We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly strip mall location, unfriendly staff... Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Gonzalitos, 415 Sur | Colonia Obispado, Monterrey 64060, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 78 hotels in Monterrey
miami
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Ugly strip mall location, unfriendly staff... Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed only 2 nights in Jan 2013... Moved to nearby Marriott Courtyard. Stayed here on a coworkers recommendation. Awful stay.
As a Gold Hhonors member, I was given the last room overlooking a parking tower instead of Monterrey's beautiful mountains. Staff was unresponsive to my request for a better room. Very robot-like.
Location was the ugliest parking lot in all of Monterrey, right next to the biggest highway in town.
How can a hotel in Mexico not have a in-room safe is way beyond me.
Breakfast was mediocre and crowded.
Thankfully, there is a nice Courtyard on San Jeronimo and I moved there after 2 nights... This place was bad and I will not return.

Room Tip: If you must stay here...try to get a room with a view of the parking lot... and the mountains in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliRmz, Gerente at Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good Afternoon!

My name is Elizabeth Ramírez, I am the General Manager of the Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and help us to grow.

We work really hard to exceed your expectations, and I apologize If we didn´t reach our goal during your last stay.

We would like to offer you our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, If you are not satisfied we don´t expect you to pay!! Please contact me and I´ll be happy of refund you your payment as part of our commitment with your satisfaction.

Once againg thank you for staying with us and for give us your feedback, we really appreciate your comments.

Elizabeth Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    45
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
13
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Was in town one night for business. Property was in a good area of town, many eating choices nearby. Room was clean, quiet, only dissatisfaction was the AC, the fan would cut on and off with the AC compressor. I prefer units that you can run the fan continiously. Good hot Mexican breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton over Christmas weekend 2011. The room is typical of the Hampton brand which i love. Always a great rest- Their beds are very comfy. Christmas Day breakfast was delicious, children were opening presents under the reception's Christmas trees where Santa dropped them off, which I thought was ingenious and very customer service oriented of the staff. When in the area I always choose this hotel. They don't offer room service but the apple bees nearby will bring the food to your room and within 20 mins, much faster than other hotels with in-house restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed for four days. The rooms are pleasant. My coffee pot didn't work and it took them two days to replace it, then they didn't leave bottled water in the room. What is pleasant about this hotel is the breakfast area. Breakfasts are rather ample, and during the weekday evenings they offer snacks for guests as well as soft drinks and beer (unless it runs out). I found the neighborhood rather pleasant, although the casino that gangsters firebombed killing 52 people is only three blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGalerias, Gerente at Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us, my sincere apologies for the coffe pot that didnt work and the bottle of water, we will make sure this doesnt happen again.

I´m glad that you enjoyed the hsopitality of our staff ,our evening snacks and beer this has become very popular with our guests, again, thanks for your time and feedback, we look forward to serve you again soon

with kind regards
Jorge Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is a satisfactory place if you have business along the Av. Gonzalitos corridor or in the Colonia Obispado, but be careful otherwise, as the traffic along Gonzalitos can be really tough for much of the day. If you like hotels close to lots of amenities such as restaurants, cinemas, pharmacies, supermarkets, department stores....this is the place. Plaza Real Monterrey (with an HEB supermarket and several restaurants and a multiplex cinema) is right next door to the north (the hotel has a corridor connecting the the center). Nearby, essentially across Gonzalitos, is Galerias Monterrey, an indoor regional fashion mall with Liverpool and Sears department stores and more cinemas and restaurants. There is a McDonalds essentially at the entrance to the hotel. The hotel does a good busy, so check in and check out sometimes can be somewhat on the slow side if you do not do the express check out. The rooms are basic but clean, this is an effective and efficient place to stay but not especially memorable. But if you forgot to pack anything, it can easily be replaced, given all the surrounding stores.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGalerias, Gerente at Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
thanks a lot for your time and comments, we appreciatte your feedback and look forward to see you again in our hotel

sincelery

J aQuino

general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

The quality of Rooms is not as Good as USA.Food is an Issue particularly for Vegetarians

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

hi we have been there for a business Visit for around 10N11D.
we were new to Mexico and coming first time from INDIA. we were there for a business tour with one of our client.


stay was nice and staff was very cooperative. however we faced a little difficulty due to language barriar as we did not knew their local language and only English where as most of the people in Monterrey knew only Spanish.

however most of hotel staff knew English so it's a good help by them.
moreover , I specially like the Free Morning Breakfast they served. it's really good and really make your trip value for money.

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado

Address: Avenida Gonzalitos, 415 Sur | Colonia Obispado, Monterrey 64060, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn is a leading brand of quality, value-priced hotels. Here you'll find clean, fresh, comfortable rooms standard with a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and complimentary in-room movie channel. Enjoy complimentary local calls and no surcharge for using a calling card. Guests also enjoy the following complimentary items: On the HouseTM hot breakfast, Hampton's On the RunTM breakfast bags (Monday-Friday), high speed internet access in every room, wireless internet access in the lobby and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado Hotel Monterrey
Hampton Inn Monterrey
Monterrey Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn by Hilton Monterrey/Galerias-Obispado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.