Mexican roots are presented in a contemporary environment. The restaurant is an homage to Mexican cuisine. Los platillos de La Catarina se pueden describir como 100% mexicanos. Es un restaurante en el cual recetas tradicionales y totalmente arraigadas a sus origenes de Mexico central se presentan en un ambiente contemporaneo. Un homenaje a la cocina mexicana.
Monterrey, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexicano Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is the place if you want to try Mexican Cuisine at its best. Traditional Mexican dishes, fish, beef, pork, baby goat, etc. do not miss it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    50
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oradea, Romania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for a taste of Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This restaurant is perfect if you would like to get a taste of real traditional Mexican food (not the Tex-Mex kind of dishes). You can choose from traditional local dishes from various parts of Mexico (including baby goat which is very traditional to Monterrey). I tried a dish that had beef medallions placed on a thick tortilla, with grilled cactus, goat cheese, re fried paste beans, pico de gallo and avocado, all placed on tomatillo sauce. The tastes were truly amazing and the dish presented in an a la carte manner. We received fresh guacamole and totopos from the house and also tortillas with fresh salsa (prepared on the spot) as a starter. The staff is very friendly and also very professional and the restaurant is also very nice decorated with a modern yet characteristic design. I recommend this restaurant as I believe it is one of the best in Monterrey.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were taken to La Caterina for lunch after a business meeting. Our host rated it as one of the best places to eat in Monterrey, and we weren't disappointed. Good selection of largely Mexican food (even some pre-hispanic dishes - although I wasn't brave enough for the grasshoppers). Nicely done starters and a plentiful supply of tortillas. I had a steak done in the local style and it was beautiful. I also tried the very, very tiny chillies. Be warned don't mistake them for a sweet. Staff were helpful and attentive, without being 'in your face', good local beer and a very nice (if sweet) local coffee. Good place for a meal and a sociable chat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just another Mexican Restaurante ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were a group of people in the reserved room and except for the sangrias and tequilas nothing exceptional, simple menu and regular food. The service was ok, but again nothing exceptional .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Armed people in the bar will make your meal a bad time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Some people in Mexico use bodyguards. Most understand that bodyguards should be discreet and stay out of the way while doing their job. For those who don´t understand this, restaurants, clubs and other places where these guys may show up have policies to keep them OUT of the premises. Not in La Catarina.
Our Sunday (Feb 2) family lunch became a stressful time when 4 armed people dressed very informally (usually guards dress in suits and ties) and showing their weapons openly were seated right in the pathway between the restrooms, the entrance and the dining room for at least 90 minutes while we were there. Makes the good food and good service imposible to enjoy if you are in the vicinity of these private guards "protecting" who knows who from who knows what.
I find this extremely rude and totally unexpected since every decent place will have made these people stay outside or in a designated área away from the customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Catarina also viewed

Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
 
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey
 

Been to La Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Catarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.