We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location,fare price,clean swiming pool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico

Save Saved
You added iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jose Maria Morelos 191, Monterrey 64000 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 hotels in Monterrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good location,fare price,clean swiming pool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very good choice for coupples and family.we stay at this hotel because its directly downtown in the area of Morelos'shopping street area...and you can reach ;barrio antiguo,macroplaza,la pulga,el obispado,morelos.

Room Tip: choose the ones with the view to the swiming pool its more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
10
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jundiai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

THe most important of this hotel is the location. Very good location. You can walk around if you want shopping (popular stores) and tipical restaurants,
THe breakfast is very good, the rooms are clean and it has a good wifi conection.
It is not a luxuary hotel but has good service, good location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

As always, here you can find it:
25°40'4.53"N
100°19'1.87"O

This is a very well located Hotel. Its near everything downtown Monterrey. It is 3 blocks away from the "Macro Plaza", it has 2 or 3 oxxos (7eleven) near by, the subway its one block away, lots of restaurants and stores to see and visit at Morelos Street. This street is a pedestrian only street, so is really pleasent to go out the hotel and have a nice walk.

The GOOD:

- Really near of everything
- Clean (not excellent) decent.
- Not so cheap not so expensive, about 500 pesos the night (USD$ 33.33) for 2 adults and one child.
- Not smelly
- This is a hotel of maybe 7 to 15 years old, it shows but not that much.
- Hot water and good preasure always
- Never got disturbed by neighbors
- Internet reservations respected
- Staff always kind
- Nice details in amenities

The BAD:
- It begins to look kind of old, needs some updates

The UGLY
- Not the best view of the city (room I got)

END comentaries; I used this hotel just to pass by. The next day took of to the US. This is a family hotel but, as from my point of view, not for long stays. I stayed 2 days at Monterrey and never had any Cartel, drug lords or crime problem.

If you go to Monterrey, make a visit to this Hotel, its simple, cheap and conmfy.

https://www.facebook.com/istayhotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Friend of mine from Austria stayed one week in I Stay Hotel, unfortunately his earrings disappeared from the room and they don’t offer a security box. Nobody took responsibility about that and just after several and strong discussions the manager promised to us refund the cost of just one night but at this moment they don’t do anything and we don’t receive any refund yet. The communication also was a big problem due to nobody wants speak English.

I really don't recommend I Stay Hotel

Ramón Mujica

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I used this hotel in May 2012. I loved it! The staff is excellent. The rooms were very comfortable. I had a spectacular view of the city. I loved the upbeat vibe with the multiple sitting areas around the hotel that had flat panel tvs and music. There were friendly people at the pool; I traveled alone; but, met really nice people who invited me to hang out with them. Also, the restaurant had an awesome buffet with a chef preparing omlettes, pancakes, etc. To top it all off there is a very cool bar in the hotel. The bartender is friendly and can recommend good places to hang out. I will definitely stay in this hotel on my next visit. Oh, I should add that it's on Morelos which means you walk out and there are stores and restaurants and it is one of the safest areas in the city.

Room Tip: The hotel has two buildings, the pool is in between the two buildings. I was in the tall tower on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Good place! Nice swimming pool and gym room! The room is not like the pictures, more old fashion.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico

Address: Jose Maria Morelos 191, Monterrey 64000 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iStay Hotel Monterrey Historico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.