We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colon 1768 Col. Centro, Monterrey 64000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 79 hotels in Monterrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Aweful Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

In general the hotel is not a good hotel amd the service is very unfriendly! Will never stay here again! Very unsafe part of Monterrey! Breakfast is just "fair" and room service is worthless! This is more a hotel for locals that use public transportation which has easy access to public transportation!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

I stay at the hotel for a month because of work. Since I arrived the staff was very friendly, they always try to make anything I ask for. When I arrived they don't have rooms for the price the company paid, so, they gave me a Junior Suite without any problem.
The food of the restaurant is above excellent, delicious!
The bathrooms are very clean and the rooms are very clean too.
The only things that I didn't like was that the pool was like a fountain and that the rooms in the first floor in one side have a wall view.
And that one side of the hotel is VERY noisy because of the street.
And the area of the hotel is not very safety, you can't wak around in the night there. lol.
But if you are inside in a good room it's EXCELLENT

  • Liked — Food at the restaurant
  • Disliked — Wall view in my window
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

I stayed on the priority clubs' frequent guest program. The place was a-ok, really, with computers and complimentary guest washer/dryer. Breakfast was nice. Pool was about the size of a large hot tub, so it was substandard, and this building is not heated in its' courtyard area, which leads to the rooms, so it may be cold in December and January. The location is great for those who don't want to be downtown or in San Pedro and prefer to be near the central bus station. Good parking, outdoors and free.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2006

My wife and I have never been to Monterrey. We have traveled to many different countries and cities though and stayed in many different hotels. The Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay. The rooms are nice and clean. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. We do not speak spanish and the hotel staff went out of there way to help us. We recommend this hotel to world travelers and first timers

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

Super hotel for a very reasonable price. Great chiliquiles and wonderful coffee for breakfast. They provided a car to take us to several locations. Very friendly folks. Now for the bad: the pool is small and the beds a bit hard. While in Monterrey we ate at Las Pampas(Argentinian steak house); El Gran Pastor for cabrito; and Anahua(Central location near the Micro Plaza - I think there are six of these in Monterrey) for fish. All were excellent. I've concluded there is no bad food in Monterrey. The city has several museums. We went to the glass museum at the glass factory, the Museo de Historia de Mexico, and the Fundidora. All worth a vist. I would love to spend at least another day at the Museum of the history of Mexico.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2005

This is a great, clean hotel with reasonable rates. Room service was fantastic and reasonably priced. Try the Mariposa de Aguacate. I ate one per day while I was there. If you don't speak at least some Spanish, you might have some problems. The look on the staff's faces when they realized that I spoke Spanish (and they would not have to struggle with English) was one pure relief! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon

Address: Colon 1768 Col. Centro, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterrey Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.