We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial de Monterrey

Hotel Colonial de Monterrey
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Colonial de Monterrey to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial de Monterrey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hidalgo 475 Oriente, Monterrey 64000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 90 Hotels in Monterrey
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed here several times and I have to say that it is one of the best option in this city. Excellent location, rooms clean, friendly staff and not expensive at all.

It has parking lot in the top of the building, it is in the heart of the city center and well...I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I traveled here in Oct 09. We took a bus from Matamoras to Monterrey and then taxi to the Main Plaza area to look for a hotel. There are plenty of hotels so you do not need a reservation but don't let any taxi drivers take you to a hotel of their choice. I think they make a commission on bringing travelers in. Hotel Colonial we found while trolling the area. We paid 585 pesos each night=$44. usd. We had a wonderful room overlooking a cute park. This is right across a narrow street from Hotel Arnica, which cost twice as much. The bell hop was very friendly and spoke some english. We are working on improving our spanish. There is a computer in the lobby that you can use for free. I liked being able to check my email. The room had a king sized bed, 2 lovely windows and a adequate batrhoom. The entire hotel is a colonial style and very nice. Clean. The lobby was gorgeous and there was an area outside our room with a set of chairs with real leather seats. Looked all hand made. Really nice. When we left, the bell hop arranged for a taxi back to the bus station and he told us that Hotel Colonial is our home in Monterrey. Delightful. You will be pleased. It was easy to walk the plaza and see the monuments and museum. The Barrio Antigua is lovely with old building, lots of clubs and excellent dining. No swimming pool at Hotel Colonial but not many in any hotel in Monterrey. A visit to Monterrey is a visit to a city for sights not sitting around a pool.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

If you can't afford a fancy hotel but are too old for the hostel scene, Hotel Colonial is a good choice. The rooms aren't the most up to date, but that's more than made up for by the helpful staff and amazing location, right in la Zona Rosa, close to the plaza, and within a stone's throw from Barrio Antiguo.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Before I get into the review let me make one thing clear: Hotel Colonial is not going to suit either high-end travelers (the Ancira is across the street) or backpackers.

For around $55 per night you will get a small room right in the heart of Monterrey's Zona Rosa. Nearby you will find shopping, restaurants, museums, and the Barrio Antigua. It is also just a block away from the subway. While the room had seen better days--with aging, industrial carpeting and a temperamental shower head--it was comfortable and clean enough.

The hotel staff was very helpful. Housekeeping was friendly and responsive to a burned out bulb. The front desk staff snickered a bit at my attempts at Spanish, but one bellman spoke excellent English and helped me well beyond the call of duty a couple of times. I had to make a purchase in what was a very bad part of town, and he not only found me a taxi but got someone who was willing to look out for me.

If you expect reasonable accommodations you won't be disappointed. This hotel seems aimed at middle-class Mexicans and prices and value reflect that.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Room a bit worn
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I went here with my husband after reading the last review. BIG MISTAKE. The hotel was centrally located, yes, but everything else made this hotel fall way short. One person on staff speaks English, room was TINY, we could bearly fit our luggage in it, nowhere near the promised price of US $33 (was $65). Dirty office style rug in room, no hot water in shower. There are so many other hotels within close walking distance, don't make the same mistatke we did.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Tiny dirty room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2003

I make a web search while I was planning my trip to Monterrey, but I don't find anything that I like, so we arrive and take a taxi and the Driver was really nice and very helpfull, He show us 2 or 3 differents Hotels but they where really close from the Bus station and is a ugly area and 15 minutes away from the "Macro Plaza" so we show us Hotel Colonial and from the very beginning all the staff was very nice and they make us feel special, the room was clean and quiet, they include a Continental Breakfast but in their restaurant you can also order a Buffet for only $3usd. Everything was near from there, all the Museams, the Macro Plaza, many boutiques and restaurants and I feel very safe at night. The people from Monterrey are the best, they are very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonial de Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial de Monterrey

Address: Hidalgo 475 Oriente, Monterrey 64000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 90 Hotels in Monterrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonial de Monterrey 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Colonial de Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial de Monterrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.